We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most comfortable beds we've slept in- and dog friendly too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent a couple of nights here on our way further North and had a great stay.
Our dog enjoyed playing on the beach opposite Burnbrae and wlaking in the hills behind (go up from the playground opposite the church)
The room was large with a very good bed and very clean.
I particularly enjoyed the home made jams and marmaldes for breakfast and the option of kippers for breakfast (my wife doesn't appreciate the aroma when I cook kippers at home)
Also very pleased, surprised and slighlty shamed to recieve in the post the items I'd carelessly left behind, thank you for this!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norehearsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope Gallilea had a fun time on holiday!. I am glad you had a good stay with us, and that you received your parcel okay. Take care and I hope you decide to stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was my 1st visit to Scotland,so i didnt really know what to expect! I had an unbelievable stay with Janice and Gordon.I have never eaten so much beautiful food! There was so much choice at breakfast that it was hard to decide,so my 2 night stay was not long enough to try everything.Janices homemade preserves are a definate must,so dont go filling up on homemade scottish porridge,salmon with scrambled eggs or traditional scottish breakfasts!! We stayed in the spacious beautiful art-deco inspired twin room,which was spotlessly clean,as was the bathroom.We had everything in our room provided,from hairdryers to shoe cleaning kits to games to even cotton ear buds.The views from the bedroom window were to die for.I didnt realise a mountain could change so many colours in such a short time!!! There were plently of leaflets in the room advertising places of interest,a comfy sofa where you can enjoy a glass of sherry and chocolates while watching tv or dvds,plenty of choice for tea,coffee etc.I was even bought a jug of "green" milk as im not a fan of "blue" milk!! We felt extremely spoilt by the views,food and comfort and have already planned our next stay next year in the spring,but for longer. I truly feel as though some people from previous reviews could not have possibly stayed in the same Burnbrae as us.Our time in Scotland was outstanding!!!!! Cant wait to visit again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboop32x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for such an eloquent review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Burnbrae and we look forward to meeting you and your mother in the spring for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very well located B&B on the shores of Loch Long. Spacious and well appointed twin room with a good view of the loch. All guest accessories had been considered together with a good DVD and CD collection being provided. Beds weren't hugely comfortable though. Breakfast was tasty (very good kippers) although if you're not of a chatty disposition in the morning you may not like having to share your breakfast table with other guests. Janice also put together a hearty pack lunch for us for our day's walking. The only reservation we have was the overpowering smell of glade plug-ins to disguise the smell of cigarette smoke. Also, our bed sheets smelt of cigarette smoke which combined with the air freshners was quite nauseating and for that reason we probably won't be back. A shame because otherwise it did the job.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NRCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for responding although am quite suprised as to the comments. They differ so much from your comments in our Visitors book. "Lovely stay" comes to mind. I am sorry you were affected by the smell of smoke but we do have a smoker in OUR HOME, you must have an extra sensitive nose, or maybe an ex smoker? We do try to block the smell - perhaps a little too zealously There are no air fresheners in the rooms only one at the bottom of the stairs. Perhaps someones perfume?
The plug-in in the room is to stop biting insects eg midges gnats etc. - NO SMELL to humans. I hope you find a B & B to suit your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed with Janice at Burnbrae B & B for 3 nights, we found the room to be spacious and well appointed with a good size bathroom. After a long day out it was good to be able to come back and relax on a sofa with a sherry and sweets. Janice provided a very good breakfast, with a choice of cereals, juice, yoghurts, refreshing melon and fruit, hot breakfast was what you desired, full scottish, poached eggs and bacon or even kippers, all delicious, plus fresh coffee or a port of tea. We enjoyed being able to look out of the windows (bedroom & dining room) and watch the birds on the feeders and aso the water birds on the loch. Off street parking is also a bonus.
I have to agree/DISAGREE with Charlie C, there is a slight cigarette smell in the entrance when you walk in from outside, BUT there was NO cigarette smell upstairs or in the dining room and our clothes where not effected.
We would recommend Burnbrae B & B
Rosanna and Peter
Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: Check for LARGE room with extra sofa or comfortable arm chairs
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in this b&b for just one night and booked it on the go just two hours before we arrived. The house doesnt look the best from outside but this gives the wrong impression. We found an extremely cute room with a lot of love in the detail, such as free sherry and and a good range of dvds and cds (and a cd player). The bathroom was very clean and relatively modern. The view was overlooking the loch with a country pub next door (one should prebook a table here). The lady was very friendly and made a fantastic breakfast. The only drawback for this room was that it smelled a bit like smoke, which we didnt like. We had a look at the other room which did not seem to have this problem, so maybe we just came at a bad timing. All in all definetely recommendable, one should have cash though, as the only cash machine in this village was not working.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XeniaandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Burnbrae is a great base if you want to walk in the Loch Long area. Located right on the banks of Loch Long and immediately next door to the Village Inn, the location couldn't be better. The twin bedroom is very spacious, the view from the shower is unbeatable and the breakfast is delicious.

However, I would have to agree with JMMartin_11's comment about the cigarette smoke smell - it is obvious as soon as you enter the property, and by the end of our two night stay all of clothes smelt of it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is not a standard bed and breakfast. The location is second to none - with just a quiet road between the B&B and Loch Long and the Cobbler on the other side of the Loch. Its also next door to a fantastic country pub with good food and friendly staff. We had the double room, great view of the loch and full of little extras you would not find in many a pricey hotel. There were cd and dvd players with a generous choice of films and music in the room to choose from. There were games in the drawers, a little jar of sweets and a decanter of sherry. The bed was extremely comfortable, we struggled to get out of it in the mornings. Janice was very happy to make whatever we wanted for breakfast, kippers, porridge, smoked salmon and scrambled egg were all wonderful. Not to mention the home made strawberry jam. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fascadail Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast

Address: Burnbrae Shore Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £85 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbrae is a 4-star bed & breakfast on the banks of Loch Long, overlooking the Cobbler (Ben Arthur). Central to all locations - Edinburgh, Stirling, Fort William, Oban and only 40 mins from Glasgow Airport. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the burn or the rustle of the leaves. Any dietary need met. Mooring available. Ideal honeymoon spot or a birthday or anniversary treat. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbrae Bed And Breakfast Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing