We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very mixed experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this B&B in August. The accommodation was excellent. The room was pleasant and spotless but dated. There were one or two nice touches such as Sherry and Chocolates provided in the room. Sadly the attitude of the patron was poor, the service we purchased was presented as a favour. We arrived to a stare while we unpacked and a dead pan face as we greeted her. There was an immediate "what did we want for breakfast?" Any change of mind or the slightest indecision caused head shaking and raised eyebrows. Suffice it to say the patron is mercurial, this was confirmed on the day we left. This was a day early. She was instantly all over us and was instantly solicitous. To this end I would add that we left the B&B early because of the weather and we paid the full amount for the nights we had booked. The financial aspects of our stay were not an issue, the unpleasant patron was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angsanaWincanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at this b&b overnight as a birthday treat for my other half and couldnt be happier with our stay. Janice was a great host and greeted us to a friendly welcome even though we ended up arriving an hour earlier than planned! Were asked what we wished for breakfast, tea/coffee etc and then shown to our room. We stayed in the double room. Loved the sleigh bed and the decor of the room. The room is a large size including a couch to sit on and even a beautiful dresser. Everything was pristine including the ensuite and everything you expect from a great b&b is provided. There is even a television with dvds provided and wifi if you require it. The view from the room is stunning and even with the scottish weather it doesnt disappoint. The village inn is right next door which comes in handy for going for food - but book a table in advance as it gets busy. The full scottish breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to set us up for the day. Cereals, fruit, yogurt and fruit juices are also provided. I definitely recommend trying out janices homemade jams and marmalades - delicious! Overall we had a fantastic time and we have already been discussing when we are going back, for few more nights next time. Janice couldnt have been more friendly and helpful and we look forward to visiting again. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My friend and I stayed two nights at Burnbrae and we really enjoyed it. The weather was perfect which helped, but the views over the Loch are to die for and there is a lovely pub next door with outdoor tables and chairs overlooking the fabulous scenery. Janice was a lovely host and made us welcome. She has thought of everything in terms of what a visitor might need and the room we were in was pristine. Breakfast was lovely - a well cooked full scottish, toast, cereals juice etc etc - really could'nt complain about anything.
The house is not far from Loch Lomond so we spent a day there, and the following day we visitied Inverary which is beautiful. I was really quite sorry to leave. My friend even had her photo taken with a man in a kilt who arrived at Burnbrae to take some guests on a tour....it made her holiday!
Thanks Janice - I hope to return some day!

Room Tip: There are two rooms - one double - looks lovely, and the twin that we had was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I am so pleased you and your friend enjoyed your stay We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northe West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Owner looked like she really didn't want us to be there - very frosty welcome- the house stinks of cigarettes - rooms clean but very dated. Hair in my breakfast and generally a dreadful experience. Location is good but that's about it! Never again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NortheWestSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The collection of Charles Rennie Mackintosh fine linens, ornaments and furnishings in the room bear testimony to the fact that Janice, the landlady, has put her heart and soul into this lovely b&b. Every item carefully chosen and cleaned to perfection.

On arrival, parking was easy, the twin room was spacious, well-appointed and immaculately presented. Janice took our breakfast order in advance, so that our wishes were amply catered for next morning. And as previous reviewers have commented, there was complimentary sherry and a bowl of sweeties. Doggie biscuits were even put out for our dog. We could not have wished for better or more fulsome care and attention.

But - one of our us was asthmatic and, as we discussed with Janice, no warning was given that this is a smoking/smoker's house. Had we known, we would not have booked. Consequently, it was a very uncomfortable experience and, as we had to sleep all night with all the windows wide open, one that we would not wish to repeat. Janice said she was sorry. She said that she had no idea of the potential difficulties for others.

I can only hope that Janice and her husband fit a good 24/7 extractor to their smoking/living area to put, and maintain, this superb b&b at the top of the rankings where it rightly deserves to be.

Room Tip: Two bedrooms on the first floor, at least one is a twin - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighWood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Burnbrae has a stunning location, over looking Loch Long, both bedrooms enjoy the superb views of the Loch. Janice, your hostess, is welcoming to her beautiful home and you soon feel ' at home'. My husband and I had chosen to have the double bedroom, which was actually a King Size sleigh bed. The room was stunning and needs to be seen to be enjoyed. A small decanter of sherry and glasses awaits on the coffee table, along with a bon bon dish of assorted chocolates to enjoy. A hospitality tray second to none, the list goes on! After a wonderful nights sleep, we then enjoyed a wonderful breakfast in a dining room that is exquisitely appointed, with every cereal and breakfast requirement set out, along with a selection of home made (delicious) preserves to lavish on the toast. Even the bill is tastefully presented! A stay with Janice at Burnbrae certainly ticks all the boxes. There is only one little niggle, which we never commented on at the time and that is the cigarette smell, which despite a pristine cleanliness and air fresheners, the smell remained in evidence, however, worry not Janice, we will return!

Room Tip: Whilst we had booked the double room, Janice did show us the twin bedded room decorated in Rennie Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Small B&B with only 2 rooms. Our room was large and extremely well appointed. Everything you could need was there, sherry for pre-dinner drinks, international chargers, sewing supplies, DVDs and CDs. The hostess was very helpful. The décor was, in our view, lavish to the point of extreme. However, this is simply a matter of taste. There was one major problem, the whole house reeked of cigarette smoke. As non-smokers, we found this offensive. It took days to get the smell out of our clothes!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2009_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast

Property: Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Address: Burnbrae Shore Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbrae is a 4-star bed & breakfast on the banks of Loch Long, overlooking the Cobbler (Ben Arthur). Central to all locations - Edinburgh, Stirling, Fort William, Oban and only 40 mins from Glasgow Airport. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the burn or the rustle of the leaves. Any dietary need met. Mooring available. Ideal honeymoon spot or a birthday or anniversary treat. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbrae Bed And Breakfast Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing