We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW.....”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

MY wife and I have just returned from 8 day days of steam tour at this hotel. It was our first time with Lochs and Glens and our 1st visit to scotland. We were completly stunned at the beautiful surroundings of the hotel with stunning views all around. You can see the stunning view of the loch as soon as you reach the entrance and the welcome you receive is fantastic. All the staff are happy to help with anything nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent and plentiful and dining staff are friendly and efficient.
We had some fantastic days out with Don being our relief driver for 1st 2days. He was funny and entertaining but so knowledgeable of the area. We then had our main driver Charlie for rest of the tour who was also entertaining and knowledgeable about the areas we visited with him. Both made the days out as enjoyable as possible . The nightly entertainment was good but Andy the entertainments manager was very funny and entertaining and very good at his job. We cant recommend Lochs and Glens enough and look forward to another holiday with them next year. Would highly recommend The Ardgartan Hotel. Thank you everyone for our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: If u need walk in shower ask at time of booking as showers over a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our third holiday with Lochs & Glens over a 5 year period. Previously we were at Inversnaid and then Loch Tummel. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent location with a few walks around the grounds. We had a Loch view double room ( I think rooms with even numbers were loch view rooms). The room was comfortable and well maintained by the chambermaid Ros. Having been to other hotels in the chain we knew what to expect with the meal arrangements. We were one of four groups and we were first to arrive and were shown to a lovely bay window table for two over looking the loch. The water/waitress service was excellent with very few delays. The wine water was a lovely chap with a beard (wish I could remember his name). The food was of good quality and if you felt extra hungry you could always ask for more. There were times when some mustard or sauces would have been nice. They were not offered but we didn't ask. The holiday comes with excursions and our holiday was Steam based as we went on the Waverley steamer, the Sir Walter Scott steamship and the Jacobite steam train from For William to Mallaig. Lots of my fellow passengers had difficulty in understanding our driver which was a shame. I know we were in Scotland but I this spoilt it a little for us. His favourite comment would be "on the left right side....." so by the time we had worked out which side he was referring to, whatever he was talking about after trying to understand what he was saying, it had gone past. I thought that the itinerary could have been more explicit, especially advance knowledge of how long we would be in places. The trip to Edinburgh was disappointing in that our group didn't have the option of a guided tour and a chance to see the Royal Yacht at Leith as another group had. We were driven to Waterloo Place and expected to find our own way around the city - a map would have been very useful. My final remark is that something is lacking in the reception area - lovely views of the Loch of course but the odd layout of the sofas at two ends doesn't allow for a more sociable environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View away from the entertainment side (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertKent73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were at the Ardgartan Hotel last week July 2014 on a coach trip. This was a fantastic hotel with amazing views. The staff could not do enough for us and were always friendly. The coach drivers Lizzy and Dougie were exceptional and extremely funny with all their jokes they were also very knowledgeable about the areas. The food was good and plentiful. The wine prices were affordable and not outrageous. The thing we enjoyed the most was the entertainment on offer looked after by Andy he had a wonderful personality and got everyone involved as well as quizzes and bingo every night there was a different performer supplying lovely music to listen to or dance to whatever your mood. We were recommended Lochs and Glens and am glad we were, such a beautiful hotel. We wish they did more holidays in other parts of the country as they were outstanding. We have used Epsom coaches in the past and although good not a patch on Lochs and Glens. Lochs and Glens are much cheaper 5* at 3* prices. We had room 410 on the 4th floor twin room with walk in shower and amazing views over the loch. There were 2 lifts and we never had to wait long for them

Room Tip: We had a twin room overlooking the loch wonderful view on the top floor (lift to all floors) Room No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ray1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A lovely hotel on the loch shore. Comfortable room with land views. Good food with friendly staff. Especially liked the breakfast special! Nice walks in the grounds. The two drivers were excellent. Lizzy main driver and dougie relief the coach was a happy one with either one in charge. The best hotel I have stayed at! Which one shall I visit next! Wish there was more holidays from my pick up route.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Ardgartan Hotel last week. The occasion was my wife’s birthday and the group consisted of 6 people. The hotel built in 2012 has been designed to meet the needs of guests. The staff were great, organised, and clearly enjoying their work. The Hotel is owned by Lochs & Glens holidays. During our four day stay, 4 other holiday coach were there, the amazing feature is that each group had their own meal times, and was never a clash within the dining room. The evening entertainment was good. The hotel is situated off the main road, and you would not normally be able to see it. The surroundings of the Argyll Forest Park are to be seen to be believed and Loch Long and the surroundings makes a great retreat for any guest. The rooms are very clean, excellent in design and have magnificent views. The food was first rate and the waiter/waitress service excellent.
The only drawback are the midges, however going prepared will reduce the effect!
Overall, an excellent hotel & a recommended holiday.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms have views across the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ardgartan Hotel is beautifully situated on the shores of Loch Long, the water lapping peacefully outside the windows of the main lobby and the breakfast room. With the imposing Ben Lomond behind the loch, this makes for stunning views from the glass fronted lobby. The Cobbler and Argyll Forest surround the opposite facade, hence views from opposing rooms are both good, though the ones facing the loch are probably better. It is spotlessly clean and new, and staff are friendly. However, it seems to be almost exclusively used by Lochs and Glens holidays; hence there are often buses of tourists - this by itself is not disturbing, but means that you are given precise times, rather like train timetables, for breakfast, and are served breakfast at the table rather than a buffet. These are small annoyances; overall, the hotel is excellent value for money ( though, please note, charges are per room, with no reduction for single travellers) and the location is unparalleled. Streams babble in the glen adjacent, and walks are at hand - small walks for the non adventurous, and challenging walks like the Cobbler for the more adventurous. I would not hesitate to go here again, and would definitely recommend to a friend!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ashwini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel does not need any further excellent reviews from me, other than to say , if there is a better overall hotel in Scotland, I would be amazed. ....Ask for a loch view and you will see all manner of sea birds and if lucky, as we were, even an otter......superb!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing