We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly guest-house with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lochside Guest House
Ranked #4 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly guest-house with great view”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for one night at the beginning of August 2013. Ours was room 4 which is a double with a fantastic loch-side view. The room was clean with a very comfortable bed, a compact ensuite, and a couple of chairs for enjoying the view. We could select when and what we wanted for breakfast, which was substantial and served in the bright and well prepared breakfast room, again with loch-side view. The staff were very warm and friendly, a real pleasure to do deal with. On the whole a great little guest-house!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    88
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
58
192
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived a little early (1.30pm) but the Manager got our room ready as soon as culd be arranged.
Fantastic scenery. We paid £150 for a double room with breakfast for 2 nights. The room was clean, bed comfy, and shower etc all seemed good.
WIFI was not available from our room :-( room 7.but we got a signal in the main bar.
The bar meals stop being served at 8pm so make sure you go earlier. You can wait a while for your order, but the food is really good and at reasonable prices.
Breakfast was really good, and very filling. Sets you up for the day!
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Nice room (7) but stairs are quite narrow. I mean depth not width. Elderly people may prefer not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stay here in July 2013 for one night. We couldn't have had a better start for our Scottish adventure. Simple everything was so perfect, clean, nice, good food and very helpful and friendly staff were nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karihenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had booked a twin room and we were given room 3. This room was far too small to be a twin. The beds were pushed together so it may have been a double room (there was not enough room to separate them). The ensuite shower room was tiny. The shower door did not even open fully because of the positioning of the sink. There was nowhere to hang towels, either in the shower room or in the bedroom. I slung my used towel on top of the wardrobe. There was no bedside locker so nowhere to put an alarm clock or glass of water. There was a curtain rail, but no curtains and the thin blind was inadequate to block out the light. I had thought about hanging the used towels on the curtain rail to make curtains but I'm not very tall and there was nothing safe to stand on. The windows overlooked the main road. I know it's not possible to provide every room with a stunning loch view, but surely they can provide the worst room with a loch view as compensation. However breakfast was very substantial and tasty. The staff were lovely, the young lady serving breakfast was particularly friendly and chatty.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 3, it's on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 for 1 night, I was with family and we had 2 rooms, a double and a single. The single was quite small but the double was a good size. Both were nicely decorated and clean. But the walls are quite thin so could hear people moving about early in the morning. There was a great view from the window over the loch. We had dinner at the pub next door and then sat on the seats by the loch watching the birds. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. I'd recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for a night just to get away from it all. Stayed in room 7 and had tremendous views over the loch. Bathroom very clean and breakfast was lovely!! The bar next door serves very nice pub food and enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with a wee drink. The staff in the bar and b&b were lovely and very courteous. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weeclootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales,Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Again single rooms are up lots of stairs. Room VERY SMALL and I mean SMALL. Nice having ensuite but did not make up for the room size.
Window open for air but woken at 1am by drunks.
Otherwise this B&B'S very nice. Lovely food both in evening and breakfast. Staff are wonderful, special mention to MAL for getting me an early breakfast, most appreciated.
All B&B's have problem with starting breakfast at late, does not suit us all.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,127 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside Guest House

Property: Lochside Guest House
Address: Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lochside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochside Guest House Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing