We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Trip”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for the final night of our holiday.
We read the reviews 'after' we had booked the hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and good standard of the hotel generally.
The location opposite the loch was superb. On entering, we found the atmosphere nice and the staff helpful. We stayed in three hotels on our trip and this one was the cheapest of the three and we thought £74 for the night including a three course evening meal was good value.
The room was of a good standard ( the only negative angle was that we did not have a loch view, but that of the rear service area of the hotel including the pulsating view of three calor gas tanks adjacent ! ) I suppose though, for what we paid for the room, there was always going to be a hitch, but to be fair to the hotel, and for me personally, I thought the food here was the best out of all three hotels that we stayed in during a holiday and we would stay here again, but for only one night though if we had to look at those gas tanks !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walcotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Arrochar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed hear September and got a lovely loch and mountain view room which I had requested the breakfast and evening meal was excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful would highly recommend
great base to visit oban inverraray lochgoil and argyl in general

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Found Arrochar hotel via Laterooms.com. Needed one last day in the highlands before heading back to Edinburgh. The hotel was advertised as £220.00 reduced to £50.00. We looked at the pictures of the hotel (their own pictures) and thought, 'wow what a bargain!'. How very sorry we were, after we arrived. We entered into something akin to the hotel lobby in the 70's film 'The Shining'. 'That's fine' we thought. For 50 quid we could suffer faux gold picture frames, weird carpet and twee glass cabinets filled with inexplicable items from the 70's, like a time capsule.

Our room overlooked medley of a septic tank, rubbish bins and an outdoor table and the kitchen where staff milled about. In other words – not very hotel-like. The interior walls were coated with a peeling textured wall paper the colour of rusted iron. The radiator was coated in a thick paint that was peeling. The bath contained enormous stains in it from where there was some un-named substance that had been spilt there. Underneath of the toilet lid, the surface had been worn away and turned yellow, again with a substance I didn't want to examine too closely. The bed contained curly hairs in it that I hoped and prayed were from somebody's head. We both went back to reception and were given another room albeit with twin beds. This room had an equally terrible outlook onto a crumbling outhouse building. The room was bigger and the bathroom marginally better, however the bathroom door couldn't shut and was jammed open.

Taking the lift in this hotel was a journey back in time. Back to when floor-to-ceiling carpet in forest green with graffiti on the door was all the rage. Taking the stairs involved seeing crumbled bits of food stuck in the folds of the carpet.

It was like a post-war hotel in Hiroshima after everybody had fled. There was an air of hopelessness in this hotel that really doesn't come across from the exterior. It looks regal and special from the outside and has the perfect location on an enchanting loch. Indeed this place could be wonderful, with a complete gutting and refit from top to bottom. The staff were polite and professional, but no amount of Sir-ing and Madam-ing is going to change the fact that this place is completely and utterly shabby, unhygienic and revolting to behold inside.

After travelling the vast majority of this planet, including to Africa and South East Asia, I am unable to recall a worse hotel I've ever stayed in. And this hotel is in the most prestigious and highly competitive regions of the UK. How these people are still in business is beyond me, this is a disaster waiting to happen any day. Two stars? Maybe in the early 70's.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

this hotel looks really nice from outside beside lovely loch long,then when you enter the hotel the staff are friendly enough,the room was small on the second floor with a fabulous view of gas tanks ! the bed was comfortable enough and the heating was on the bathroom sink was tiny with one bar of soap between two of us.the kettle has seen better days food average,dining room nice with views of the loch not a good hotel to represent scotland at its best for tourists shame could be a really beautiful hotel

Room Tip: ask for a loch view otherwise you will get a room with a who knows where view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyhelen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent one nite at Arrochar whilst travelling around on a bus trip. It is a hotel steeped in character, truly beautiful.....you feel like you have stepped back in time. The rooms were very clean n comfortable although a little on the snug side. Very nicely furnished with nice fittings n lovely linen. We had a very comfy sleep.
The dinning room was beautifully set with starched table clothes n contrast napkins ....very appealing. The food was wholesome n well cooked.
The view, looking over Loch Lomond was amazing.
Wii-fi was a hit n miss in our room but worked perfectly in the main reception area.
All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Recently returned from a 3 days break, excellent food and service throughout our stay. Top marks to the chef, good variety and well cooked, vegetables cooked to perfection. Always greeted with a smile from all staff.

Room Tip: Loch view - still some traffic noise but view makes up for it
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

my wife and i recently spent two nights at the Arrochar hotel in Argyll Scotland.we were very pleasantly surprised. the room was very clean and comfortable.We had dinner on both nights, and although the food was standard fayre, It was well cooked and well presented. Breakfast the following morning was just as good. all in all a decent place to stay, and somewhere that we will definitely stay at again

Room Tip: a view of loch long if possible
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lufcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing