We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Historic Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Historic Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Liked this place right next to the Loch and oozing Victorian Charm - which by definition means it is a bit old school really - the rooms and fittings I mean. Beds where comfy though and clean but wifi cost £7 which I found to steep really in this day and age.

Dinner was great and so was the breakfast with plenty of good coffee:-)

Room Tip: Try to get one high up and with loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Many thanks Mr Baker for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate positive feedback and to top it all , the WIFI is now FREE at this hotel. We look foreward to welcoming you back to this stunning part of Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    364
    236
    133
    105
See reviews for
108
603
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night would have stayed longer if needed
Great room brilliant breakfast nice bar good choice of whiskeys the only thing wrong with this stay was no free wifi having to pay £7 was a bit much these days

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Ony, Thank you for submitting your review. The loch is stunning and great views can be had from our bedrooms . This week the Gannets have been busy with spectacular displays of dive bombing , even the midges are lying low in this heat. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were made welcome by the friendly staff.The first room we were given had fantastic views of the Loch but shortly discovered the shower did not work. No problem we were then moved to a room which could be described as a mini suite with separate sitting area and two wall hung plasma TVs and three windows with panoramic views over the Loch. The windows are not double glazed so they are draughty an extra blanket was needed. The breakfasts are excellent but the evening meal choice is a little limited. When I came to pay the bill I genuinely thought I was only being charged for one night and not two. 10 out of 10 for value!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank localtravellerNEMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Well I cant fault the single room rate which was good value...staff were ok, room was clean, so really its fine

But there were a few niggles...squeaky floorboards and door which no doubt irritated my neighbours as I left at 7am. Hardly a deal breaker but i do think hotel managers should stay in rooms once in a while. Quite noisy if on the main road side too and single glazing so ask for a lochside room.

Menu was standard pub fare with about 5 main options but didnt seem to be a veggie option. Seems excessive with this menu to have dress code but hey. Breakfast was pretty poor. Fork wouldnt penetrate sausage and black pud was pretty dull. Didnt get the order quite right either

So overall as a room it was fine and good value but just a few niggles..

As a side note. I have to say avoid the chippy in the village. Worst ive had for some time and a few locals expressed as much...a shame given the quality of some of the seafood around here ie loch fyne

Room Tip: Lochside is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munromartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is situated on Loch Long and is a short drive from the more famous Loch Lomond. Inverary, with it's famous castle is also a reasonable drive away. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious, as was the three course dinner. The staff were delightful and very helpful. All this for £60 per night for 2 including breakfast, amazing value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Arrochar Hotel and we certainly were not disappointed the food was very good and well presented with plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner. Our room was clean with towels changed every day, yes it is a bit old fashioned and in need of refurbishment but very comfortable none the less. We had a window looking on to Loch Long with a beautiful view. This is a lovely hotel to stay, there are so many places to visit in the area and Loch Lomond is a short drive away. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I will certainly visit the Arrochar again. Thank you to all the hotel staff for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 572ann50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Rooms clean and reasonably furnished. Two flat screen tvs and a little lounge area in the room. the Breakfast good. The food in the Restaurant was ok, with decent wine available. The car park was an odd setup, with the lines too close together. so each car in the car park was over the lines. essentially only half the car park was usable. Recommend getting rid of a space at each and and making the lines further apart. that way all of the carpark spaces can have cars in them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing