We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Dinner bed and breakfast. Staff all lovely ... Mark in dining room and Sergio on reception ... Food great ... Excellent value for money... Very clean. Loch view room 125 superb. Nice relaxing break ... Entertainment finished 10.30... We stayed till midnight other guests friendly good atmosphere. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the comments. it was a pleasure having you here
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
There are newer reviews for Arrochar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Arrochar Hotel, for DB&B. On checking in we had arranged for dinner at 8.00. We had a drink at the bar and then went through to restaurant, we stood about for a bit before anyone came to speak to us with a queue of people behind us, they eventually showed us to a table.

We were shown to our table, and the menu was explained to us, we could have the set menu but if we chose anything else from the other menu we had to pay the extra, fair enough. We waited more than 1/2 hour for our soup to come which was "allegedly" Cullen skink, this was just like hot milk with cream added to it and with only a couple of bits of fish, which incidentally was from the other menu and we would have to pay extra for this. We sat and waited for a waitress to bring our main course, there were also other people in the restaurant also waiting. At about 9.00pm we had still not been served our main course, and finally we managed to get a waitress to ask what was happening with our food. Her reply was "we have a coach party of 50 in and we have to deal with them first". How are they different from us, after all we are paying guests as well, at that point we just left. We went to reception to complain and to tell them to deduct dinner from our bill which they did do. If they had told us at the start of the meal that we would have been waiting for so long, we wouldn't have bothered. We eventually had to go out to another restaurant to eat as we weren't prepared to wait any longer.

Our room was basic, there were cobwebs on the ceiling from the light to the wall also damp patches. All in all not a very nice experience. Unless you are part of a coach party then you don't seem to get the same attention. We wont be back.

Room Tip: don't know you can choose a room as they seem to be allocated to you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are also dissapointed with your experience as we endevour to supply the best in every department.
We hope you will reconsider someday to return to this stunning location .
Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Most things were ok. The location is lovely, the building is good (very old and squeaky but nice), and the staff are very friendly. We were also promised and delivered a stunning view of the loch. However our bed was broken and the housekeeper had obviously just picked up the dirty towels off the ground and folded them up as if fresh. Overall a nice stay though.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent two nights here, with a splendid view over the loch and 'The Cobbler', walks alongside the Loch very pleasant. The weather was fantastic white fluffy clouds and clear skies. The room was a reasonable size with a table and chair, the furniture was in good condition, clean but storage space was a bit limited. We didn't unpack as we only had two nights. The bathroom was rather on the small size,when on the toiletthe roll holder was pretty much under your armpit, the door swing was close to the toilet seat and the sink was small as a normal size one would not fit. Other than that the stay was fine. The staff were all Ok and so were the meals. Would happily stay again, we were in room 129.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel was easy to find being situated at the very end of Loch Long in Arrochar. There was plenty of parking available. A lovely quiet spot across the road from the Loch. Our room was comfy and a good size although the floor boards were squeeky. I had trouble with the tap on the.shower and they came up straight away to help. The wifi was good and we had a lovely breakfast. There was a lift so we didn't have to drag our cases up stairs. The restaurant had some nice meals although my husbands lamb shank was rather small.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and everything was perfect, even the weather. The staff were very helpful and polite and the waiting staff very attentive. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and the views from the window were spectacular. The meals were also very good. I would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a beautiful view of the Loch and hills.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you PAT R for your comments. We enjoyed your company and look forward to you, once again, sharing our hospitality and enjoying the stunning scenery of Arrochar and Loch Long
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed overnight at the Arrochar on our tour of Scotland. It was clean and tidy and very welcoming. You get what you pays, beds were comfortable, room was Ok in size etc, shower a little feeble. Food good, service good, entertainment for the evening OK if you like that sort of thing - I dont. Great views across Loch Long. Not alot to do in the village at night.
Good hotel great as an overnight stop, would go back, for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible if the entertainment is on and you want an early night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triumphbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I hope you will llok us up again in the not too distant future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing