We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and not very well located”
Review of Rowantreebank B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowantreebank B&B
Ranked #16 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We traveled around the Scotland and stayed in different guest houses. It was the last and the worst, though to be truth - the cheapest. The owner is friendly and everything is OK with services. We needed the breakfast earlier that they served - and they made it for us. The owner is ready to help and welcome you warmly. But: we booked a double room (in reality it's a room for three people). The bed was terrible, old spring mattresses did not allow to sleep comfortably. And at 5 a.m. heavy tracks starts to move in the road. The window frames are single and all the sound from the outside is in the room. There is nothing in the shower - even no shower gel. And the breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia_Maximova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room. We'd booked a triple. Very clean and warm with a wonderful view of Loch Long. The only down side being, it was a bit small and the ceilings were a little low in places as it was an attic room. Clean and comfortable beds but we didn't sleep too good as the curtains didn't keep out the lamp post light, right outside our window ! Breakfast was plentiful, cereals and fruit juice then a full cooked breakfast. Very nice ! Good value for money, we'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandylouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a little cosy, nice, clean place. The family room upster had enough space for us, there was a confortable bathroom, and the view on the lock was just wonderful! And the full scottish breakfast was fresh and rich, everything was good. So it is a perfect address if you are sleeping in Arrochar - and looking for really great value accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeau62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had chosen this b&b as it was child friendly but was overall quite disappointed. There was a good loch view but the room was small, cold and not very clean. The bedding was faded and not very clean, the towels didn't match and it just felt they were doing the least possible to keep the place ticking over. The breakfast was average and compared to other b&bs we've stayed in not the best value for money

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-RP658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Travelling in a group we had a selection of rooms, all comfortably furnished and perfectly functional. Delightful lake view. Could have been a little cleaner. Would not advise the 4-course dinner offer at the local hotel, not worth the deal. Friendly and relaxed staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuliaboschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely and friendly b and b, very good value for money, comfortable bed, nice hosts. Made our dogs welcome too! Delicious breakfast - smoked salmon and scrambled egg for me and full Scottish for my partner. Gorgeous loch views and great location. Not enormous rooms but perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Loch view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We travelled perhaps on the worse day of the year to Arrochar as the Met Office issued red weather warnings due to gale force winds. Despite our train being cancelled and having to go by bus between Glasgow and Helensburgh, we were pleasantly surprised to be picked up by the owner from the train station in Arrochar. After some initial problems with the electricity (beyond the control of the owner as the entire village was without power), we had a quite enjoyable evening with candles all around in the B&B. Trying to find a place to eat when there's no power can be a daunting task, but we were very lucky to reach the Loch Long Hotel in dark and even though they don't allow dogs inside they were kind enough to give us free sandwiches. The B&B owner has a good meal deal with the Loch Long hotel (ask him). There's also the bothy that does allow dogs, but we did not have a good experience as we were scoffed off, smirked at and literally laughed at by the owner and their customers when I asked them if they served food in there. Back in the B&B we did have a cold night, but the owner was so thoughtful to leave thick blankets behind. The power switched back on just after we went to bed, so in the morning we could take a nice hot shower and enjoy their delicious breakfast. The B&B is ideally located for those who want to hike the Cobbler, and they are dog-friendly too. We can't praise the owner's friendliness and helpfulness enough. Despite the bad weather and power cut, staying in this B&B was a real treat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrochar hotels
0.1 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Benarthurs Bothy Luxury Flat
0.6 mi away
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 16 in Arrochar
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fascadail Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantreebank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantreebank B&B

Address: Rowantree Bank Rowantree Bank Rowantreebank | Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowantreebank B&B is a friendly, family run property overlooking Loch Long and the Arrochar Alps. The area is popular with walkers, fishermen, bird watchers and divers. We are just over a mile from Loch Lomond, 40 minutes from Glasgow airport and a great location to explore the West Coast from. We have single, twin, double and family ensuite rooms and offer a good choice of breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon. Dave & Angie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rowantreebank B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantreebank B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing