We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Choice”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Rooms are basic, but clean, almost perfectly dark and kept piping hot despite the harsh winds. A slight gripe is the pillows are rather thin, but overall a decent nights sleep was had.

The entertainment was something out of sitcom; genuinely feeling like a Scottish version of Phoenix Nights, with a singer enthusiastically belting out off key numbers to a confused audience. Despite being a Saturday night, the bar disappointingly closed at 11pm, leaving a rather desolate atmosphere.

Breakfast in the morning is perfectly acceptable, with lovely panoramic views of the rugged landscape.

It’s true it not the chicest of venues, but given the prices asked nobody has the right to demand otherwise. For budget travellers, you’ll have a decent sleep in an idyllic spot, which you can’t argue with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed one night my husband and I and I'm afraid I was glad to get home. We arrived at 2p.m. after a 4 hour journey to be told you can't check in till 3p.m. Tried to get something to east and they weren't serving lunch/sandwiches that day! Tried to find somewhere else to eat and everywhere seemed shut. When we got our room it was small, cold and very noisy. We went for a walk and came back and asked for a quieter room. They put us in an even smaller room but it was warmer and quieter. Evening meal was O.K. in and out in 40mins. No entertainment that we saw. Breakfast ,again ok. No sorry won't be going back.

Room Tip: Noisy room 218 bit quieter but smaller 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Sorry about the check in time. With the hotel being so busy it takes till 3pm to have all the rooms ready.
I hope you will return and sample out newly refurbished accommo0dation and new menu.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

this is my second vist here . and I would definitely recommend it . food is off a very high standard and presented well . staff are very helpful and obligation . entertaiment on both evenings which was brilliant . views are brilliant . bus stop right out side hotel which is easy to get to places . oh and breakfast what a selection .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cathrine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

All this talk of good food is making me hungry. Many thanks for you comments and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spent another night in this hotel as was walking the cobblers the next morning, ok not 5 star but paid £60 for dbb for two with entertainment. Evening meal was fab, well presented and breakfast was good, room basic but all our needs where met and all the staff where welcoming at all times. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone, I will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sap3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Very many thanks for your comments. A pleasure having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and can't wait to book a return visit. The room was lovely and clean with a beautiful view. We ate both night in the hotel and enjoyed dinner on both occasions. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who fell in love with the dogs :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ckaylesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Llovely meeting yourselves and the dogs. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Cute little room clean and comfy a few little bits of maintenance required Pleasant restaurant food not as good as last time but good enough Happy to say music a bit better also ! Rain spoiled plans for a walk around the beautiful setting of this hotel Cheerful staff Great value for money No doubt will be back Only disappointment was bed was a bit on the small side and pillows a bit flat

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We look forward to your return ( and a bigger bed)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just returned from 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the Arrochar hotel. Deal was through Easy breaks and was total of £114 for two people for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. Dinner on first night included bottle of wine (Hardy's Chardonnay). The staff were welcoming and friendly throughout. Yes, the decor would benefit from some updating and the food was not 5 star but I did not expect that given the excellent price. Customers were a variety of walkers, retired and one young foreign family. I read various reviews before arriving at the hotel and I can only say that any negative comments must have been from people who expect Ritz and Michelin star standards for a bargain price.
Well done to the Arrochar hotel for providing an excellent, clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel for such a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Loch Long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkpno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for positive comments. We were dilighted to have you here and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
571 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,555 reviews
14 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing