We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a great nice stay here. All the staff we came across were really friendly and the location is just perfect, right on the loch side with beautiful views. There is also a really nice walk up the hills behind the inn.

We had 3 meals here and all were really tasty (although the description didn't always quite match the menu). The food was fresh and portions were a good size. Very good choice for breakfast in the morning. We had room 2, request this one! The views from the bed are beautiful and it's just been redecorated to a high standard.

Only downside is that you can't set up a tab so have to settle up each time, not a big issue but would be good to be able to leave a deposit and then settle up on check out.

Room Tip: Room 2: Beautiful views over Loch Long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RB452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for a delightful review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    206
    74
    24
    27
See reviews for
86
377
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Sited on the banks of Loch Long, the Village Inn is a comfortable and friendly hotel. The food is good and reasonable priced. Unfortunately our room was at the rear of the hotel. No Loch views,but it has recently been refurbished. A very comfortable room.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you liked the décor and enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I haven't had the chance to stay or eat here so I cannot comment on either.... but for a good reason in my opinion.

They don't have online booking on the website, so I called the number provided to make a room reservation.

'Jackie' picked up the call and asked if I "could call back in half an hour as she was in the middle of something"!

Really?? I was stunned! Did I hear that correctly?? I'm afraid so.

She didn't even offer to take my number to call me back. Clearly don't need the business. Needless to say we'll be staying elsewhere!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
My sincere apologies that we were unable to deal with your telephone enquiry. Unfortunately at the time of your call we were experiencing a high volume of customers in the bar and restaurant due to the sunshine. Jacqui did not feel that she could of dealt with your enquiry professionally and asked if you could call her back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Decided since it was a lovely day on tuesday to go for a we afternoon run to the village inn,hoping to see Ann and Tony but it was there day off,so stayed for lunch and sat out in the garden,lunch was very tasty,staff were so attentive and we had a really peaceful chilled out lunch,with a great view of the loch hopefully visit again soon even for overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you Dawn & Michael for a delightful review. We are so sorry we missed you and we will hopefully catch up with you very soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice Inn in a lovely location. Friendly staff and hotel decor was quite nice. The food was fine, not brilliant!, but ok for pub food and a break.The dinning area was fairly dark and could have done with more light and if it was opened up a little to the front, the views while eating and drinking would be lovely.

Room Tip: If staying choose a room overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we will take on board your comments regarding the food and décor. I do hope this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for only one night, beautiful location, fantastic hotel, lovely food, staff very friendly. I would definitely recommend the village inn. The view from our window was superb. We had our evening meal here, haggis was very tasty! Our breakfast was lovely and very filling. Our bedroom had a view of the loch, it was a good sized room and I think it had been newly refurbished as all the furniture was new.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay. Its fantastic that your experience was consistently positive and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed a night on a short trip around Scotland. The location of the Village Inn was exceptional. What an outstanding view from our bedroom, out over the loch. The room was spacious and comfortable and the service was friendly. I would definitely stay again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Great review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 16 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 16 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional classic rustic style.We have 10 double bedrooms (some with large double ended baths!) in the main building and a further 4 bedrooms in the beautifully restored annexe building to the rear of the inn. The annexe has 3 double rooms and 1 twin room with 2 of these bedrooms being on the ground floor.The 2 superior rooms in the main building come with 4 poster beds and offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing