We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is not clean, the room I got was horrible, it looked like the bath had not been cleaned in a year, I don't think that a clean shower curtain is too much of a big expense. Even when you enter the hotel, the carpet is dirty and The only plus I would have is the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    401
    253
    144
    110
See reviews for
114
662
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
300 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I largely agree with Tom W (below) in that it is a budget hotel in a lovely location, spoiled by being in need of a major refurb. The double room was small and basic with only one bedside table and a small stool doubling as a table on the other side. It was clean but tatty! Just one curtain was badly hung across the window (don't staff do maintenance, like replace a few curtain hooks?) giving a spartan view of the lovely loch scenery. The bed was hard and the bed cover was scorched and the window needed replacing. Trip advisor showed this hotel under Loch Lomond but it is actually on the banks on Loch Long, with Lomand a short distance away. The menu published near reception didn't appeal to us so we looked at the bar meals which looked OK but a little on the expensive side so we opted for Fish n Chips from the nearby village shop (which weren't the best and tasted a little of the scented soaps being sold in the same shop - but this is nothing to do with the hotel!), There was a good array of whiskies in the bar but the seats and sofas were not as comfortable as they looked but the beers seemed to concentrate on a selection of lagers at the expense of any decent real ale. I wasn't made aware of the fact that there was a lift (but I found it, though it wasn't labelled) and judging by other people hauling suitcases up the stairs, they too had not been aware of the lift facility. A lot of the staff seemed to be immigrant workers with a few basic problems due to language. Breakfast was OK but nothing special and service here could have been improved. We were asked if wanted more toast - and yet it never came. I can't say that enjoyed back to back Sammy Davis Jr music from a ghetto blaster throughout breakfast. There was some ambiguity on the menu about having either black pudding or haggis with the breakfast and when we enquired were told we could have both - but only the haggis arrived.
This hotel is ok for a budget night out but I'm glad we didn't choose to stay on for several nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LamplighterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Lovely hotel in a super location. Booked one night and took advantage of dinner for an extra £10 not expecting too much. The meal was first class, all 3 courses consisted of beautiful tasty fresh food well presented. The service was excellent with the waiters being attentive and keen to please but not in your face all the time. You will be hard pushed to find better value anywhere. Check in staff were very pleasant and helpful

The single room though compact had all you need for a comfortable stay, comfortable bed, good shower and internet access, with stunning views of Loch Long with Ben Arthur in the background. The hotel seems to have undergone a refurbishment programme recently and all areas were clean and fresh despite other comments to the contrary on this site.

Great value comfortable hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Party of 20 pensioners booked for morning tea and cake. Staff did not know where wheel chair entrance was. They then served 1/4 of group then staff dissappeared for 15 min. Had to serve our self only to find everything cold. No plates, napkins or cutlery had to find staff to get them. Eventually staff arrived back with scones and then complained that they had to clear tables.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocksaway26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We booked here because the other places we tried were full. The reviews on Trip Advisor were mixed, so we arrived uncertain of what we would find.

Our first experience of the place typified everything about it. We drove up to find plentiful parking with marked bays, each the width of our car, which was fine so long as you had no intention of opening the doors.

The hotel is like that throughout. It offers good basic service but messes up the little details. Everything comes out feeling a little bit mean, which can make you miss the fact that it's actually a good basic hotel in a spectacular location.

Reception is hidden round the corner from the door but, once we'd steered away from the bar that dominates the reception area, we were given a friendly welcome. Our room was large, clean and airy but somewhat under-decorated, giving it a Spartan feel. The duvets on the twin beds were measured to the millimetre. An extra couple of inches of material would not have cost much and would have made them a lot more comfortable.

When we arrived, on a chilly evening, there was no heat on at all. Again, this was just careless. A radiator and an electric heater soon had us cosy, but most hotels heat rooms ahead of the guests arriving.

The bathroom was, again, fit for purpose but, again, why the petty meanness of providing only one small bar of soap for two people? I have never come across any other hotel that does this. There was only one tooth mug, too. The holder for a second had snapped off and never been replaced. The bath enamel was chipped, giving the whole place a rather run-down air, accentuated by the absence of a bulb in the room lobby light. But, the next day, when we returned from a day walking in the cold and damp, we discovered that the important things were fine: the bath filled quickly with wonderfully hot water.

Food in the splendid dining room was served reasonably quickly by very pleasant staff. We were seated by the window with a view that pretty well justified the price of the meal by itself. The set menus were good, without being great. We were surprised that there was no a la carte menu.

The £7 minimum charge for wi-fi is beyond a joke, but £5.50 for a packed lunch seemed reasonable and the cooked breakfast was a bargain.

The hotel is run by a management company on behalf of owners who seem to take little interest in it, which is a shame. This could be an exceptional place and the staff do their best. But the penny pinching (music in the dining room from a ghetto blaster presumably because the speakers mounted on the ceiling don't work, decor that was cutting edge in the sixties but now just looks uncomfortable) means that it seems to survive on coach parties of elderly visitors.

We'd visit again for the location and the lovely staff. But we can only give it three stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel has comfy beds, plenty of hot water, is reasonably clean and the bar food is ok if a bit pub grub like. Yes the rooms are pretty tired, the floorboards creak and the sound insulation is woeful. But it was cheap as chips so no complaints from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Just returned from a 6 day coach trip to scotland. This hotel was our base,it,s a 2 star stopover hotel at best. The food was adequate and varied,but the hotel,although in a great location,was very old fashioned and dated. We saw no sign of any cleaners or chambermaids throughout our visit and it showed!! The waiting staff in the restaurant were polite and eager to help,but this couldn,t detract from the generally dismal appearanceof all public rooms. My feeling is they are understaffed and underpaid! Stay a night by all means,but don,t expect anything other than a 1 star standard.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a loch view,if you can see through the tiny, NON double glazed windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing