We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful first night in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldberry Cottage B&B
Ranked #7 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful first night in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

After a long journey and being awake for over 36 hours, being welcomed at this b&b was like arriving in heaven.

Mandy was so helpful too. We were half-dead on our feet when we arrived and she quickly offered to make a reservation for us at a very tasty local restaurant.

The rooms were on the small side but cozy and spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfy I could have slept for days, and the breakfast was delicious and had an amazing view.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merkathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night in the superior room, and it was perfect. Goldberry is immaculately clean, well equipped, excellent catering, and in an incredible location. Would recommend a stroll down at Ardgartan bay along Loch Long, and of course, a drive across the nearby Rest and Be Thankful. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka22a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October as part of a Scottish road-trip. The bed and breakfast is perched on the side of loch long, with only the road running between it and the loch. The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly. Room was very well presented, bed very comfortable, lovely homely touches and attention to detail. Bathroom very clean, could have maybe done with a bit of shelving or similar to allow guests to store their toiletries. Breakfast was spot-on. Great value for money - we felt it was worth more than we paid. We are at the Village Inn, just across the loch in the evening where the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Really fabulous location for touring, only 30 mins from Inveraray and just past Loch Lomond. The owners are lovely and are so helpful. Very very welcoming. Great hospitality!!! Their house is stunning and the bedrooms are lovely. Private parking and your own doorway to the bedrooms is an advantage. The scotch pancakes in the morning with smoked bacon and caramelised cinnamon apple are awesome and are nice breakfast alternative. Cannot wait to go back in October. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is an excellent B&B in an amazing location. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are clean and finished to a high standard, the view from the breakfast room and our bedroom was superb and the food was exceptional. This is well worth the money to stay here and probably one of the best B&B's I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippydodaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We drove up from Portpatrick and stayed 1 night at The Goldberry and what a great night it was. The hosts, Mandy and James, were very welcoming and the room we stayed in was lovely and clean.. in fact the whole place was spotless. They gave us some advice on where to eat ( The Village Inn, and it was great ) and on places to see in the local area and beyond ( we didn't go to The Mull of Kintyre in the end! ). The breakfast was lovely and the views over the Loch were just amazing as you ate your breakfast in the conservatory at the front. There was a bottle of spakling wine in our bedroom upon arrival so Thank you very much for that lovely gesture.. much appreciated. We would definitely recommend the Goldberry to anyone looking for a place to stay in that lovely part of Scotland.. the only thing i would say is... wish we could have stayed longer..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Upon approaching the cottage, we were wowed by the surrounding view of loch long and the mountains around. When we booked in and met the owners Mandy and James, the friendliness and helpfulness shone through. We were shown to our room and and the first thing that hit me was how fresh looking and smelling it was, very inviting. The cleanliness of the room, en suite and surrounding areas was first class, there was a complimentary tray of tea sugar milk water biscuits and hot chocolate! Which was replenished daily. They really have thought of everything. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast...well what can we say about that...you are spoilt for choice, we had the full Scottish breakfast on day 1 which was delicious and day 2 we tried the scotch pancakes with smoked bacon and caramelised cinnamon apple...mmmm mmmm mmmmmm never tasted anything like it, absolutely fantastic. Overall Mandy and James were the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, make you feel so welcome and part of their home. We celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary whilst their and we had a card n box of chocolates off them to help us celebrate it...very thoughtful. We will be returning and recommending this quaint little b&b.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrochar hotels
1.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 17 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fascadail Country Guest House
1.5 mi away
Ben Bheula B&B
Ben Bheula B&B
#8 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldberry Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Cottage B&B

Property: Goldberry Cottage B&B
Address: Ardgartan | Arrochar, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldberry Cottage Bed & Breakfast is dramatically situated at the foot of the world famous Ben Arthur, better known as "The Cobbler", and we have stunning uninterrupted views over Loch Long and out towards the Ardgartan peninsula.We are located in Ardgartan, Arrochar, Argyll & Bute, Scotland, which is at the heart of The Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, Scotland's First National Park. The area is renowned for its dramatic natural scenic beauty, and yet we are only one hour's drive from Glasgow and 45 minutes drive from Glasgow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Goldberry Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Cottage B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing