We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful”
Review of Rowantreebank B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowantreebank B&B
Ranked #16 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our host welcomed us warmly when we arrived for our hastily arranged last-minute break. There were issues with the room as mentioned in other reviews (decor a bit tired, portable TV in need of an upgrade, some noise & draft through the single glazed window), but we found the room generally clean, and no smell of damp (and plenty of hot water & tea/coffee making facilities). Agreed; some shower gel in the shower would be nice, but at the prices charged, I really can't complain too much.

Breakfast was generous (and the ordering system ingenious), hot, and on time. The view from the room across the loch to the mountains is superb.

If you're after a bit of luxury, then go to a hotel and pay double (and more). Personally, I enjoyed my stay and left without feeling I had been ripped off, which makes a pleasant change.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Cold room with a musty smell, peeling wallpaper. Cramped and uncomfortable. No hot water. Owner sarcastic, gave incorrect information about local inns. Incredible noise from 9.30 pm onwards coming from the "dining" room. People sat in coats having breakfast. Food inedible. Water dripping through ceiling.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realityisover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nice welcome and great location if you're planning on walking up the cobbler as I did. I've scored this poor due to numerous issues with the room. I ordered a double bed and got 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single mattresses. The room also had a damp musky smell.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshy2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We traveled around the Scotland and stayed in different guest houses. It was the last and the worst, though to be truth - the cheapest. The owner is friendly and everything is OK with services. We needed the breakfast earlier that they served - and they made it for us. The owner is ready to help and welcome you warmly. But: we booked a double room (in reality it's a room for three people). The bed was terrible, old spring mattresses did not allow to sleep comfortably. And at 5 a.m. heavy tracks starts to move in the road. The window frames are single and all the sound from the outside is in the room. There is nothing in the shower - even no shower gel. And the breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia_Maximova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room. We'd booked a triple. Very clean and warm with a wonderful view of Loch Long. The only down side being, it was a bit small and the ceilings were a little low in places as it was an attic room. Clean and comfortable beds but we didn't sleep too good as the curtains didn't keep out the lamp post light, right outside our window ! Breakfast was plentiful, cereals and fruit juice then a full cooked breakfast. Very nice ! Good value for money, we'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandylouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a little cosy, nice, clean place. The family room upster had enough space for us, there was a confortable bathroom, and the view on the lock was just wonderful! And the full scottish breakfast was fresh and rich, everything was good. So it is a perfect address if you are sleeping in Arrochar - and looking for really great value accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeau62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I had chosen this b&b as it was child friendly but was overall quite disappointed. There was a good loch view but the room was small, cold and not very clean. The bedding was faded and not very clean, the towels didn't match and it just felt they were doing the least possible to keep the place ticking over. The breakfast was average and compared to other b&bs we've stayed in not the best value for money

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-RP658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#6 of 16 in Arrochar
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Braemor B&B
Braemor B&B
#10 of 16 in Arrochar
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantreebank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantreebank B&B

Address: Rowantree Bank Rowantree Bank Rowantreebank | Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowantreebank B&B is a friendly, family run property overlooking Loch Long and the Arrochar Alps. The area is popular with walkers, fishermen, bird watchers and divers. We are just over a mile from Loch Lomond, 40 minutes from Glasgow airport and a great location to explore the West Coast from. We have single, twin, double and family ensuite rooms and offer a good choice of breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon. Dave & Angie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rowantreebank B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantreebank B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing