We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardgartan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
US$78
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
474
59
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
474
59
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslochs glensbeautiful hotelrelief drivercoach holidaycoach driveramazing holidaymeal timeslong journeybar pricesfull marksself driveevening entertainmentsingle bedroom overlooked the lochreception areawalk in showerhour journey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I returned home last night having enjoyed a very pleasing four night stay at what we believe is the newest of the several hotels in the Lochs and Glens portfolio.

We enjoyed a spacious and well maintained room, number 403,which is furnished with very comfortable beds and affords splendid views.

The staff,and in particular Ian, the hotel's manager, were both friendly and helpful.

The immediate location is wonderful, as are the nearby Loch Lomond and the Trossachs Forest areas in general.

The food was both tasty and plentiful while alcohol was reasonably priced.

Varied entertainment was available each evening.

My only negative remarks are:

1/ The coffee which is served at breakfast and then in the lounge after Dinner was always STEWED.

A small additional charge, if levied, would surely enable the hotel to serve good quality coffee on a routine basis.

For a modest cost individually made coffees like Cuppochino were always available.

2/ Most of the charming staff appear to be of East European origin.

I understand that youth unemployment is even higher in Scotland than it is in England.

Come on IDS, please try even harder to get our youth off of benefits and into work.

This observation is not intended as a negative reflection on the hotel but rather on UK society.

======================================================================

Health permitting we will certainly visit again.

Gerry and Irene Fraser

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor facing the Loch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryfra43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having thought about going to Scotland for a long time we took the plunge and booked a last minute break returning on Saturday. It was a very long journey from Wiltshire but we had plenty of stops and the Coliseum coach was very comfortable. Our driver Nigel was very informative both on the journey and excursions without being too "in your face". As the other reviews have said, the hotel, food, service and value for money cannot be beaten. The lovely weather was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lochs & Glens 5 day break. Excellent weather which in my opinion does make a difference to any review.
Journey there and back very good in comfortable coach. Excursions top class with some impressive driving on narrow roads by John the driver who was very informative and had a store of good old jokes.
Location of hotel - absolutely superb, no traffic noise, no light pollution at night, I don't think it could be bettered.
Public rooms very impressive, spacious and comfortable. We had a first floor loch view bedroom which was simply the best hotel bedroom I have been in (and that includes 4/5 star hotels throughout the world) with the most astounding view down Loch Long. Bathroom very good, but remember it is one in a tourist hotel so do not expect luxuries such as premium toiletries and towels, but it was very clean and spacious.
Food and Service excellent, varied choice of meals, well presented and tasty. Bar prices reasonable by hotel standards. The Service overall was without fault and always with a smile.
The age group using hotel is of the mature variety, so do not expect late night discos.
If there was a fault, I did not think much of the entertainment on first two nights, but the entertainment manager was very, very good and nothing was too much trouble for him, a real ball of energy.
Overall, highly recommended for the right age group but always remember the vagaries of the Scottish weather.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms have superb view down Loch Long, Mountain view rooms have impressive views of the Arrochar Alps.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Last year i visted the hotel and loved it this march went with a close friend we decided to miss one of the trips out and stayed behind to do some walking the reception lady offered us sandwihes for lunch as soon as we told her we were staying in. the walks were well marked the views and nature at this time of year were lovely and you can do lots of short stedy walks and more lenghthy and strenuous. we had sandwiches and fee tea and coffee as much as we could drink. we rested and just took in the view and before evening meal we had another stroll. that was just our first day , the staff , food and entertainment were excellent and the cleaning staff thankyou our rooms were spotless we hope to go back again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the six day holiday we spent here with lochs and glens. Our room was very spacious with fabulous views down Loch Long. All the meals were excellent and the restaurant a lovely room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was good and there is plenty of room to sit in very comfy sofas overlooking the loch if you just want to relax or chat. We used a wheelchair during our stay and found no difficulties with this. You really can't fault this hotel. Outside there are even pathways to enjoy and the edge of the loch is just metres from the hotel.

Room Tip: All appeared excellent. One side overlooks the loch the other the mountains and countryside. Lifts service each floor and all bedrooms are on the first floor or above.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews