We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lochside Guest House
Ranked #4 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Lochside Guest house really is lochside and has stunning views across the water. We had the family room - two adjoining rooms out of three or maybe four rooms in recent extension to an older building. While the rooms were comfortable and the shared en suite smallish but ok, we found the rooms extremely noisy. One of the rooms was immediately behind the reception office separated only by an ordinary door, ours was next to that one. Road noise, people talking in the carpark noise, people clip-clopping down the wooden corridor noise, front door opening and closing and office phone ringing noise, next door room noise ( TV, talking & snoring ) as well as upstairs walking around noise. It all sounded as if it was in the room with us.

Every time the front door was opened or closed our door rattled in its frame even though it was closed and locked.

We told the one of the staff about the noise and were told it was a recent build and the owner would be told. It is a real pity as the view is spectacular. Given it is a lack of sound insulation, short of re-doing the extension there would be little that could be done about it.

Maybe the older and therefore more solid section would not have presented the problems we had.

The breakfast was pretty good, the haggis was excellent - terrible coffee though. The dining room did not have enough space for all the guests to eat together and we had to wait about 15 minutes. The staff were very good and apologetic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struttingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Great guest house. Only stayed one night but found it clean, well appointed and all the staff were so welcoming (Diane the manager is lovely). The view over the loch from our room was fantastic and the breakfast was great (very generous portions). We'll definitely be going back and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I have passed on your breakfast complement to Will our breakfast chef. Diane is a great host she loves to look after her guests. Thank you for recommending us that's a great compliment.

Best Wishes
Heather and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at the Lochside guest house last week with my wife and young child. We had a fantastic time there. I would like to say a big thank you to Diane who was lovely and really helpful. We stayed in the apartment above the bar which was stunning. This is a clean, well run guesthouse/hotel with lovely staff and the views over Loch Long are simply Priceless!
Thanks again, Ryan,Chantal and Ciaran

Room Tip: Rooms at the Back have Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the sun was even shining ! The flat is very poplar, plenty of room and amazing views. hope to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Heather and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we have just spent 2 nights at the lochside guest house.on arrival we were met by diane who was very welcoming.Having had a bad experience with accommodation in Glasgow we were a bit on our guard as to what this accommodation would be like .We didn't need to fear.we were shown to the flat above the bothy which although it is primarily meant for a large group e.g 4 bedrooms all en suite lounge and kitchen Diane said it was ours as this was a special occasion ( Tricia's birthday).The view from the balcony was stunning to say the least.breakfast was included and meals at the bothy as well as drinks were very reasonable.All in all great place great scenery great hospitality.Thankyou to Diane and Heather for making our stay so memorable.Len and Tricia

Room Tip: look at reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilburylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Len and Tricia

Thank you for your review. We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay, we tried our best to make your stay enjoyable after your not so good experience in Glasgow. Hope you visit us again.

Best Wishes
Heather and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here for one night taking 2 rooms and enjoyed our stay here. We had 2 rooms, one of which was a good size, had an excellent tv and had good views of the loch. The other room was slightly disappointing as there were no bedside tables and the room was next to the road which meant it was noisy. I would therefore say that not all of the rooms are of the same standard but perhaps they are priced slightly differently – I can’t remember.

Lochside is in a good location, on the shores of a loch with a couple of pubs and a shop within walking distance. Loch Lomond is a 5 minute drive away and the nearest major settlement about 20 mins away by car. Lochside is next door to a pub which although a little run - down does good food and you get a £10 discount voucher for food in the pub with every room. As we had 2 rooms, we got £20 off our evening meal which was great. There is another pub at the other end of the village but they were fully booked, so I recommend you book there in advance if you want a meal in that pub. Our hosts were welcoming and gave us some advice on what to see and do. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice too, although a couple of requests were forgotten. I would say that Lochside is more of a hotel than a b & b and is run more as a business than a passion, but still we would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DanMartin1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, Sorry you where not in a room with a view. Hopefully you will visit again and be able to enjoy a room with a view.

Kind Regards
Heather and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Lochside Guest House is rather a hotel than a B&B and its location at Loch Long is stunning. The house is connected to a pub where one can have food and drinks. The level of comfort one experiences depends on the type of room one gets (the many rooms differ in size and view). The hotel has potential if the service is improved: our toilet was not clean; we could not connect with the WiFi internet; we had to wait for almost 45minutes for our breakfast although we arrived at the indicated time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeinDiesenHier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had some issues with your stay, we do not like to hear our guests are not entirely happy with there stay. Unfortunatlly we are having a few problems with our internet at the moment. We take on board all your comment with a view for improvement. Should you wish to stay with us again, we will endevor to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Heather and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Myself and two daughters stayed for 1 night in the family room. It was beautifully decorated and very large. Fantastic value for money as I would have had to book two rooms elsewhere. Lovely tea next door in Ben Arthur's bothy. Stunning view from our bedroom window and from the outside decking area. Lovely cooked breakfast. Would definately recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank SharpyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochsidebb, Manager at Lochside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. The family room your were in is very popular plenty of room an great views. I am please you tryed our we pub next door the food is very popular and at a great price with stunning views into the bargain.
Hope you visit us again soon

Kind Regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
8.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside Guest House

Address: Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Guest House Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing