We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night only”
Review of Arrochar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrochar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 25 August 2014

glad it was only for one night ,rubbish room overlooking the rear of the hotel,with views of the septic tanks and an old toilet,the actual room was worn out and tired,we ate in at the hotel we were advised that it gets very busy,i cant see why ,our meal was very poor,we wont be returning

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mekquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Sorry for your dissapointing stay. We do have some of the most stunning scenery around and we hope you will return to enjoy it.
We do not have sceptic tanks.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Arrochar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

A great place to stay, especially if you're a nature lover, we only stayed one night arriving in the evening and it was already dark and wet, tired after a whole day travelling. As a hotel it's good even as a breakfast although they had some problems with the hot water and we couldn't shower. But it was well worth as I'm an early riser and as I saw the morning scenery I forgot everything and after having a cup of tea I went out to get some great camera shots.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinceMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Mnay thanks for your comments . We hope you will come back again to share this wonderfull scenery with us
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent a weekend in the Arrochar Hotel earlier this month which we booked through Easybreaks. This was a great hotel in a beautiful location on the shores of Loch Long. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean and our room had a wonderful view of the loch. We were half board and the food was plentiful and tasty, service in the dining room on the first night was a bit on the slow side but we were not in a hurry so not a problem for us. The hotel had entertainment on the Saturday night (singer) who was quite good. This is not a five star hotel but it doesn't pretend to be, it's a decent hotel giving excellent value for money, overall a very enjoyable break and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Bfmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

A pleasure having you here. Thank you for the comments and we look forward to your return
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good value for money on a DBB inclusive rate. The rooms are modern and bright with comfortable beds and good bath and rainwater shower (at least in room 224). Breakfast was fine and dinner was quite good also; the restaurant has great views over the loch. The hotel is in a great position so if you get a room on the front the view is excellent. My rating is only average as the whole experience was let down by the bar and lounge area which have no atmosphere at all. Far too bright with big ceiling lights; a few small table lamps would improve things no end. It's also necessary to make your way past the smokers outside the main hotel entrance door which is not pleasant. Perhaps a designated area away from the hotel? The Village Inn down the road has a great atmosphere if you want a pre or post dinner drink.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the front have a great view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We generally leave the lights on when people are eating and lower them when the music starts.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently stayed at The Arrochar Hotel for 2 nights. At £35 PP including (a good) breakfast, comfortable beds and a fantastic location, it's good value for money. The room was clean and the staff helpful. This is primarily an 'over-night bus tour' hotel but it was quiet and breakfast never felt over-crowded or too busy. The hotel seems to be run very efficiently.
On leaving, we saw in some of the more higher priced rooms(rooms 111 &112) and they looked excellent.
We ate on both evenings at The Village Inn nearby, which served good food at a reasonable price (approx £20 each). The highlight to our stay was hiring a bike for £13 at Tarbet and cycling to Luss along Loch Lomond and then taking a 30min boat cruise around the Loch for £6. Not that i'm obsessed with prices or anything!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. Our 2 star rating is a historical and due for upgrading.
We look forward to your return
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on the first mori no hot water was told the boiler need tui up but still no hot water not very helpful on the second morning still no hot water this time the night potter informed use that it was a electric problem and the management new of this it was on the said of the hotel we were in and not fixed on sat we we were not told of this on the sat night or moved to a new room
On the sunday morning when we call the recipient desk the night potter said we could use a room on the first floor for a shower we would have to dress and go to this room and come back and dress we can use a room on the first floor we would have to get dressed and go to the first floor showed and than go back to the second floor room to finish off getting dressed for breakfast l think this was not good enough


Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, major mecahnical problems , which was fixed on Saturday but re occured sSat Night, is something we cannot account for especially over a weekend. We freed up four rooms for use of those affected by the problem but they cannot always be near your room.
appolgies once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nicely situated on the banks of the loch, the hotel is, sadly, typical of so many depressing two and three-star hotels in Scotland, with cramped rooms and walls as thin as Kleenex. In the morning, oh, joy, there was no hot water, even though one followed the instructions to let the taps run. Frankly, one could have emptied the loch before a drop of hot water was likely to emerge. Check-in took an age, too.....

The place is adequate, if cheaply-bought; but for the bones of £60 a night one could expect, if not a palace, then better than this...

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Killee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveColll, General Manager at Arrochar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We treat all guest in the same manner and try to make their stay as comfortable as possible .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrochar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrochar Hotel

Address: Main Street, | Argyll & Bute, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrochar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently situated at the very foot of the ‘Arrochar Alps’ on the shores of Loch Long, the Arrochar Hotel is only two miles from Loch Lomond and is ideal for a relaxing break or great to discover some of Europe’s finest scenery. A warm welcome awaits guests. Step into the former coaching inn and soak up the peace and tranquillity for which the Scottish Highlands are famous. Guests can relax with a fine malt whisky in the lounge bar, before dining in the restaurant with magnificent Loch Views The nearby harbour at Balmaha is ideal for sailing and water sports and there is a championship golf course at Loch Lomond. Walking and hiking are also popular activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arrochar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrochar Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing