We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay...it's a tartan carpeted Fawlty Towers & that includes the waiters!”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not stay...it's a tartan carpeted Fawlty Towers & that includes the waiters!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked this hotel as somewhere we could rest up after a long drive up from Wiltshire before driving over to Aberdeenshire.....It was supposed to be a cosy romantic double room overlooking a loch. Instead we were given a twin room in something that was alleged to have been recently refurbished. The alleged price for these rooms was £220 per night incl breakfast.....we paid £80 and that was TOO much. I did ask to change rooms as we had planned a romantic break but there were no rooms available allegedly. The windows would open but they would slip down again....this was probably why there was condensation in the room and a cracked pane in the single glazed unit. We thought we would treat ourselves to a meal in the restaurant......£65 for a 2 course meal and wine was not a bad price for 2 people but when you saw the food we ate you would have cried. The service of the waiting staff was poor if not laughable! Whatever you do, don't stay here......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    412
    264
    152
    114
See reviews for
120
686
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked two days for £146 through 5pm for myself and my boyfriend for a relaxing break. It was exactly that. We had a basic but Comfortable room, which faced the loch. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. The room needed a little freshening up, but the painters were in, so i'm assuming our room will soon be done. We were on the dinner bed and breakfast deal and the the 3 courses each night were great value for money. We were also given champagne and chocolates in our room.
I would recommend to anyone who wants a peaceful few nights away. A home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a loch view. It makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hotel reception, clean and not as old fashioned as I thought, room was obviously recently renovated, fabulous comfy beds, and great views. Staff friendly efficient and well turned out. Food was good, varied menu quick service. Very busy but enough staff to cope.
For a two star hotel I thought it was exceptional !

Room Tip: Try for a Loch facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenzadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We went to the Arrochar Hotel after booking thro booking dot com on the spur of moment. We arrived at hotel just after 3pm our room was ready and it was a ground floor room as requested. The room was one which was recently renovated. Our only complaint regarding the room was the cleanliness of bathroom nothing major but a little more attention to detail when cleaning the bath and inside of bathroom door. room otherwise was clean and fresh. Bed linen and towels were clean and fresh. We had dinner in the dining room which was excellent no problem getting wine from staff. After dinner we had drinks in the bar and enjoyed the evenings entertainment. The staff although young were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel also offers good reasonably priced bar food.. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was not too early only a small delay for a table the hotel was very busy. Breakfast was hot and a good selection to suit all tastes. Nice views of the loch from our table for dinner and breakfast..We would definitely go back for a weekend break, ideally situated for touring the area.

Room Tip: Excellent position for ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you Mary C for reviewing this Hotel. We hope to meet with you again in the near future .
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nivaa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was OK, but for sure not 3-star as they claim. They post a dress code for their restaurant, but the restaurant is a dull setting with complete untrained staff and strange procedures (like: get your own drinks from the bar, pay at the reception) that you have to guess as the staff does not tell you. Food was mediocre. If you need a quick sleepover it is OK (if you can get a nice price) but if you are holiday, find something else.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting your views on this Hotel. We will take in to account all you have said and apply your views in a positive manner when appropriate
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel as a wee night away in lovely peaceful surroundings but when we arrived we were met by the site of 5 builders vans at the hotel.The entrance was cordoned off as they were installing a whole new front and we had to enter by the side fire exit,maneuvering past the tool boxes and building materials as they were also renovating the ground floor rooms (not very easy as my wife is visually impaired and walks with a stick).we booked in at 3pm and were told the tradesmen would be finished at 5pm and the hot water was off until then,so no showers available . on arriving at our room we decided to have a cuppa but,alas, we couldn't fill the kettle as cold water was also off.we went out to an adjoining hotel,the claymore, and had a lovely afternoon tea. We had a lovely dinner in the arrochar and then spent a couple of hours in a local pub before returning to the hotel and retiring for the night for a well earned rest.WAKEY WAKEY,8.00AM unintentional alarm call as industrial hoist and vans start work right outside our window .As we were now up and treated to a dawn chorus of industrial banging,movement alarms etc. we headed down for breakfast in the dining room,which was very nice,although it would have been nicer if it was an hour later as intended. After breakfast we went back to the room to relax and read the newspapers before packing up for departure but when i opened the window to try to clear the copious amount of condensation from the windows i put my hand on the window ledge only to find the HELPFUL tradesmen had painted our window sill a lovely matt black whilst we were out .We packed up and left ,totally disappointed in our supposedly "TRANQUIL BREAK IN PEACEFUL VILLAGE SURROUNDINGS.I think they should have told us when we were booking that there was ongoing renovations being carried out instead of us only finding out on arrival.

Room Tip: a renovated room which has double glazing fitted as ours was running with condensation due to poor q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest, The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and the beautifull new front windows were part of that. Unfortunately it did cause the front entrance to be closed and a side entrance to be used in its place. Apologies for any iinconvenience and i hope you will visit us again in the near future .
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

At £50 a night bed and breakfast I wasn't expecting too much. I booked through Booking.com at the last minute, but I wished I had spent a bit more time looking for local B&Bs instead as I would have gotten a much more comfortable experience for the same price.
The hotel is a bit run down and as others have commented quite musty smelling, but in a nice location.
I was there on a very busy weekend and I think the hotel must be taking on more customers than it can effectively handle. There was no WIFI access because they had given out all the codes they'd been given by their partners SWISSCOM. Something that could be averted by having free uncoded wifi with a normal router.
On my second morning my shower was stone cold, which I suspect was just because the hot water had been used up. In the diningroom at breakfast one couple complained of being unable to use their shower as it was too hot, even on the coldest setting, another had their bathroom flooded when they flushed the toilet because a piece of piping was missing.
At breakfast there were three staff all working incredibly hard to serve all the guests, but despite their best efforts there were just too many guests and there was a long delay in getting a table and then getting served.
I suspect Bespoke hotels are trying to make a quick buck, by doing the bare minimum maintenance on the hotel and running it with the bare minimum of staff.
The staff really are doing a very good job and are as professional and as helpful as they can be.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the loch. My room has a view of a road and is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
775 reviews
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing