We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Wee Stop Off”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Wee Stop Off”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here the Saturday night bank holiday weekend. We booked a single room for my mum and a twin for me and my boyfriend. Both rooms were clean and had a loch view, which was lovely. On booking in around 5pm we were told the only dinner sittings left were 6pm and 6.30pm, having eaten on our journey up this was too early for us to eat again, the reception told us we could still order food from the bar till 9pm, which we did. The food was lovely however they forgot we had ordered dessert for my mum and had to ask for it again, we got it about 45mins after our meal and it wasn't very nice, think it had been microwaved and being waffles they were a bit rubbery. The dessert was the only complaint we had about the hotel, breakfast was lovely and the staff were nice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was number 1 on the ground floor with a view to the loch, my mums room was 122 on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela_a_1978_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    413
    268
    155
    118
See reviews for
123
694
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Enjoyed a last minute overnight stay here over the Bank Holiday weekend. Great deal and nice hotel in lovely location. Staff were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints. Our room had a stunning loch view (when the mist was up!) and yes, could do with some updating - but was clean and very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends, especially the dinner/B&B deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Having just read some of the recent reviews of this hotel we must have stayed somewhere else. We stopped for 2 nights including dinner as part of a group booking. We paid £90 per couple per night for dinner bed and breakfast.
Our first impressions were of a lovely location but a very dated hotel. Our room (135) was tiny, we opened the door and the door couldn't be opened fully as there was a wall and a short corridor you had to walk through to get into the room. In the room paper was starting to peel from the wall, and paint was flaking from the radiator. The curtains were too short for the window and the glass and windowsills could have done with a good clean. The wardrobe was built into the wall behind the door, slightly worryingly the back wall had a floor to ceiling crack in the back corner.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel so our view was somewhat limited. The room was clean'ish, but one of the pillows had broken up inside we didn't know this until my wife woke with a stiff neck in the middle of the night.
Then in the morning we came to shower only to find we only had scalding hot water and no cold. We reported this to reception, and were told this happens sometimes, and they sent a couple of jugs of cold water up. No cold water meant we couldn't flush the toilet etc. As you can imagine this is totally unacceptable. When we returned to the hotel after a day out, we had water in our room but several of our party didn't. The hotel blamed Scottish Water but this to me looks like its the hotels problem.
On the second morning we did have both hot and cold running water. But then later on both taps were running hot, we reported this to reception, and were again told it was a Scottish Water issue.
On to the food, dinner on the first night was poor, the veg of cabbage, carrot and broccoli was very watery and had been boiled to a mush which I guess is for their coach party clientele. The less said about the mash potato the better. Breakfast was tiny, and only geared up to having a full breakfast. The cereal bowls had bits of cereal stuck to them, again not acceptable.
Dinner on the second night was better, but the veg was the same.
Evening entertainment was provided by a singer and a backing track, which wasn't to our groups taste.
On check out we raised the above issues, we weren't looking for a refund (as we were made to pay on arrival), but sorry would have nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeiKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed during the first holiday weekend of May 2013 as part of a Car Club Group of approx 25 people. As part organiser of this weekend, accommodation is so important as we have people attending outwith Scotland. I'll start with the hotel negatives; Three times I told the hotel to change my reservation from a double to single due changed circumstances, but no, when checking in I was given a double and charges £90 for the double. I was so sick of the 'couldnt care less' approach from the staff that I paid it anyway for an easy life. The room was shabby and reminded me of a back street Blackpool hotel in the 1970's. No headboard, missing wallpaper etc etc, you get the picture. Lots of our group had no water in the morning, so no shower, no teeth brushing, no washing, no flushing the toilet etc but the hotel put the blame was put firmly with the water Scottish Water and the hotel were not interested in offering any compensation. Somehow the hotel thinks thie customers were to go to Scottish Water for compensation? Positives; You have the option of driving past or booking somewhere else, please do this and save youself a load of hassle. The Arrochar Hotel needs to close down for a while and rethink what its offering PAYING customers and reopen with a differnt attitude. I can believe that people from abroad are coming to Scotland and being offered places like the this! Oh, the other positive is that there are other places in Arrochar to have a drink in the eventing which means you can escape the really really bad entertainment/singer in this really really bad hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My partner and myself stayed here for two days at the weekend and both agreed it was a lovely hotel, you get exactly what you pay for (everything you need). Our double room was clean, good size and had an en-suite, comfy bed, tv etc. We were lucky enough to get a loch room, absolutely beautiful views, Arrochar is such a lovely place to stay. The food was okay, staff were very friendly and approachable- overall a great stay.
However, the windows were a bit dodgy at times, and could do with new curtains as they were hanging off, and the bathroom needs a good lick of paint- particularly the ceilings and the awful looking grout.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch room- we were in 104 which was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just returned from another excellent weekend break here. This is the fourth time we have stayed here since January and each time has been better than the time before. Our stay this time was for our wedding anniversary. Unknown to me my husband contacted the hotel a few days before we arrived to order a bouguet of flowers for the room as a surprise for me. The staff member at the hotel asked if it was a special occasion and when my Husband explained it was our wedding anniversary they insisted on upgrading us to a suite at no extra cost. The suite was beautiful. Loch facing, very bright and sunny, very spacious and very clean. The welcome we received was as usual very warm. The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were very attentive. The entertainment on Saturday night was very good also. The only gripe about the whole stay was that it had to come to an end! We are looking to book again for June for a family members 50th Birthday and we cant wait!!

Room Tip: ask for a loch facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed 2 night here last week. First room we were given was like a prison cell with no view; wallpaper coming off the walls; cigarette burn on the only seat and a nasty smell. After intervention of a friend we were given another room which was much better and overlooked the Loch. The staff were friendly and did their best to make us comfortable. Food was satisfactory. Lounge area near bar drowned out by pop music . Could be much better if money spent on it. Very nice location however.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing rooms with view of the Loch. Avoid back rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phutchence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
472 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing