We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more helpfull!”
Review of Sunnyside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunnyside B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were at a Motorbike Trial at Luss for the weekend, so was a late night and needed a secure place to store the bikes. This was not a problem! Frank & Lorraine could not have been more helpful. Bedrooms were spotless and breakfast was amazing. Definitely be back next year. Same time, same place!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

our last stop in scotland. It was a very lovely stay. Frank and his wife gave us warm welcome. There were teddy bears on the comfy beds to welcome us!!

nothing to complain about, it was a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed our first night prior to hiring out one of their vehicles for a tour around the Scottish isles. A great recommendation for a meal at the local restaurant where we had great service. We were made very welcome and had a comfortable stay and brilliant hearty breakfast the next morning.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friend and I have just done a 4 day tour of Scotland on our motorbikes and we stayed her last Friday on the 9th May. We were both very happy with the place and especially with the service from Frank and his wife. The rooms are comfortable and warm and well supplied with drinks and towels etc for the bathroom. The location is within walking distance from a couple of restaraunts also which was good. As bikers we were really pleased when Frank offered to move his car and allow us to park our bikes at the back of his house away from the road and passers by. He also locked the gates at night which was great for us as we had no concerns about bike security at all. The welcome we got on arrrival was really friendly and we were also given loads of information about possible routes and good roads to to ride on. The breakfast is exceptional unlimited toast, huge portions of bacon and egg and really really good coffee. I would recommend this place for an overnight stay if your in the area. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were given a warm welcome by the hosts, and nothing was too much trouble.
The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean and warm.
Breakfast had a good choice and was served with a smile.
The location is approx 20 min walk into Balloch
This B&B is good value and a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakesideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Last minute extra night stop over to see Loch Lomond , Lorraine and Frank very friendly and couldnt do more. Nice clean accomodation with ensuite in room, not fancy but perfectly fine for a base near Loch Lomond. Superb breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Decided to travel through to Balloch for the Easter Sunday/Monday and did my usual last minute booking to the Sunnyside. On the way there we were rear-ended by a young Danish lad on his way home from a holiday in Banff. Everything appeared ok at the time(my wife has since been diagnosed with whiplash) and we headed onward. Got to the B & B early, and although the book in time was 4 o'clock, we were booked in by Frank and allowed to leave our luggage while we went out to town. House is about 5 minutes from Alexandria Park and train and since it is the last stop before Balloch and the inspector gets off there you don't have to pay. Had a lovely day out in the sun and returned later with a takeaway. Room was nice and clean and freshly decorated although slightly cramped due to the shower conversion. The only criticism I would have is the amount of laminated warning notes stuck on the walls and around the room. Having run a few B & B's in our time we find that you just have to trust people not to do what you don't want them to do rather than suggesting it. Not a major criticism. Breakfast was very nice and I have to say that Frank and Lorraine were very good hosts, the consideration also being given to my wife as we had to spend a time in the A & E later that day. Lorraine phoned the following week to check on her. That was a very considerate of her. Over-all highly recomended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank S, Owner at Sunnyside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks for the review, its appreciated.
I hope your wife recovers quickly, that was a nasty experience to have on holiday and I'm glad we were of help to her.

I must add that there are some signs in the rooms. Any one having run a B&B must realise that there is a difference in the types of information given. Our rooms are not in a Hotel, they are our Family home so any signage ruins the look our rooms but some are necessary. I would love nothing more than to no signage what so ever.
All our rooms have the 4 main signs.

1. No Smoking which is mandatory
2 Fire Regulation and evacuation route which is mandatory.
3. Caution Hot Towel Rails, insisted by our insurance company.
4. Check out times, In our opinion its good to let pour guests now for information.

We also advertise free internet available, which is a good thing in my opinion especially when its free.
Finally which you might be more referring to is the sign asking customers not to take make up of with our Towels. It really is a problem and YES we do need to have the sign. Our towels are not hotel Standard plain commercial towels , they are good quality matching sets which can be completely ruined by make up.

These are the main signs any experienced B&B owner will know are necessary.

Frank Smith
Owner and Home Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
2.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#14 of 24 in Balloch
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#11 of 24 in Balloch
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside B&B

Address: Main Street North, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 9JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunnyside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing