We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like going back in time....”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“like going back in time....”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Yes it was really like going back in time a true late 70s early 80s watering hole in need of so much updating it isnt true .
I thought the staff where really faultless really friendly.
Had dinner first night , i must admit i think school dinners where like michelin star compared to these,say no more.
The room we stayed in had a great view , also sheets towels etc where very clean ,but afraid decor again much to be desired .
Will think hard about going again,i don`t think so.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roarychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    408
    259
    150
    112
See reviews for
118
677
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Just back again from the arrochar, £58 per person, 2 nights, DBB, good food, clean room, loch view, pleasant staff, drink reasonably priced. Honestly do not know what some people are complaining about. Ok it might not be the Ritz, but for the price outstanding value, will be back asap.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geordie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We booked this hotel for three of us, a double and a single room at the last minute for a very good price. Our experience overall was a good one. The location on the waterfront in Arrochar, although familiar, couldn't be better. The beds were a bit creaky, but the room and bathroom were tastfully decorated and clean.

We had been told by Oxford Hotels that the breakfast was at 7:30am, so we had planned to be on the road by 8am. This wasn't true however, and since the breakfast was itself a bit slow, we weren't on the road until 9am. Still, this aside, we'd come back...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tluamiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The setting of this hotel is amazing and it has so much potential. The staff are friendly and accomodating and the food is good although spoilt by the limited choice on a set menu. We really can't complain as we had two nights BB&D for £58 through East Breaks.Drinks are reasonably priced and are no more expensive than the local pubs.
Its downside is the tired and worn out appearance. Unfortunately the housekeepoing standards are extremely poor. A good cleaning could go a long way in helping this ageing establishment but it really needs a major overhaul to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Shocking!room poor ,food is a disgrace,currently stranded at this so called hotel oxford hotels should be ashamed

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked a late break with Justgo holidays and paid £114 for a 4 day holiday along with 2 excursions an absolute bargain when you bear in mind we travelled al the way from west yorkshire. my partner and I had checked the reviews before leaving and was a bit apprehensive with some of the negative reviews but thought what the hell we were only going to use it as a base. But when we arrived at the hotel and took in the most awsome views of loch long on the doorstep I knew our money had been well spent on the view alone and on one night while sat outside we were sereanded by a nightingale. I was astonished to read a review from a lady who was obviously in our party who slated the food which we ate and found it very enjoyable with the exception of the roast beef which I have to admit was over cooked and rather tough but hey !! havent we all had the odd disaster. The chef was extremly apologetic and we were offered an alternative in fact we requested chips with one of the dishes as an alternative to mash and was immediately supplied them at no extra cost. Our room was immaculate, comfortable beds and all tea,coffee,milk and biscuits were topped up each and every morning. Beds were changed daily along with towels and toiletries, The staff were not just cheerful and friendly they were a credit to the hotel very hardworking and professional. My partner and I had stayed only a few weeks earlier at the 4 star Royal Hotel in Scarborough, paid treble the price for a two night stay with no transport and recieved inferior service and food to the Arrocar. All I can say to the moaners if you want delux wallpaper and cut glass go else where and be prepared to pay for it. Our experience of Arrocar Hotel and all it had to offer was very enjoyable. The view outside and the nightingale will live in my memory forever, Hats off to Justgo holidays and to Alan our driver well done !! cant wait to book with you again

Room Tip: Just ask the staff will bend over backwards to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed at hotel 14th an15th JULY .We had three rooms all with fantastic views.Staff were very helpful .Food and sevrice great we all would definetley return .Very good value for a two star hotel in need of a little modernisation but rooms very clean and great for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles58025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing