We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stay”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading some recent reviews of this hotel (after we had booked) we had our misgivings. Yes the room could have been better as in wall paper coming away from the wall and signs of mould behind the shower screen door and the bed rather hard proberly an old mattress, but it was only one night.

The meal we had in the dining room was excellent piping hot did not have to wait between courses and very reasonable priced. The staff all very friendly and helpful the breakfast again very good.

The views from the bar and dining area are stunning although our room was at the back but that was for sleeping so was not bothered.

We would be happy to go back I would say that if anyone was to use as a base to explore nearby Loch Lomand and the Trossachs it would be ideal but then I would ask for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Loch if staying more than a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We are dilighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The journey to this hotel is filled stunning views. We arrived promptly and were offered a room at the back or to upgrade to a room with a view of the loch for £10 extra per night, which we took. It was a lovely view out of most of the window. We were pleased to find a place which took dogs.

As we had a dog with us we had to eat outside on one of the three tables on a corner of grass if we wanted a meal so we spoke to the bar staff and ordered.... more than 45 minutes later we had to go in search of our food!! The staff said he had no idea we were outside despite us having said that clearly and having the dog!! The menu was deceptive as it had two price brackets - the cheaper one - which was expensive enough t be the real cost - was actually only a supplement if you had already paid for a meal!!! The larger amount was the real price! I was sad not to have local people staffing the place, but I guess that is unfair in this day and age. Our room was spacious and clean but the corridors were creaky and could have done with a bit of a spruce up and nice pictures etc. Could be easy to make this a really nice place. Some reviewers have commented about negative staff - we found the staff very friendly but a bit 'exchange-studenty' to be very efficient. Breakfast was good with a nice choice including haggis and black pudding if we wanted it!

You get wifi code free by asking at reception.

It's a great central base to discover some beautiful local sites around Loch Lomand and Inveraray Castle (well worth a visit). All in all a nice stay but could have been a little better.

Room Tip: Try for loch view - but we had to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you commenting on your stay. We aim to improve and take your comments seriously.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

First have to mention we stayed at the hotel after buying a deal on Groupon so value was good. Thats the last positive thing to be said about the hotel.
When we arrived the receptionist advised our room wasn't very nice but we could pay for an upgrade. That wasn't a good first impression.
As warned the room was tiny with only 4 hangers on a tiny rail to store clothes. Didnt appreciate that they charged for wifi either. The bed was also uncomfortable.
The meal we had consisted of supermarket samosas served cold, fish pie that was 80% cold under cooked mash and hot chocolate fudge cake served with (a teaspoon) of cream and - again- cold. I asked the waitress (an eastern european lady) if it could be served hot to which i got the short reply: 'no'
We did not come accross one friendly member of staff. The less than mediocre food and shabby pokey room could have easily been forgiven if only the staff made us feel welcome.

Arrochar itself is beautiful but this hotel is a big let down. Really could do with someone taking over the management so this hotel (which is so beautifully positoned by the loch) could reach its potential.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to this hotel in April 2014 and stayed 3 nights. The first room had a radiator which banged all night - so we got a different room. Our friends had a room that smelled awful. Some evenings we waited in the bar for 10 minutes for a barman so we could get a drink. Meal in on the first night was so tasteless that we went out the other nights. Most of the hotel is old and in need of some tlc.

Room Tip: Ask for a double in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulE130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in the 1990's 3 times with my husband touring Scotland, twice with a coach company and once on a self drive, we had good rooms during 2 stays and bad room only the once. I loved this hotel and it's location, food hospitality was excellent, position near Loch Long and the cobbler mountains was beautiful to see, these beautiful views can be seen from the dining room. I am thinking of staying here again as I thoroughly enjoyed it all those years ago, I did have a look at this hotel whilst passing in March whilst staying in nearby Tarbet, it looked really good staff were friendly and was undergoing some refurbishment

Room Tip: make sure you don't get a room facing kitchens as this can be quite uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 983joans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We too would like you to stay with us again and look forward to that in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

just returned from a one night stay at this hotel yes the hotel is in beautiful surrounding
countryside the food also was ok plain but good the room we had was terrible very much needs
updating and run down windows terrible need cleaning and painting our room was very very small
for it to be a double room very disappointed and the hotel situation it could be a very good hotel
very much needs a lot of work done to make this hotel acceptable

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainemorrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments.
Room refurbishment almost now complete. Thank you for staying with us at this beautifull location.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrochar Hotel is surrounded by some beautiful sights but that's where it ends - the surroundings.
The rooms in this hotel are really run down looking. We arrived and were given a room on the first floor with a window which faced a wall and part of the roof and it didn't open. The room smelled slightly of damp and could have really been doing with some TLC. The food was lovely but there wasn't very much to choose from. There were barely any staff at all and so the man on reception doubled up as the barman! They had ran out of the drink I asked for at the bar so I don't think they are very well stocked. At dinner, we had a bottle of rose wine and left some in the bottle at the end of the meal. My partner then witnessed the staff take the bottle off the table and put it behind the bar in the fridge - presumably to sell again, even though we had paid for that bottle. The man who, I assumed to be in charge, served in the restaurant and was very welcoming and friendly.
At check out, we went to pay the bill and were told one price, then it changed to another because they decided at this point we had opted for a more expensive wine (the same one they kept to serve to other customers). I would say that the hotel is over priced, in poor condition and scarcely staffed. I would not encourage others to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwest03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Rooms have been refurbished. Your unused wine was marked on the label for your use and put in the fridge. We would not consider re selling .
Many thanks for your considered comments. We look forsard to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
586 reviews
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing