We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overall, the service and quality was high. But they let themselves down in some areas. Eg. Since there is no 3G in the area, we needed WI-FI... The cost £7 per device per day. Preposterous overcharge for something that is costing them virtually nothing. (Fortunately I had brought my bike (for which there was no cycle rack) and I found 3G about five miles away on the a82 south of tarbet.)

The front desk were very polite, but when asked a basic question about train times, just dismissed the notion of public transport, saying "well nobody round here uses the train." Ordinarily I would expect that If a concierge didn't know the answer to the question, that they would at least find out for the guest...! (It was a really simple question after all)

Another example.. The bath tiles in the en-suite, very high end, probably very expensive, and nice.... But fitted by a moron using the cheapest grout available.

A really nice touch (and not something I've seen in a hotel room before) was the over bath clothes drier. A very useful item in my book. Such a pity, the strings were filthy.

Hopefully I've given a balanced picture. It certainly isn't all bad, overall I would place the hotel at higher than the two stars they have, and with a small amount of effort I'm sure they could earn a 'promotion' if they wanted to.

The deal we got was very very cheap, giving superb value and I would stay here again, I just hope they take steps to make the improvements I've highlighted. :-).

Room Tip: Ask for front facing- the view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    413
    267
    155
    118
See reviews for
123
694
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Having spent four times at this Hotel, we've always been drawn back because of the hospitality of James the Manager who ran a very efficient Restaurant. How sad and sorry we were to find out that he had been made redundant.......why?? How can this be? When it's evident that this man was such an asset to this hotel? Always helpful, always cheerful, nothing ever a problem, and always remembered you when you returned, making your time here that extra little special. A few people whom we talked to whilst we were there, felt exactly the same.
I can honestly say, our stay was not the same, and after much discussion with my extended family, which also has stayed here on numerous occasions, they too will not be staying here again.
Also, a word of advice, if you want the same menu offered all the time you are staying on your holiday, then this is the place for you. As whilst we stayed here, there was no change from the Restaurant Menu the entire stay, making our five day stay on dinner bed and breakfast basis, very tedious......same choice of four starters, mains, and desserts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
The team at Arrochar have been here for some time now and I’m sure you appreciate that, whilst it’s fantastic that specific team members stand out, it is ultimately a wider team effort that makes any stay memorable for our guests.

I am sorry that you feel James’ departure from the hotel may cause you not to stay with us in future and would suggest that you contact me directly should you wish to reconsider your decision.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We found the hotel on the Net and although weren't to impressed with the photo it seemed to fit our requirements as we were travelling south and wanted to spend a couple of days exploring the area.
Must admit we were very impressed with the hotel and staff indeed. The hotel was clean and tidy the staff very helpful in both advice and service.
We had one evening meal in the restaurant and it was very filling and good value for money.
Breakfasts were very good too especially as they worked out so cheap as part of the package.
We will seriously be considering coming here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that over looks the loch and mountains. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgeman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We also stayed last weekend when the power was off and thought we might have been given a hot drink and toast or something when the power came on but we were told it was out of the control of the hotel and we should have had the continental breakfast. Unfortunately all we had the choice of was cold tinned fruit, fruit juice and bread and jam, which doesn't exactly set you up for a morning of hillwalking.
We had an incredibly poor room right next to the busy road at the back on the 2nd floor which was inconvenient because we had our dog with us but apparently nothing else was available..
I will say that it was cheap but we have stayed in other cheap hotels with Easybreaks and had a much better experience, with staff, food, accomodation, and even power cuts.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatPatFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for one night for only £35 for double room and breakfast.
Hotel dated but clean and staff helpful and friendly.
Room clean and comfortable.
Bathroom clean but could have done with some updating.
All facilities as expected - tea/coffee/hairdryer etc.
Had a good bar meal but could have eaten in dining room for £15 3 courses.
Excellent breakfast.
Definitely would stay again, excellent lochside position with views of 'The Cobbler'

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaS366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Really nice hotel with some stunning views. Me and my better half got a double room with breakfast for £35 witch was superb value. Rooms were clean, sure they could have done with a lick of paint but at these prices you cant expect 5* quality. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant which was around £60 for three courses each and a bottle of wine which we thought was well worth it. Really cant fault the place at the price paid

Room Tip: Ask for room with view if possibly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redandwhiterob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked this hotel to make our weekend last a bit longer We had been at Loch Fyne on Thurs and Fri As soon as we entered we were met with the most awful music - not loud but like some really bad seventies B sides I felt so sorry for the staff having to listen to this Hotel a bit tired and staff although pleasnt didn't seem to be very happy at work Room clean comfortable and warm Amazing views and pleasent walks close to hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing