We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here on our Goldwing tour with 2 of our biker friends, Friday 13th April 2012. On arrival was amazed by the views from the front of the hotel, they are absolutely priceless. This hotel is situated on the Alps of Arrochar and anyone who complains simply must not be grateful for anything! The hotel foyer and reception were lovely and clean as was the bar and seating area. Ok, the stairs up to the rooms are still needing a little TLC but are nothing like one of the reviews on here. The rooms were very clean, of good size, and had a bath (scalding hot water!) which was very welcome! View from Room 124 was stunning! Beds were comfy and clean, and towels of good quality, all smellies free and nice. The staff were very helpful in helping us with secure parking for our motorbikes, and as there were 11 other bikes in there that night, this was no mean feat. We booked our evening meal in the restraunt and it was priced at £15 for 2 courses, and £19.50 for three. The menu was extremely varied and included Scottish dishes also, the Sirloin Steak in Pepper Sauce had a supplement of £7 per person, but I was on holiday and I wanted a steak so I paid the supplement. When it arrived it was almost half a cow in size! It was the best meal I have had in a hotel in some time, and I am a regular traveller. It was superbly cooked, presented and served. My friend had the Fresh Salmon and also said the same of the quality and flavour.James the Head Waiter cannot do enough for you, and he and his staff are impeccably dressed for service. It was reminiscant of old times when Waiters and Serving Staff took pride in their attire and their service, it was delightful to meet James and the other staff. We had a lovely evening in the bar, not rowdy, just comfortable and friendly. They have a superb selection of Malts and the prices were very reasonable, £4.50 for a pint and a half of Fosters, £12.50 for a bottle of house red (lovely too). James also arranged for our next nights accommodation in Oban, at another of the Oxford Group Hotels, he did us proud, please see my review of the Regents Hotel, Oban for more on this. We were sad to leave The Arrochar, we wished we had booked for longer, and we will return in Summer. Dont let it put you off that some of this Hotel is still being refurbished, the food, staff, and views are absolutely perfect. Oh....and breakfast was to die for! 10 out of 10 for everything! And all for £55 for the night, per room, not person, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 124 is nice and has view of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    401
    253
    144
    110
See reviews for
114
662
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Arrochar hotel on Monday of this week and i must say it really is a mixed bag this hotel. My fiance and i were travelling to England and need somewhere in the general area to stay to break up the long drive, We searched for hotels and found The Arrochar Hotel with a 2 star rating. The room was resionably price for bed and breakfast. On arrival we were greated with a warm and friendly reception, the hotel smelled of paint due to ongoing work which is clearly what is needed as this hotel is delapatated at best. We went to our room which had a spectacular view only to find a door that would not lock, freezing cold water and 2 single beds from the 60s. The hotel itself has worn carpets ,dated decor and is in desperate need of a refurb, we went bk to reception and complained and we were moved room immediatly the room itself was not much better but it locked and the water worked. We had only booked for bed and breakfast but on arrival noticed the evenings menu on the wall 3 courses at a very reasonable price. We went down for dinner and were delighted with the quality and presentation of the 3 lovely courses of food brought to our table by the extremly pleasent and welcoming manager called james who was extremley attentive and made us feel very relaxed and welcome. The breakfast in the morning was your basic fry up but again nice clean plates with piping hot food set us up for our long trip home and once again James was on hand to ensure all was well. If the oxford group injected some cash into this hotel im sure its ratings would rise to 3 star as the staff are great and welcoming the food is of a higher quality than expected and the view and setting is just spectacular.

Room Tip: Front Facing rooms with great view, the restaraunt is worth a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank js150314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have repeatedly stayed at this hotel on route to the Isle of Mull for an overnight stop. Always I have found the accomodation to be excellent the price very modest and the food excellent. I would thouroughly recommend this hotel. it coomands a fine view of the lake and i have been luky to have a room overlooking the lake. being a single traveller I usually find in most hotels the service secobd clas but not at the Arrochar.
Full marks for excellent value!!

Room Tip: Get a view of the lake at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

From opening the door you were greated with a musty smell. The carpets were torn, the room was awful. The evening meal was pretty average, but I wasnt inpressed with the forzen veg that went with it. Most uncomfortable bed. The t.v could barely be heard at full volume. Decided to go for a bath in the morning to ease my back as it was sore from the bed. Ran the hot tap then had to use the kettle to fill up with cold water as the cold water tap didnt work! Breakfast was at 8.00 we had departed at 8.30 a.m. The staff were nice enough but the girl who served the evening meal could do with some people skills.

Room Tip: Ask for a see view - we did have that!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
The Arrochar Hotel is closed for the winter and we will be refreshing and upgrading a number of our bedrooms over this period. This will include replacing mattresses and worn carpets wherever possible.

Now that the issue of the cold water supply to your bathroom has been raised, we are able to correct this problem

I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and than you for the positive remarks you made in your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The view of this hotel from the road approach looks great - it is the picture on the website. Inside, the hotel is old-fashioned in decor and the room we were in was small. It was very clean however, the bed was comfortable and the views over the loch outstanding. The evening meal was poor, the menu was stuck in the sixties and seemed to be mass catering for the bus trip passengers. The breakfast wasn't very good at all. It seemed to be of poor quality ingredients.
The pub in the next village south, 5 minutes walk down the road had great atmosphere and food. My advice is to stay here in comfort with amazing views over the loch, but eat elsewhere. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Once a number of years ago with my two German Shepherd dogs( now passed away) And most reicently this October 2011. I found this hotel very comfortable and the room we were in staying with my dog, was clean. The service provided by the Staff was very good and attentive. The food, Breakfast & Evening meals were superb and could not have been better.
When one pays such a reasonable inexpensive rate for two nights DBB, one expects a certain level of service. The Arrochar far exeeds this.
YES. the Hotel exterior and parts of the inside are in need of updating and a good paint job outside would make a lot of difference. But the staff here deserve credit as they put their heart into serving you.
The Savoy its not. But The Arrochar is a bloody good Scottish hotel, and you get a hell of a view, there are many hotels out there that don't give a damn. But Arrochar isn't one of them.
We have stayed at this hotel before and will so again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Loch Side have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have just returned from a weekend break to this hotel with my two sisters and two neices. My cousin had booked Castle Lachlan for his 50th birthday and had travelled from Australia with my Aunt from New Zealand and about 40 friends. We stayed in the Arrochar for two nights and I must say it was great.
As others have said the accomodation is now a bit tired and in need of a major overhaul in the decor depafrtment. The window in my room was broken and there was a big water stain on the wallpaper. Carpets were not the cleanest but the food was excellent as were the staff.
I would definately stay at this hotel again. The location is beautiful and the entertainment great.
Although I would not give it a five star rating it is simply because of the decor.

Room Tip: Definately book a room with a Loch view. You can't beat drinking a coffee or tea overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddybear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing