We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value in handy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowantreebank B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowantreebank B&B
Ranked #17 of 17 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Brighton, Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Value in handy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The landlord was welcoming and helpful. My single room was small and the establishment a bit tired and worn and in need of a spruce-up, but I felt this was acceptable given the price I paid through my online booking. If I peered out of the velux window in my top floor room there were great views of the loch and mountains - affording a very useful early-warning weather assessment for climbing Ben Arthur (The Cobbler) on the opposite side of the loch (Ben Arthur makes for an excellent walk - or scramble to the rocky summits for the more adventurous). Nice pub not far down the road for an evening meal. Good breakfast. The B&B is on a busy A-road which made it a bit noisy at night. Useful location en route to the Highlands. Not the most romantic of establishments but not a rip-off either.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms will suffer a bit from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    20
    15
    16
See reviews for
14
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was thrilled by the view from the window,normally when you get a reasonable priced B&B it tends not be be in such a perfect spot. The B&B owner showed nothing but warmth and kindness. Breakfast was very enjoyable. The room covered my basic needs and I had 2 nights great sleep, being a single room it was a good price but you do have a separate toilet,shower room only for use for those in room 2,other rooms have their own showers etc. Only downside was some noise from the next door when running the taps but I'd say theres more positives than negatives for the price.if you want everything perfect then you have to pay the price and in this day and age,is far more than folk can afford so I'd rather have the odd imperfections and a good price,good sleep than perfection and too costly. . I will return at some point and most definitely tell folk about the B&B for an affordable break and all your basic needs met. Thanks again for the hospitality.

Best Regards

Elaine

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langtonian_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our host welcomed us warmly when we arrived for our hastily arranged last-minute break. There were issues with the room as mentioned in other reviews (decor a bit tired, portable TV in need of an upgrade, some noise & draft through the single glazed window), but we found the room generally clean, and no smell of damp (and plenty of hot water & tea/coffee making facilities). Agreed; some shower gel in the shower would be nice, but at the prices charged, I really can't complain too much.

Breakfast was generous (and the ordering system ingenious), hot, and on time. The view from the room across the loch to the mountains is superb.

If you're after a bit of luxury, then go to a hotel and pay double (and more). Personally, I enjoyed my stay and left without feeling I had been ripped off, which makes a pleasant change.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Cold room with a musty smell, peeling wallpaper. Cramped and uncomfortable. No hot water. Owner sarcastic, gave incorrect information about local inns. Incredible noise from 9.30 pm onwards coming from the "dining" room. People sat in coats having breakfast. Food inedible. Water dripping through ceiling.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realityisover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arrochar hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nice welcome and great location if you're planning on walking up the cobbler as I did. I've scored this poor due to numerous issues with the room. I ordered a double bed and got 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single mattresses. The room also had a damp musky smell.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshy2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We traveled around the Scotland and stayed in different guest houses. It was the last and the worst, though to be truth - the cheapest. The owner is friendly and everything is OK with services. We needed the breakfast earlier that they served - and they made it for us. The owner is ready to help and welcome you warmly. But: we booked a double room (in reality it's a room for three people). The bed was terrible, old spring mattresses did not allow to sleep comfortably. And at 5 a.m. heavy tracks starts to move in the road. The window frames are single and all the sound from the outside is in the room. There is nothing in the shower - even no shower gel. And the breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia_Maximova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room. We'd booked a triple. Very clean and warm with a wonderful view of Loch Long. The only down side being, it was a bit small and the ceilings were a little low in places as it was an attic room. Clean and comfortable beds but we didn't sleep too good as the curtains didn't keep out the lamp post light, right outside our window ! Breakfast was plentiful, cereals and fruit juice then a full cooked breakfast. Very nice ! Good value for money, we'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandylouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.1 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 17 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 17 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#4 of 17 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rowantree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantreebank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantreebank B&B

Property: Rowantreebank B&B
Address: Rowantree Bank Rowantree Bank Rowantreebank | Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowantreebank B&B is a friendly, family run property overlooking Loch Long and the Arrochar Alps. The area is popular with walkers, fishermen, bird watchers and divers. We are just over a mile from Loch Lomond, 40 minutes from Glasgow airport and a great location to explore the West Coast from. We have single, twin, double and family ensuite rooms and offer a good choice of breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon. Dave & Angie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Rowantreebank B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantreebank B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing