We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminiscing”
Review of Sunnyside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunnyside B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reminiscing”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to break our trip to Skye in Balloch so I could do a little childhood reminiscing. Sunnyside is a lovely bed and breakfast with a very warm welcome from Lorraine and Frank. The room was very well presented, clean with plenty of tea and coffee in the room. We had arranged to bring our dogs and we were very surprise when Frank told us they had stripped the single bed and covered it in old blankets and sheets....just for them ....nice touch :-) Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and very fresh. There is ample of off road parking.
To a past reviewer who questioned why B&B owners have knick knacks and wallpaper borders, stating that all rooms should be plain and simple. B&B owners are generally welcoming you into their home, not a non-descript travel stop over that could be in any city, anywhere.
Sorry about the 3 star on the sleep quality........I like a soft bed, Angela prefers a firm bed...we beg to differ and voted for a half way house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershirePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Sunnyside B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. In the age of Keyboard warriors Trip Advisor management responses are in the main for negative reviews which is a shame really so, I decided to respond to your excellent review.
Both Lorraine and my self are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay here and its a please responding to your review.
Thank you once again.
regards,
Frank & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    93
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
116
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanbister, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful welcome from the hosts, who made us feel relaxed straight as soon as arriving. Room was very homely and had everything that we needed. Bedroom and Bathroom was very clean. Wide choice of breakfast food available to choose from, which was lovely food. Ample car parking spaces. Would stay at Sunnyside again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a fantastic welcome, Frank and Lorraine are a lovely couple and make this B&B one of the best, the food was excellent and plentiful, rooms are very nice and immaculate. We unreservedly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Sunnyside was a amazing b&b to stay at, we had a lovely welcome. The beds in the en-suite room we extremely comfortable, and the bathroom had a good shower and was very clean. The tea and coffee in the room was lovely, and the massive breakfast was delicious with a wide range of food to chose from. Frank and Lorraine were very informative of the local area. We would definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area, thank you Frank and Lorraine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We intended to stay for 2 nights but had to re-plan as we arrived. Frank kindly waived the cancellation fee for our second night. Thanks Frank and Lorraine.
Our greeting was like meeting old friends. Comfortable room with TV and en-suite hot shower and loo. Tea and coffee in the room.
Hearty breakfast and a cheery goodbye.
Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We found this B & B a lovely place to stay. Frank and Lorraine were very friendly and welcoming. They were very kind to my three year old daughter and took time to make her feel relaxed. This is definitely a child friendly place to stay.The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. It had a good location - quiet but on a main road so easy to get about. If. We are ever in the area again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Sunnyside B&B hosts Frank and Lorraine greeted us warmly and provided a comfortable room and delicious breakfast. The en suite twin-bedded room was of typical size and had all kinds of amenities for our use as desired, such as hair dryer, toiletries, coffee pot, etc. Our room faced the street and there was no road noise--very quiet. There were other guests in the B&B and I didn't hear them. The bathroom was small but adequate, and I experienced my first "electric shower" which means you need to turn on a switch for the "on demand" hot water. It worked great! Breakfast was served in a roomy dining area with each room being assigned a private table. Tasty typical Scottish breakfast options were offered. They actually took our orders the night before! Off street parking was adequate. When I needed a B&B for another night in the area and Sunnyside was full, they helped us find one they recommended. They also permitted me to make a couple of local phone calls regarding a problem with my rental car that had just been picked up at Glasgow Airport. Sunnyside is in a convenient location, has comfortable accommodations, good food, and accommodating hosts. What more can you ask for? Well done, Frank and Lorraine!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
2.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
189 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
1.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#21 of 24 in Balloch
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside B&B

Property: Sunnyside B&B
Address: Main Street North, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Sunnyside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing