We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Drovers Inn
Nearby Hotels
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
US$79
US$75
Cancelon
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Claymore Hotel(Arrochar)
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
363
311
211
139
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
311
211
139
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrob roylive musichaunted roomstuffed beargreat atmospherehaggisgreat nightsteak pieloch lomondroaring firesaturday nightan overnight staywell worth a visitcharacterkiltstaxidermypub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We did not stay overnight and had only stopped by for a bite to eat.

The place for me was fascinating. It is old, dark and full of character helped by the lack of upgrading since it was probably first established over 300 years ago. The food was excellent and the price reflects this. Staff were easy going too.

As my title states, this place is stuck in a time warp. I guess that is what makes it interesting and why I would go back. If it were ever to shut then I would hope to visit it as a museum.

Don't go to this place if you are not of the open minded type as you will just get yourself in a state of annoyance and will waste the atmosphere of those enjoying it. This place is not trying to be something its not. You get what you see.

I would recommend to visit based on the food and the fun of being in a place stuck in time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I cant speak for the bedrooms however we Stopped for lunch on a stormy february day, both fires were burning and the atmosphere was amazing! The food was excellent and the staff were fantastic! Yes it's old and dingy but that is why I love it! If your a bit of a snob then don't bother stopping cause you will hate it!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie-the-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Characteristic bar. Very low standard accommodation. Service standards poor. Run by the staff for the benefit of the staff. Enjoy a drink and move on. Owner is very astute. Markets filth as history. If you have a poor water supply in your room turn up the stop valves under the sink. Must be turned down by the owner to save money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellerok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Booked the double jacuzzi room on a good price in the knowledge it has so many bad reviews. Dissapointing nevertheless. Bar, has character but needs a cleanup. Hotel, ......., needs closing down and overhauling. Character is nice but it has just decades of neglect visible.
We stayed in the main building, not the lodge. Room not too bad, except, ......, double jacuzzi had water which is not warm enough, bubbles did not work, each night whole night the fan of the kitchen audible, bed bottom failed on first night which was fixed next day (just fixed, it will break again), there was some noise fron other rooms (not too bad but I can imagine it could be noisy in high season). One day they started working in the morning on the scaffolding outside, erected to repair some exterior I presume, not nice.
Believe the reviews, not to be recommended until they overhaul the whole thing!
Believe

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

On a recent motorcycle tour of Scotland one of our party booked us here after previous visits.. A scan of tripadvisor concerned me and in general terms most comments are correct. It's tired, dirty, run down and basic to a level of hovel like... However, this misses the point.. The staff are great, the bar and atmosphere are fantastic and in reality it's just a bed to sleep in.. Sheets were clean and comfy pillow and mattress, leading to a great nights sleep..... Although I struggled with the lack of an en-suite....

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews