We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Live singer”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Live singer”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Thanks for a wonderful saturday nights entertainment.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    413
    267
    154
    117
See reviews for
123
692
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just got back from a tour round Loch Lomand area.Must say the hotel was realy good.It over looks Loch Long which is tidel not a land locked loch.The restaurant was clean and comfy the staff a credit and realy helpful.Food was good and pleanty of it.
The hotel rooms as long as you get a frontage one are good unfortunately i had one next to the main road which was noisey as i also overlooked the service area for the kitchens.
As I said though the rest of the hotel was good with friendly heloful staff

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevethecoachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed there during national holiday trip.
The hotel is poor but the staff is great. The entertainment is not my style but we stayed in the bar with some others so it was a good nite.
The food was not the best, all pre cooked but the portions are oke breakfast is better than diner to be honest.
Than one missing item in the bathroom .... a shower head (you can ask for it at the reception). So get the hotel painted and decorated again keep the staf (they are great) and get some good receipes for the diners (or a new chef) !!

Room Tip: Room 416 is oke if you ask for showerhead at reception and it is a quiet room. View is backside hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a largely negative review and so that people don't think I am the kind who cannot be pleased and always moan , I suggest you read other reviews I have posted and you will see that in the main I am usually positive and fair and I have travelled to many countries.
My husband and myself stayed 2 nights on bed and breakfast with first night dinner. We didn't expect luxury at the prices charged but this hotel falls short of adequate and needs to do more to train its staff on good basic customer service and care. Staff are not particularly friendly or helpful (except Martin the barman who was new but quickly got the hang of things despite the language barrier-he's from Hungary.) An example of this occurred at dinner the first night. When the waitress came to take our order, we requested a bottle of wine. Quite sternly she refused to take the wine order prior to the food order. Why? Then a solo female traveller came into dine. She requested if she could have a different table to the one she was offered, further away and near the window that looked over the loch. She was told that she could not, again quite sternly by the waitress and no explanation as to why was given. The table she had requested was not set with cutlery for dinner, nor was it reserved and no one sat at it during the whole meal and we ate at the last sitting. Again, this seems senseless and unecessarily poor customer service. Perhaps the waitress just could not be bothered to set the table with cutlery!
Check-in was quick and efficient. The double room was small by any standards. There was mould on the wall around the extractor fan in the bathroom and the shower itself was very small. The toilet bowl was also stained with limescale (well I hope that's what it was). The tiny (14") .TV in the room was unwatchable because it buzzed intermittently. The bed linen and towels were clean. There was some traffic noise from the road but unavoidable if you want a loch view. The room was stifingly hot even without the heating on so sleep quality was poor and the bed not terribly comfortable. The main door out of the lounge banged several times as it closed (if both doors were pushed open instead of just the left hand one) and was easily heard from our room as people went to their rooms which also hampered sleep.
On arrival at tea-time we asked if food was available and were told there was only crisps or nuts at the bar so we went out to a local pub and got a meal. However, whilst sat in the lounge the next day, two women asked the same question and were told that sandwiches and soup were available which were then provided. My husband questioned if this was a new service that day, explaining what we had been told on our arrival. The member of staff said she could not explain why we were not served food the day before except to say it was probably because the staff knew she had not been on duty then! Does this mean other members of staff are incapable of preparing soup and sandwiches?
The evening meal was a disappointment. My husband's meal was cold and had to be sent back to be heated and my salad had cheap pressed chicken and beef (like the value ranges in supermarkets) rather than fresh carved meat. The soup tasted like it came straight out of a tin. Needless to say we did not eat there on the second night. Instead we ate at the Loch Long Hotel down the road. This also seemed to cater for coach parties and the older generation but the meal was very nice and only cost £10 for 3 courses which I found unbelievable value. I thought, until we got the bill, that the receptionist had got it wrong when I had gone in to ask about eating there earlier in the daya as she was a foreigner whose english was not too good.
We settled our bill the evening before departure, explaining to the staff this was because we would be leaving early at about 07.45 before breakfast (which was 08.00-10.00) as we had a trip arranged. There were no thanks from the staff for choosing to stay at their establishment or any questions as to if we had enjoyed our stay. In most establishments this is basic customer service isn't it. Indeed the receptionist left me stood at the desk for several minutes whilst he was inputting data into the computer, with no explanation or request that I wait a moment.
Imagine our surprise, when we came down the next morning, to find breakfast was already being served to a coach party who were also leaving early that day. We stayed and had breakfast which was ok and edible but nothing special. Why, we have to ask, did the staff not tell us we would be able to have breakfast before we left as we paid our bill because it was in fact being served early for the coach party anyway.
There, I believe, is partly the answer. The hotel seems to cater for coach tours, and mainly for the older generation, and so the solo or small party of travellers perhaps don't get the same level of service.
So if you are over 65 and in a large coach party you will probablly feel you get value for money. For the rest of you, like I intent to do in the future, I would advise you give the Arrochar a miss.

Room Tip: get a top floor room to avoid being disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisdenis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Food, was good, staff were, in the main helpful and friendly but......... the room ! beds in need of replacement and that bathroom ! tiled walls were clean but the shower control.....
was partly broken and required attention, window paintwork......heavily polluted with years of mildew, some might say it was; a health hazard.
Come on "Arrochar" you can do better I'm sure, a lick of paint in that bathroom would
make all the difference.........

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1746845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

What a disappointment! After booking a double room online, we arrived to a twin room with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, rather difficult to turn in! The TV didnt work and the beds were so uncomfortable. We of course immediately complained, and while the female receptionist was lovely and extremely apologetic, they could not offer us another room until the morning. The next day after a fairly basic breakfast we approached reception to find the previous nights receptionist already in (it was apparently her day off) trying to sort our situation. She found us a room which we could have from 12. We spent a fantastic day in Oban, and returned to a "Double room", two twin beds pushed together! However this room was much better, bigger bathroom and views of the loch which is stunning. Although still not what I had expected given the price.
The hotel was very dated but I could have overlooked this if it was perhaps a bit cleaner and the rooms were equipped with working TVs and comfortable beds.
The staff working reception were helpful and lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the loch are amazing, we were in 228.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Went for a birthday weekend. No hot water on arrival, damp musty smell, holes in worn carpet, overpriced bar. Not a good advert for those from abroad. Had to get shower fixed next day.
Overpriced even with a deal. Bar closes at 11 prompt for none guests.
Staff friendly, however one now and ex-employee told us that they were fed up telling guests the hotel is soon to get a refurbishment knowing it is not true.
Food was only just passable and again overprices (£14.99 for fish and chips, with bits of cheese for afters) advise eating out but be warned even though the Village Inn advertises food available, if you have not booked they will not entertain you. Waste of a walk. Views not bad.

Room Tip: wooden window frames in need of repair/replacement. Barhtroom need a good clean as there is mould ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADC242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
469 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing