We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Joke”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a Joke”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Well we arrived at the hotel after booking on line, after a very long drive on route to Saddel Bay, It took my hubby and I 20 mins or more to locate staff, then a chap appeared who did not seem to know what he was doing on reception,quite miserable and ignorant, we eventually got our keys and when up the very dirty stairs, to a room that someone had just left, towels still wet and dirty from previous occupant bin full of old sandwiches,bed looked like the previous occupant had just got out of it, dirty tea/coffee cups, an awful mess....we went back down to reception only to be greeted by Mr ignorant again who gave us a 2nd set of keys no apology,we then trudged up 2 flight of stairs only to find dirty towels again and the bed was not made up just a pile of pillows and a grey coloured duvet, back down again to Mr miserable, I asked to see the Manager, he was not available the chap then tried another room but same outcome,We asked for a refund, the manager appears, he then sent my husband up to another room same outcome but this time with the key he handed over a previous person information sheet full of credit card details address etc......BE AWARE OF THIS..A total joke and a very dirty smelly hotel.Just what I needed, this was a treat after finishing Chem and Radiotherapy...what more can I say......

Room Tip: Do not bother with this horrible dirty smelly hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
My apologies for the confusion. this was caused by a computer error which displayed the rooms as clean when in fact they were not.This is has now been sorted.
My receptonist and i felt your discomfort especially after just completing a course of chemotherapy and we both send our sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    408
    259
    150
    112
See reviews for
118
677
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

En-route from Skye to London, this was just a crash pad.
Great value for £50. Hotel hints at glory former years. Rooms small but relatively modern, good decor.
Shower was terrible, no water pressure. TV has blown pixels which left yellow lines all over it. Wifi was useless, less than 0.5mb, no good for streaming news etc made browsing hard work.

Staff were polite enough. Manager/owned looked knackered and seemed rather fed up with it all! Breakfast was good enough, coffee hot and adequate!

Bar had the atmosphere of a morgue, always seems hotels for want residents to spend time and money in their bars, letting them go to atmospheric local bars instead! Weird business mentality that.

Would not want to stay more than a night here, but good as a stopover.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Sir, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I was not bored or knackered , just deep iin concentration.
Please look us up again if you are passing and you will recieve a very warm welcome.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed two nights at the Arrochar Hotel over the New a Year period. The hotel was spotlessly clean, rooms warm and comfortable beds with plenty of hot water. Food was plentiful and well served. (We did not go to the entertainment bit understand it was enjoyed by others) . The management staff were very welcoming. I was an additional last minute guest and they went out of their way to accommodate me. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InchcolmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Just got back ftom visiting Arrochar and really enjoyed our stay, staff were welcoming, breakfast was great, room was spacious and warm and the bed was the comfiest we'd ever slept in. The views across the loch were excellent and we even saw a couple of stags outside one morning. The only slight drawback was the lack of vegetarian food on offer for my girlfriend but apart from that I give it the thumbs up. It's a great location to explore the trossachs and highlands. Just one tip though is on a sunday make sure you book a table somewhere early in the day as the surrounding restaurants all get booked up quick & restaurants are limited in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andydonna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Once again was not disappointed at this hotel .Room food and service was first class .thats why I use it so often .i would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and family ,you are well looked after by all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view really lovely looking out to the loch and up to the Cobbler
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

As weather was bad we decided on a last minute stay. We had stayed in another Bespoke hotel in Callandar n the previous evening and had a particularly bad experience. I phoned to book and requested a room only rate as we would be leaving at 7am
but were told that this was not possible despite us having stayed on other occasions on this basis. Welcome was fine but receptionist's English wasn't too good and it was hard work but nothing to complain about. Later in the evening we went through to the bar for a drink and were greeted by a very nice lady called Yvonne. She sad she would arrange to have a packed breakfast in the morning to take with us, we thanked her and in passing told her about our experience at the other Bespoke hotel in Callandar - she was empathetic and listened to our concerns and on one particular point suggested that she should let her Managers know. We agreed and felt comforted that there was someone who listened. Later in our room we received a call from Yvonne at reception who said that the Chef had offered to come in early and cook us a breakfast at 6.30 - the weather was cold and wet so this was much appreciated and reinforced our confidence in Bespoke Hotels. Particular thank you to Yvonne and the chef who delivered an outstanding customer servicer. Will definitely continue to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Much improved since last visit Situated next to loch long with views of arrochar alps hotel is dated but clean and well maintained Room 227 on second floor quite small with tiny shower room but comfortable Friendly helpful staff Dinner extremely good Warm goats cheese starter delightful Good sized portion of steak pie with veg and I had the best roast turkey dinner with only minor flaw being not enough gravy ! A warm apple crumble to finish I can only describe as Christmas on a plate ! Wonderful A busy restaurant and maybe this the reason for my only criticism which was that each course was brought out very soon after the last All in all a very pleasant stay Definite recommendation for food

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing