We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice B+B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barton B&B

Barton B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barton B&B
Ranked #17 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Very Nice B+B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We arrived at Loch Lomond booked to stay elsewhere but due to a mess up at the Hotel we had to stay somewhere else and they recommended the Barton B+B.

It was only a short walk away from the "centre" of Balloch where the boat trips go to the Loch. We met Rose who runs the business, a very nice and friendly welcome, she showed us the room and went through the procedures and in we went.

The Barton has just 3 rooms for guests with off-street parking. Our room was up one flight of stairs and at the front. The room was big enough with a very nice bathroom and power shower ... we were only staying one night so did not need all the wardrobe and drawer space for unpacking.

Guests have their own separate entrance to the property which is also wheel chair friendly. Breakfast was the full Scottish affair with the usual trimmings.

A very nice and friendly stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portisheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Me and my partner went there this weekend for our aniversary and Rosemary made it that little bit more special. The room was lovely so was the bed it was so soft, the shower was just utterly devine so powerful i am already planning an other stay there with friends the breaky was amazing so fulling.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Lovely spacious room, clean bright and modern. The bathroom is beyond expectation with a superb shower with constant hot water. Our pine bed was really comfortable and the room was welcomingly warm to go back to after our long walk in the cold!!
Rose and Ian the owners could not do enough for us, their hospitality was second to none and the choice of breakfast ranging from many cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and full english breakfast was impressive to say the least. Whenever i am back in scotland i will most definiately be staying there again. Beautiful rooms and a great location with only a five minute walk to the loch with amazing scenery yet only a mere 20 minutes away from glasgow and many other attractions nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

From the lovely warm hearted greeting when i arrived to the genuine " safe journey home " farewell when we left, this B & B is by far the best I have ever stayed at!!
The rooms are quite simply beautiful and the en suite bathrooms very roomy, clean and spacious. The shower was blissfully warm and powerful, just how they should be.
A full hearty breakfast was served by the wonderful charasmatic Rosemary who not only is an excellent cook but also has a great wealth of knowledge of the area and was able to give us all the info we required for a great stay. Balloch is beautiful and really must be seen to be believed, especially at this time of year when the seasons change.

In summary;
Would I go back to Balloch?? Without a shadow of a doubt and am already planning my next stay in the new year!! Howevere, only if Barton B & B have vacancies!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed in the Barton B&B ont the way back from our holiday. Rosemary, the hostess and owner was very fiendly and warm-hearted. We stayed in all different kinds of B&B's and she was very sweet and interested in her visitors. A very helpful lady as we borrowed some DVD's to play in the room. Loved her Labrador Buddy as well!
She serves a good hearty breakfast wich included full cooked breakfast but also fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals - not all B&B's have that and it's very welcome to have more than the standard.
Good and clean rooms, roomy shower cabin with decent hot water. Nice touch to have curtains that really block the sunlight out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thijzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Lovely and modern rooms, very clean and comfortable, just everything you need and more.
Great location and a wounderfull host - Rose, very friendly and sweet.
Love her dog - Budi.

The best valu for money in the area!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farra di Soligo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Balloch is not a very nice village, but the lake is beautiful and quite.
Room is comfortable and clean, and the owner is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
0.1 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton B&B

Property: Barton B&B
Address: 12 Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing