We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep returning here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Ranked #10 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We keep returning here!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed recently to celebrate our first anniversary. Have stayed in the past in standard rooms, however, this time we booked a late rooms deal and were given a lovely, spacious room with views right up to Ben Lomond. Lovely!

The floors in this building are uneven due to the age of the building, sometimes felt as if we were walking uphill / downhill in the room / bathroom. Suppose this adds to the charm of the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    77
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Had our family Christmas dinner here as it came highly recommended and we had visited on several occasions in the past for a drink in the lovely bar with real log fire (beautiful setting and lovely surroundings)
Christmas dinner was absolutely superb but our booking was for 2.30 and we didn't get seated till 4.10 and served starter till 4.40.
The service took the shine off a lovely day as we had several older family members with us who found sitting that long a problem especially when hungry.
The staff worked really hard and were very helpful but somebody in management must have overbooked covers causing everybody to be kept waiting for an unacceptabe time.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iainrdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We spent two nights here recently and had a great time.

Great location - close to the station which has trains running to glasgow, and further, every 30 mins.

Able to check in early which was appreciated, not the most friendly, but certainly professional enough. We were very early on arrival, but only wanted to leave our case, we weren't actually asking to check in!

A few pubs close to the hotel, which we found to be very friendly, and reasonable.

The room was a good size, with an awesome view. The mattress had somewhat of a dip in the middle, meaning you couldn't help but roll about! Could do with replacing - minor complaint but a bit of a pain for two nights.

Food in the hotel was really nice, and offered plenty of choice and bargains to be had! Service in the restaurant was excellent, friendly and professional.

Breakfast (continental) was disappointing - to be frank it was boring. However, there is a separate menu you can order from for a small cost, and this was really well cooked and worth the extra bit of cash.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights in this classic inn.
The room pricing was a little higher than I would have preferred, but then I didn't booked ahead, I just walked in!
The service was great, rooms beautiful (mine had a view of the Lake), and the breakfast excluded was more than generous.
Couldn't get the wifi working, but that was only because I entered my phone number for the SMS code incorrectly. So if you have an international phone, insure you get the country code of internationally calling correctly entered when logging into the wifi.

Location is ideal. 2 minute walk from the train station and the information centre and in the other direction a 5 minute walk from a supermarket. The Loch is right on your door step as are a range of cafes and bars.

Large shopping centre, cafes and tourist activities just a 15 min walk or 5 min drive from the Inn. This complex is combine with the Loch aquarium... Well worth a look.

But if you are just up to relax the Balloch Inn is also perfect. I really enjoyed their bar and lounge, great atmosphere at any time of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I could say Balloch House was one of our local restaurants in the old office and used to be a regular. There were times when the quality of the food was up and down during the past years, but it seems it stabilized recently and it is definitely worth its money. I like the whole building since it has a sense of old, but well maintained about it. The rooms are just OK, but what it is really worth a visit and a revisit and so on is the ambient of the restaurant, especially in the winter time when the fire is on the fireplace. There is just something soothing about it... And on beautiful summer days (which are few and far between :-(), the bear garden at the back of the hotel is a perfect place for a drink and a little bite. Definitely the best stopover place in Balloch!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is at the back of the hotel, off the street and overlooking the river and the Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is a nice inn, with reasonably priced nice food. The room we had for 2 nights was very nice and spacious and it had a sofa bed that could be made up if you needed. The bathroom was spacious and clean and the shower was hot and fairly powerful, no bath. The phone didn't work in the room when we wanted to phone for an iron and ironing board and the hairdryer overheated after a short while but the supervisor quickly allowed my wife to use the hairdryer in the adjoining room. Staff were nice and helpful. The bed was a bit soft for me but I would stay here again. A continental breakfast is included in the room rate and it was fine but I would have liked some cold meats and cheeses and slices of pepper etc. You can pay extra for hot cooked breakfast (I think a cooked breakfast should be offered/included in the rate). The annoying thing really was with the advance payment rate that we booked 2 months in advance. We thought the payment had gone through on our credit card but it turns out that even though we got the lower advance payment rate, the hotel only takes payment on arrival! This would have been nice to know in advance but it was not nice to discover our weekend budget was going to be 138 pounds extra than we thought (should probably have checked that payment had gone through but anyway). The area around Balloch and Loch Lomond is nice and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps down in to them. We had a riverside room which would be a little quieter as wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I stayed here just for a luch with a friend of mine during a visit in Balloch.
The atmosphere is very nice and warm and the fireplace with fire in the middle of the room was absolutely amazing, like our lunch: steak with mushrooms and potatoes vith beer. Really really good, like the presentation of the dishes as well. Waiters friendly and polite. Price ok.
I suggest it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 24 in Balloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Address: Innkeeper's Lodge 56 Balloch Road | Balloch Road, West Dunbartonshire, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at the foot of Loch Lomond in the beautiful village of Balloch, this historic lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to explore the rugged mountains and ancient history of Balloch Castle Country Park.Built in the 18th century, Balloch House has been a hotel for more than a hundred years. Today it exudes the same rustic charm, while providing budget accommodation across 12 comfy rooms. There's a hearty seasonal menu alongside daily specials, cask-conditioned ales and carefully selected wines.As for the sightseeing, you'll be spoilt for choice. Catch the early morning mists that curl across the Loch, take the historic Maid of the Loch steamer from Balloch Pier or venture out and discover the beautiful Scottish scenery of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. You could also visit nearby Alexandria or head into the hustle and bustle of Glasgow. In fact, there's so much to do that you might need more than a weekend to soak it all up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balloch House Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Balloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing