We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and fresh food”
Review of Ben Arthurs Bothy

Ben Arthurs Bothy
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Arrochar
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional friendly Scottish pub. Bar area has a pool table, two televisions showing sport during the day on BT sport and Sky Sports. A Jukebox at night for music entertainment. Food is also served in the bar. The Lounge area, has stunning Views of Loch Long and the Arrochar Alps. We serve lunch and evening meals. Entertainment through out the year including our New Year party. We pride ourselves on Excellent customer service and delicious food served, Which brings our customers back time and time again.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and fresh food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This does not look much from the outside but go in and through to the lounge bar and you are met with a beautiful view of Loch Long. This is not a big place and is very informal but the food is freshly prepared, reasonably priced and largish portions. Enjoy a snack or main meal whilst overlooking the loch. On a nice day they also have a deck area with a number of tables for eating or drinking outside. Friendly staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RHGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    90
    30
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Food was very good but we did have to wait quite a while we were the only ones in there when we arrived but a lot of people were there when we left. The food was worth waiting for. Did not think the hosts were particularly friendly but maybe it was because we were English

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ray1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Surprised by the quality of the food in this pub.

The pub has nice views over the lake and that is the reason we decided to try it out.
The food was very good, with typical dishes for pubs local and international.

I enjoyed specially the Cumberland sausages with mashed potato.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonasAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typically Scottish”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic view in a cheap and cheerful typically cheap Scottish pub. Food was not too good, but it's not expensive and staff were friendly and nice.

Helpful?
Thank marathon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepperland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rude and argumentative staff, indifferent and overpriced grub. I won't be going back!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I occasionally visit this place with friends from my diving club. It's conveniently situated on the way back from dive sites at Loch Fyne and Loch Long. I've always thought that the food was a bit 'meh' ... overcooked, unimaginative, stodgy and poor value for money i.e. it's expensive considering how badly it's cooked and presented.
Today, about 12 of us visited at about 4:00 after a day diving in Loch Fyne and we all ordered (overpriced!) food and drinks and sat at the really shabby and uncomfortable high backed chairs waiting patiently. The food eventually arrived.... except for my wife's!
She waited and waited having to ease her hunger pangs by pinching everyone's chips and onion rings. After 20 minutes or so, she asked where her food was and was told that she hadn.t ordered any. She had and had the receipt to prove it!
So after many sulks, they reluctantly agreed to cook her food. For the record, it wasn.t anything complicated or elaborate. It was burger and (flabby and greasy) hand cut chips. After 10 minutes or so, we had all finished our food and wanted to leave for the long drive home and to watch the World Cup final.
So my wife told them that she didn.t want to wait any more and asked politely for her money back so she could leave with us. The staff ( I think it was the manager ) were really unhappy about this and continued to argue with my wife saying that the food was in the process of being cooked and tvat she had to have it.
My wife remained adamant and, eventuall, was given a refund and we left.
Awful furniture and decor, awful staff, awful and overpriced food.
The only positive aspect of this awful place is the stunning views across Loch Long up to The Cobbler.
Maybe they think that this allows them to deliver such poor service.
I'll not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank mister_mustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben Arthurs Bothy also viewed

Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Ben Arthurs Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing