We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not so cheerful!”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We wanted somewhere for a one night stop over and this was a cheap deal.

At £94 per couple for dinner, bed and breakfast we weren't expecting too much. However, a room you could swing a cat in with sheets that fit the bed, a bathroom door that locks, a shower head that didn't drop down and face the wall, pillows you could actually get some sleep on and a mattress that didn't flatten to the base when you sat on it would have been appreciated. We had the smallest shower room I've ever seen in a hotel! The towel rail was above the toilet therefore very difficult to reach and with the risk of dropping them into the toilet!

The dinner was acceptable for the cost although there were quite a few items no longer available. It would have helped if the waitress had managed to raise a smile. When we had our (very nice) breakfast, the plate with toast was placed on top of the plate with the butter and jam on it! Nothing really wrong with that but just a bit random!! The coffee finally arrived with no apologies for it being forgotten.

The singer in the bar area in the evening was not very good at singing the correct words or at hitting the high or the low notes. The bar was very nice and bright and airy with beautiful views across the loch. The dining room shared the same lovely view.

The girl on reception (she didn't have a name badge on) was exceptional and saved this review from hitting rock bottom. She managed to source me two extra pillows and was extremely helpful when we asked about walks around Arrochar. She was very knowledgeable and highlighted the routes we could take. She was a shining light for this hotel.

If you don't mind basic accomodation at a basic price then go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front and also ask to see your room before you check in. Avoid room 227.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MyraP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We aim to improve all aspects of your stay.
Many thanks for your comments
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
There are newer reviews for Arrochar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrochar hoilday yes it old and the room's are getting updated and you have to pay £10 for a room with a view but the view of the cobbler is worth it .Arrochar has stunning walk,s food fine breakfast lovely the staff are very attentive. But is worth the £££££ you get what you pay for all in all it's enjoyable ( Go for it)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you. We hope a lot of people will GO FOR IT.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked a suite for an over night stay for my daughter, my wife and myself.
Staff were friendly and attentive.
The suite was clean and nicely decorated.
The views from the suite were stunning, we looked out across Loch Long and on to Ben Arthur.
Evening meal was tasty and presented.
The breakfast was awesome and set the 3 of us up for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Delighted you enjoyed for break and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading some recent reviews of this hotel (after we had booked) we had our misgivings. Yes the room could have been better as in wall paper coming away from the wall and signs of mould behind the shower screen door and the bed rather hard proberly an old mattress, but it was only one night.

The meal we had in the dining room was excellent piping hot did not have to wait between courses and very reasonable priced. The staff all very friendly and helpful the breakfast again very good.

The views from the bar and dining area are stunning although our room was at the back but that was for sleeping so was not bothered.

We would be happy to go back I would say that if anyone was to use as a base to explore nearby Loch Lomand and the Trossachs it would be ideal but then I would ask for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Loch if staying more than a night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We are dilighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The journey to this hotel is filled stunning views. We arrived promptly and were offered a room at the back or to upgrade to a room with a view of the loch for £10 extra per night, which we took. It was a lovely view out of most of the window. We were pleased to find a place which took dogs.

As we had a dog with us we had to eat outside on one of the three tables on a corner of grass if we wanted a meal so we spoke to the bar staff and ordered.... more than 45 minutes later we had to go in search of our food!! The staff said he had no idea we were outside despite us having said that clearly and having the dog!! The menu was deceptive as it had two price brackets - the cheaper one - which was expensive enough t be the real cost - was actually only a supplement if you had already paid for a meal!!! The larger amount was the real price! I was sad not to have local people staffing the place, but I guess that is unfair in this day and age. Our room was spacious and clean but the corridors were creaky and could have done with a bit of a spruce up and nice pictures etc. Could be easy to make this a really nice place. Some reviewers have commented about negative staff - we found the staff very friendly but a bit 'exchange-studenty' to be very efficient. Breakfast was good with a nice choice including haggis and black pudding if we wanted it!

You get wifi code free by asking at reception.

It's a great central base to discover some beautiful local sites around Loch Lomand and Inveraray Castle (well worth a visit). All in all a nice stay but could have been a little better.

Room Tip: Try for loch view - but we had to pay extra
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you commenting on your stay. We aim to improve and take your comments seriously.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

First have to mention we stayed at the hotel after buying a deal on Groupon so value was good. Thats the last positive thing to be said about the hotel.
When we arrived the receptionist advised our room wasn't very nice but we could pay for an upgrade. That wasn't a good first impression.
As warned the room was tiny with only 4 hangers on a tiny rail to store clothes. Didnt appreciate that they charged for wifi either. The bed was also uncomfortable.
The meal we had consisted of supermarket samosas served cold, fish pie that was 80% cold under cooked mash and hot chocolate fudge cake served with (a teaspoon) of cream and - again- cold. I asked the waitress (an eastern european lady) if it could be served hot to which i got the short reply: 'no'
We did not come accross one friendly member of staff. The less than mediocre food and shabby pokey room could have easily been forgiven if only the staff made us feel welcome.

Arrochar itself is beautiful but this hotel is a big let down. Really could do with someone taking over the management so this hotel (which is so beautifully positoned by the loch) could reach its potential.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to this hotel in April 2014 and stayed 3 nights. The first room had a radiator which banged all night - so we got a different room. Our friends had a room that smelled awful. Some evenings we waited in the bar for 10 minutes for a barman so we could get a drink. Meal in on the first night was so tasteless that we went out the other nights. Most of the hotel is old and in need of some tlc.

Room Tip: Ask for a double in the newer part
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulE130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing