We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Scottish Hospitality”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After a long trip from Northamptonshire with our elderly parents we arrived to an excellent Scottish welcome at Arrochar. The rooms were very clean and fresh and appeared to have recently been refurbished. The food was very good and reasonably priced, but special mention has to be made of the friendly attention extended by all of the staff who were a credit to the establishment and made our stay all the more memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willross2014, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review.
Our team are delighted you had a lovely time with your parents.
We do hope you will come back and visit us in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great staff, good food. Nice size room, great blinds and curtain, so room was nice and dark. Wifi, not too bad, better downstairs in bar and restaurant. Helped with luggage (thanks James). Fitted us into restaurant for dinner, which is very busy with locals. Only issue, and a big one, was no pressure in shower. When I mentioned this in the morning, they had also had another guest say the same thing. They apologised, and would get it looked at. Overall very good, would stay again, and hopefully have a loch view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your great review , there was a small issue , which we have solved with the water pressure, please accept our apologies for that .
We hope you will come back and visit next time you are in the area.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014


Jackie (assistant manager) provided excellent customer service, warm and welcoming, showing an interest and we felt our custom was valued. The rest off the staff also were friendly and helpful.
Room 2 had a lovely view across the loch, comfortable bed with modern facilities. Maybe a wee bit overpriced but we would return.
Food at the restaurant was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for a lovely review. Jackie is delighted that you have mentioned her. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed local and unfortunately dinner wasn't available. However, our host recommended the Village Inn. Although it was extremely busy, you would never have known that by the staff manner. They were so nice and pleasant although the were rushed off their feet. They made us feel as if we were the only important customers in there and listening to the chat they were having with other customers, they were the same with them. The food was delightful with a very extensive menu. The portion size was so generous, we had no room left for desert. We would consider travelling to it again just for dinner/lunch. Worth an hour and a half drive. The price was less than £30 for 2 steak pie and potatoes/chips and two veg. Washed down with a soft drink and a pint. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. Our Team work very hard to delivery great service and delicious food and they have achieved that on this occasion. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We only ate here in the passing but the food was fantastic as was the helpful & polite staff. The Inn was packed, every table full but the level of service never dropped! Very reasonably priced too. Fantastic character in the decor & a homely feel. Will certainly return & stay here in the future. We were recommended this Inn by our b&b host Paula.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Craig_Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for a fantastic review. Myself and the Team are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My girlfriend and I have stayed twice and love it here. It is fantastic in every aspect! The rooms have been clean both time, the staff friendly and the food is top notch. The bar/pub section is also great and boasts a wood fire and a great selection of ales. The breakfast is also fantastic in the morning. There are always deals on for staying here and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lewandrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

What a wonderful review. The best place is Argyll WOW!! We are all delighted that every aspect of your stay was fantastic and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've just spent a night at the village inn after walking the cobbler. It's in a great location on the side of Loch Long and a great place to have a drink. The beer garden is perfect. The staff were very welcoming and the room was very nice(looks like it had just been refurbished). My only complaint is we were in room 5 which was on the ground floor and it sounded like Shrek was staying in the room above with the amount of thudding every time they walked.
I would advise booking a table if you stay for a meal as it gets booked up. It is definitely worth eating here as the food was very nice.
If your thinking of going i'd book the Village Inn, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor as it's a old building with very noisy floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villageinnarrochar, General Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for a delightful review. We have just had our rooms refurbished and they are looking good. I am sorry that the guest above you disturbed your peace but I am glad this will not put you off visiting us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Loch Long, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn, Arrochar has 14 en-suite bedrooms all of which provide fresh, comfortable and welcoming double accommodation. They are all tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional rustic style. Each room has tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. The 2 superior rooms in the main building offer stunning views over Loch Long and the "Arrochar Alps". We have a traditional Scottish pub on site serving local ales and a restaurant offering freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Arrochar
The Village Inn Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing