We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road trip to Orkney”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Road trip to Orkney”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Only stayed one night-a twin and a double room.Single had no view and a smell from the kitchen.Twin had a side view.Rooms were clean and a little tired.Staff were fine.Breakfast was very good.Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    401
    255
    145
    110
See reviews for
116
663
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in a double room, which was small but fine for one. The bathroom facilities were adequate and I managed to get a parking space without any trouble. That's the good part.

My room was on the East side of the hotel and overlooked the road. It was a very hot day and with no aircon in the room I needed to keep the window open, but had a poor night's sleep due to the traffic passing right outside.

The worst part of the stay was the staff. I only dealt with one member of staff but he was by far the most unhelpful member of staff I have ever come across anywhere, in my entire life!

When checking in I explained that I wouldn't be staying for breakfast the following morning as I was competing in a triathlon at 7am, and asked if it would be possible just to get a couple of bananas to take away instead.

The member of staff, who was perhaps Southern European, responded "No, I couldn't guarantee that would be possible", which basically meant "I'm not even going to bother finding out for you"

Despite being shocked at this reply, I summoned up the strength to ask one further question, the location of the Ardgarten Hotel, and explained that this was where my race was to commence. His response was "Maybe on the other side (of the loch), I don't know, maybe you could ask one of the other guests?!"

Seriously, using Google or asking a colleague was clearly too much trouble for him!

An establishment is only ever as good as the weakest link in it's chain of staff. In the case of the Arrochar hotel, this member of staff should be disposed of before he costs them further business and ruins their reputation. With a choice of various other hotels and B&B's in the area, I would certainly never go back.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the East side due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spartan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Many thanks for your comments.
The staff memeber failed to understand your request and for this both he and i apologise.
We hope you were succesfull in your Triatholon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

In a great spot overlooking Loch Long, rooms are old but clean and comfortable. Hotel has lift. Very popular with bus tours. Decided to eat in as there was not a great variety available locally. We were to rue this decision as the roast beef, that came with ringing endorsement from both staff and a couple of guests we spoke to, was one of the worst meals we have had for some time. The beef was grey and tough, the Yorkshire pudding soggy and the white wine warm. Unfortunately breakfast was not much better. The young staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We aim to please and do not normally have negative comments regarding the food. We take on board your comments and will endevour to insure your experience is not repeated.
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked the night before on our drive around Scotland. The first room was hideous, tiny, curtains that barely drew and a view of the gas canisters. The hotel concierge was very helpful and gave me various keys to different rooms to look around and after offering to pay a little more was give a key to room with loch views which was lovely. The room had just been decorated with new curtains and furniture which then made it worth the £95 for a night. This hotel could easily be made into a lovely hotel if just upgrades the rooms, paint the old fashioned doors and make more of the lobby/bar area as it is in a lovely setting. The breakfast was poor in quality and choice - again a few minor changes such as offering fresh natural yoghurt, local honey, local produce which would make it more a 3* rather than 2*.
Staff were friendly and thank you again to the man on reception who pulled out the stops to accommodate us.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank for your comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent two nights in the Arrochar Hotel and overall had and excellent stay with great value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful and were obviously well trained in customer service. Meals were well cooked, tasty and seved on heated plates which was a bonus. We ordered poached eggs on toast and this presented no problem and was delicious. Often when you order something not on set menu it presents a problem but not so. Our room 131 was comfortable and very clean, with a reasonably open view despite not overlooking the loch. There was a fabulous view from the lounge area over the loch which was spoiled a bit by the fact the windows were not That apart, we had a really good break and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
The pleasure was ours. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Dinner bed and breakfast. Staff all lovely ... Mark in dining room and Sergio on reception ... Food great ... Excellent value for money... Very clean. Loch view room 125 superb. Nice relaxing break ... Entertainment finished 10.30... We stayed till midnight other guests friendly good atmosphere. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the comments. it was a pleasure having you here
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night at the Arrochar Hotel, for DB&B. On checking in we had arranged for dinner at 8.00. We had a drink at the bar and then went through to restaurant, we stood about for a bit before anyone came to speak to us with a queue of people behind us, they eventually showed us to a table.

We were shown to our table, and the menu was explained to us, we could have the set menu but if we chose anything else from the other menu we had to pay the extra, fair enough. We waited more than 1/2 hour for our soup to come which was "allegedly" Cullen skink, this was just like hot milk with cream added to it and with only a couple of bits of fish, which incidentally was from the other menu and we would have to pay extra for this. We sat and waited for a waitress to bring our main course, there were also other people in the restaurant also waiting. At about 9.00pm we had still not been served our main course, and finally we managed to get a waitress to ask what was happening with our food. Her reply was "we have a coach party of 50 in and we have to deal with them first". How are they different from us, after all we are paying guests as well, at that point we just left. We went to reception to complain and to tell them to deduct dinner from our bill which they did do. If they had told us at the start of the meal that we would have been waiting for so long, we wouldn't have bothered. We eventually had to go out to another restaurant to eat as we weren't prepared to wait any longer.

Our room was basic, there were cobwebs on the ceiling from the light to the wall also damp patches. All in all not a very nice experience. Unless you are part of a coach party then you don't seem to get the same attention. We wont be back.

Room Tip: don't know you can choose a room as they seem to be allocated to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are also dissapointed with your experience as we endevour to supply the best in every department.
We hope you will reconsider someday to return to this stunning location .
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Property: Arrochar Hotel
Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing