We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, lovely views”
Review of Rowantreebank B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowantreebank B&B
Ranked #16 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed 1 night at Rowantreebank with 5 friends and my dog. Our rooms were clean and spacious enough and the owner volunteered to move furniture to accommodate my dog's bed.
The views over the loch were fantastic. The upstairs rooms were a little low ceilinged for some of my taller friends but this didn't cause a problem. Although the B&B is on the roadside we were not disturbed by traffic.

The cooked breakfast was delicious and catered for vegetarians too.
Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

I found the room to be clean and warm but what impressed me most was the cooked breakfast. I have been in B&B's up and down the country but never had a tastier or heartier breakfast thn this. Location is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathgateHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Great location and reasonable breakfast, but seriously let down by the cold, damp bedroom & en suite. Freezing (in august!) - message to owners - put the heating on..!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou6808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHeckle, Owner at Rowantreebank B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2009

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Rowantreebank. Having recently taken over the business we are constantly working to try to improve the standards. Since taking over we have made and continue to make many improvements and I am sure you would see a significant difference. In terms of the room being cold and the heating not being on in August I find it a little surprising that you would expect the heating to be on in the middle of summer however if you had asked for the heating to be put on then of course we would have done it for you. A message to all reviewers would be if you are not happy with something then please let us know. We can't do anything about it once you've left!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

In spite of the fact that in their website have three stars of the scottish tourist board, the truth is that it is a SWINDLE (you can send a email to visitscotland and you can to verify).
This b&b is dirty, old, smell to Dampness......HORRIBLE! dont let to be deceptive.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JUSTICE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidHeckle, Owner at Rowantreebank B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2009

I would like to apologise for any confusion caused by our website. We recently took over the business and with that inherited the website. Following your response I have ensured that the Visit Scotland logo and rating have been removed. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but feel your overall assesment is very harsh. Yes, the building is old (about 200 years) and with this come some challenges which we have addressed. The B&B is not and definitely was not dirty in any way. We are working hard to improve the standards since we took over and each year we progress further with our refurbishment. We receive a lot of positive feedback and returning guests which is a sure sign that things cannot be as dire as you suggest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykapuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arrochar hotels
0.1 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 16 in Arrochar
154 reviews
0 mi away
Benarthurs Bothy Luxury Flat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantreebank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantreebank B&B

Address: Rowantree Bank Rowantree Bank Rowantreebank | Main Street, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowantreebank B&B is a friendly, family run property overlooking Loch Long and the Arrochar Alps. The area is popular with walkers, fishermen, bird watchers and divers. We are just over a mile from Loch Lomond, 40 minutes from Glasgow airport and a great location to explore the West Coast from. We have single, twin, double and family ensuite rooms and offer a good choice of breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you soon. Dave & Angie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rowantreebank B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantreebank B&B Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing