We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful situation but could be better run”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The journey to this hotel is filled stunning views. We arrived promptly and were offered a room at the back or to upgrade to a room with a view of the loch for £10 extra per night, which we took. It was a lovely view out of most of the window. We were pleased to find a place which took dogs.

As we had a dog with us we had to eat outside on one of the three tables on a corner of grass if we wanted a meal so we spoke to the bar staff and ordered.... more than 45 minutes later we had to go in search of our food!! The staff said he had no idea we were outside despite us having said that clearly and having the dog!! The menu was deceptive as it had two price brackets - the cheaper one - which was expensive enough t be the real cost - was actually only a supplement if you had already paid for a meal!!! The larger amount was the real price! I was sad not to have local people staffing the place, but I guess that is unfair in this day and age. Our room was spacious and clean but the corridors were creaky and could have done with a bit of a spruce up and nice pictures etc. Could be easy to make this a really nice place. Some reviewers have commented about negative staff - we found the staff very friendly but a bit 'exchange-studenty' to be very efficient. Breakfast was good with a nice choice including haggis and black pudding if we wanted it!

You get wifi code free by asking at reception.

It's a great central base to discover some beautiful local sites around Loch Lomand and Inveraray Castle (well worth a visit). All in all a nice stay but could have been a little better.

Room Tip: Try for loch view - but we had to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you commenting on your stay. We aim to improve and take your comments seriously.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

First have to mention we stayed at the hotel after buying a deal on Groupon so value was good. Thats the last positive thing to be said about the hotel.
When we arrived the receptionist advised our room wasn't very nice but we could pay for an upgrade. That wasn't a good first impression.
As warned the room was tiny with only 4 hangers on a tiny rail to store clothes. Didnt appreciate that they charged for wifi either. The bed was also uncomfortable.
The meal we had consisted of supermarket samosas served cold, fish pie that was 80% cold under cooked mash and hot chocolate fudge cake served with (a teaspoon) of cream and - again- cold. I asked the waitress (an eastern european lady) if it could be served hot to which i got the short reply: 'no'
We did not come accross one friendly member of staff. The less than mediocre food and shabby pokey room could have easily been forgiven if only the staff made us feel welcome.

Arrochar itself is beautiful but this hotel is a big let down. Really could do with someone taking over the management so this hotel (which is so beautifully positoned by the loch) could reach its potential.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to this hotel in April 2014 and stayed 3 nights. The first room had a radiator which banged all night - so we got a different room. Our friends had a room that smelled awful. Some evenings we waited in the bar for 10 minutes for a barman so we could get a drink. Meal in on the first night was so tasteless that we went out the other nights. Most of the hotel is old and in need of some tlc.

Room Tip: Ask for a double in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulE130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in the 1990's 3 times with my husband touring Scotland, twice with a coach company and once on a self drive, we had good rooms during 2 stays and bad room only the once. I loved this hotel and it's location, food hospitality was excellent, position near Loch Long and the cobbler mountains was beautiful to see, these beautiful views can be seen from the dining room. I am thinking of staying here again as I thoroughly enjoyed it all those years ago, I did have a look at this hotel whilst passing in March whilst staying in nearby Tarbet, it looked really good staff were friendly and was undergoing some refurbishment

Room Tip: make sure you don't get a room facing kitchens as this can be quite uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 983joans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We too would like you to stay with us again and look forward to that in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

just returned from a one night stay at this hotel yes the hotel is in beautiful surrounding
countryside the food also was ok plain but good the room we had was terrible very much needs
updating and run down windows terrible need cleaning and painting our room was very very small
for it to be a double room very disappointed and the hotel situation it could be a very good hotel
very much needs a lot of work done to make this hotel acceptable

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainemorrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments.
Room refurbishment almost now complete. Thank you for staying with us at this beautifull location.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrochar Hotel is surrounded by some beautiful sights but that's where it ends - the surroundings.
The rooms in this hotel are really run down looking. We arrived and were given a room on the first floor with a window which faced a wall and part of the roof and it didn't open. The room smelled slightly of damp and could have really been doing with some TLC. The food was lovely but there wasn't very much to choose from. There were barely any staff at all and so the man on reception doubled up as the barman! They had ran out of the drink I asked for at the bar so I don't think they are very well stocked. At dinner, we had a bottle of rose wine and left some in the bottle at the end of the meal. My partner then witnessed the staff take the bottle off the table and put it behind the bar in the fridge - presumably to sell again, even though we had paid for that bottle. The man who, I assumed to be in charge, served in the restaurant and was very welcoming and friendly.
At check out, we went to pay the bill and were told one price, then it changed to another because they decided at this point we had opted for a more expensive wine (the same one they kept to serve to other customers). I would say that the hotel is over priced, in poor condition and scarcely staffed. I would not encourage others to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwest03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Rooms have been refurbished. Your unused wine was marked on the label for your use and put in the fridge. We would not consider re selling .
Many thanks for your considered comments. We look forsard to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is part of the 'Bespoke Hotels' chain, but there is nothing bespoke about it.
Our room on the 2nd floor was acceptable but in need of some updating. It is just as well that we are quite fit, as the lift was out of order for the duration of out 2 night stay. The breakfast was ok, but dinner was very disappointing. The food was very plain, the choice limited and the veg. over-cooked for both of our meals. There were 2 rose wines to choose from, but the one we wanted with our first evening meal was not chilled, as one of the 'wine fridges' was not working. We accepted the alternative, and asked for a bottle of our preferred wine to be chilled for the following evening. The waitress assured us this would be done, but when we dined the next evening there were no bottles of rose wine chilled. Very poor service!
We were given a jug of water with our meal on the second evening, but after drinking a glass of water each, we noticed two 'foreign bodies' in the bottom of the jug. We brought this to the attention of the Manager, who assured us that these were not dead spiders (as we suspected) and replaced the water jug, with a short apology. No effort was made to make up for this, and it rather spoiled our meal, along with the fact that we had to wait a very long time for our dessert, as we had been forgotten about.
Beware of the dogs!
This hotel accepts dogs, but has a rule which requires owners to keep them on a lead in the bar area. What a joke!
One owner spent about an hour, after dinner, playing with her little dog in the bar/lounge. She would delve into the ice bucket on the bar and throw ice cubes across the floor for her little darling to chase. Not only was this witnessed by both the receptionist and the barman, but they both petted the dog and engaged the owner in conversation whilst she was doing this. The barman even put ice from the same ice bucket in customers' drinks, despite the fact that the owner of the dog was repeatedly petting her dog then putting her hand in to take ice cubes. Disgusting!
When we checked out we were asked if everything had been ok. I asked to speak to the manager to pass on our comments, but this proved to be a complete waste of time, as all we got from him was sarcasim, lies and arguments. How did he become manager?
I would like to finish by saying that we are not hard to please, and we have never complained in such a manner about any other hotel. In other words we are not habitual 'moaners' - this short break was just not enjoyable.

Room Tip: I suspect that a 'loch view' room would be better, but there is a supplement for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. Refurbishment programme in now near completion. New lift is in place. Menus have been upgraded and very popular. Our dog policy, no dogs ( not including guide dogs ) allowed in eating areas, is accepted by most but my sincere apologies if this not accptable to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
548 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
15.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing