We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for the money paid”
Review of Sunnyside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunnyside B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This B&B is in a nice location with extremely nice and helpful host who gave us lots of advice on the food place to both eat and to go to visit, it's an older building and very clean, the rooms are compact as is the bathroom. The bed was very hard if you like hard beds, not my preference but that's a personal taste.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The host was excellent very friendly and informative about the area, have us a nice place to eat dinner that was also very friendly staff cloaked the stables family run and also very good value of money. The room was small but clean and well set up, great wii fi for a change. Breakfast was great in a lovely well appointed breakfast room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to break our trip to Skye in Balloch so I could do a little childhood reminiscing. Sunnyside is a lovely bed and breakfast with a very warm welcome from Lorraine and Frank. The room was very well presented, clean with plenty of tea and coffee in the room. We had arranged to bring our dogs and we were very surprise when Frank told us they had stripped the single bed and covered it in old blankets and sheets....just for them ....nice touch :-) Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and very fresh. There is ample of off road parking.
To a past reviewer who questioned why B&B owners have knick knacks and wallpaper borders, stating that all rooms should be plain and simple. B&B owners are generally welcoming you into their home, not a non-descript travel stop over that could be in any city, anywhere.
Sorry about the 3 star on the sleep quality........I like a soft bed, Angela prefers a firm bed...we beg to differ and voted for a half way house.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucestershirePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Sunnyside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review. In the age of Keyboard warriors Trip Advisor management responses are in the main for negative reviews which is a shame really so, I decided to respond to your excellent review.
Both Lorraine and my self are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay here and its a please responding to your review.
Thank you once again.
regards,
Frank & Lorraine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Wonderful welcome from the hosts, who made us feel relaxed straight as soon as arriving. Room was very homely and had everything that we needed. Bedroom and Bathroom was very clean. Wide choice of breakfast food available to choose from, which was lovely food. Ample car parking spaces. Would stay at Sunnyside again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a fantastic welcome, Frank and Lorraine are a lovely couple and make this B&B one of the best, the food was excellent and plentiful, rooms are very nice and immaculate. We unreservedly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Sunnyside was a amazing b&b to stay at, we had a lovely welcome. The beds in the en-suite room we extremely comfortable, and the bathroom had a good shower and was very clean. The tea and coffee in the room was lovely, and the massive breakfast was delicious with a wide range of food to chose from. Frank and Lorraine were very informative of the local area. We would definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area, thank you Frank and Lorraine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We intended to stay for 2 nights but had to re-plan as we arrived. Frank kindly waived the cancellation fee for our second night. Thanks Frank and Lorraine.
Our greeting was like meeting old friends. Comfortable room with TV and en-suite hot shower and loo. Tea and coffee in the room.
Hearty breakfast and a cheery goodbye.
Value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balloch hotels
1.2 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodvale B&B
Woodvale B&B
#3 of 24 in Balloch
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#8 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside B&B

Address: Main Street North, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunnyside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing