We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a first class holiday with loch and glens”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just come back from a wonderful 5 day holiday at the Ardgartan hotel, we were made to feel like royalty from the start, the staff were so helpful, the day trips were great,our coach driver Francis war a mind of knowledge and jokes,we had a room at the rear on the second floor,the best views are from the front looking down the loch,(all so the midges are in attendance at this time of year,) this hotel is a three star hotel but it fells more like five star one,well done loch and glens and staff.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, but rooms at the front have the view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blackie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just got home from Ardgarten Hotel with Lochs and Glens . Fantastic hotel , huge rooms , very clean , good food . Only downside at this time of year are the midge flies , they were really bad , it seems they arrived early this year due to the mild winter . When you walk into the hotel you are met with a fantastic view of the loch , plenty of seating areas looking out through the very large glass wall . Staff are very nice and nothing too much trouble . Would definitely go again when there are no midges .

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twosomeLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our third Lochs and Glens Holiday. This Hotel is by far the best yet. The Hotel was amazing, the views outstanding, we were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the loch.The Staff were so helpful, although it was so well organised we did not need much help.
The trips were superb, our driver Michael F was so considerate, and explained so much about the history of the places we visited. The food was first class, did not try the haggis!
If you do not mind a coach trip would suggest you go to one of the Lochs and Glens Hotels.
The young staff in the dining room were delightful.
Not much more to say except thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

thank you lochs&glens good food good service brilliant hotel,but our room was so hot i asked for a fan but was told they didn't have one.i had to put poor to sleep quality purely because of the heat the bed was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Scenic Scotland tour staying at this truly wonderful hotel.
It really does have the WOW factor, the reception with the large windows looking out onto the Loch is stunning. Our room was perfect, comfy bed and a wonderful loch view.
The meals, well, what can I say, just perfect, hot and tasty, served by the fantastic staff, friendly, kind and helpful. Everyone made you feel so welcome. Just loved it, looking forward to our next visit.
Our coach was great too, a super driver, Colin, he too made you feel welcome and was kind and helpful. A big Thank You to all at Ardgartan Hotel and to Colin for a safe and pleasant journey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank yorkshirerose1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The setting for the Ardgarten Hotel is just beautiful - you walk into the reception area and the huge windows just open up to the view of the loch. There are leather sofas and chairs - plenty for most to sit and look at the view - after dinner we would sit and have a drink just looking out across the loch from the comfort of the hotel. And that ws the view that I had from my bedroom too (though the windows were somewhat smaller). The room was spotless and very well appointed - to quote one of my party "5 star quality for 2 star prices". The staff at the hotel are fantastic - I have a dietary need and once that was mentioned I was very well catered for. The food was delicious and the staff couldn't do enough to help. One evening I lost an earring (though didn't realise it) and the next morning it was on our table! This holiday of course is part of a package with the coaches picking us up and taking us to the hotel all in one day. The feeder driver who picked us up was quite new and seemed a little nervous but very friendly just the same. Our main driver for the week was one we knew from previous holidays and he was informative and friendly to everyone - we had a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view - it is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FSCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having just returned from our 7 night break here, all I can say was everything was fantastic, the hotel stunning, the staff excellent, the food good ( albeit the portion control was not consistent especially the starters) and the rooms spotlessly clean and roomy. Excellent coach touring entertainment and wonderful settings. However the coach travel too and from was unreal as were most of the excursions. We arrived at our pick up point 20 mins prior to our departure time to find our coach waiting.Our taxi driver attempted to put our cases in the boot but was sharply told to leave them as they had to be marked...no Good Morning or Welcome aboard!, Picking up other passengers our feeder driver moaned about people arriving literally a few minutes late..not really the best start to a holiday.Unfortunately this pattern of " un socialable drivers continued throughout our holiday, Our main driver as a result of road closures got lost which added approx 1 hour and 30 mins on our outward journey, resulting in some passengers spending in excess of 14hours on the coach before getting to the hotel. Throughout the week we seemed to spend more time having coffee and "fag" breaks than actual time visiting places,and to really put "icing on the cake" on our homeward journey, we left the fabulous Ardgarten at 7.50am..only to stop 55mins later, for 1 hour, at a retail outlet for coffee and shopping where the coach drivers received commission on the passengers purchases! This seemed to have been the theme all week! Only on our trip to the Isle of Aran was our relief driver Bobby, a true credit to Lochs and Glens Holidays. I understand that the coach and drivers we had on our tour were contracted from another company but even so what was an excellent holiday was spoilt by the coach company that took us.I have send a letter to Lochs and Glens and am eagerly awaiting a reply!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a very LONG journey, but you will NOT be disappointed with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lennie2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
549 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,234 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing