We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Don't See Too Much”
Review of Sweeney's Cruises

Sweeney's Cruises
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scottish Tourist Board 4-star tours on Loch Lomond. One Hour Experience Tour operates year round with additional Two Hour Island Discovery and Evening Sunset Cruises available during the summer months.All cruises have live commentary, bar and toilet facilities.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were really looking forward to our cruise on Loch Lomond but it turned out to be a bit disappointing. Unfortunately the one hour loop that they do is just at the very southern end of the loch so the scenery isn't too varied. You do see a few small castles/manors which was kind of cool. Part of the problem was that it was cloudy so we didn't get good views of Ben Lomond. I would say only do the cruise if you are on a tour and it is your only chance to see Loch Lomond. We had a car and drove along the loch the next day which was much nicer.

Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweeneys7, Manager at Sweeney's Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Hi Faith

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the cruise and Loch Lomonds beauty.

Rest assured, for a class 5 vessel, sailing cateogry C waters we are in complance with the Maritime and Coastguard Agency. We would have been more than happy to have this conversation had you mentioned it whilst on board.

Thank again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Sweeney's Cruises
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 323 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had spent our holiday really looking forward to our final day where we planned to go this boat ride on loch lomond after we had got a leaflet on it from our campsite. On the day i had planned to go i tried to telephone them to ask them about payment methods but was unable to get through. I relied on the times on the 2014 leaflet which clearly stated that the 10.30am boat only happened in July and August but that the rest of the times happened daily throughout the year-this detailed on the hour times and included 4.30pm. We arrived there with just under an hour to spare for the 4.30pm boat only to be told that they had decided to run the 10.30am boat that day instead of the 4.30pm as sometimes they liked to swap it around. I pointed out that this was not detailed in their leaflet but they were unhelpful. I had 2 very upset children and there were several other people who arrived after me who had also been given incorrect info from the leaflet. As it was our last day we were not able to revisit. Please be aware of this!

3  Thank VGTortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweeneys7, Manager at Sweeney's Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi there,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. On some days the office is very busy and we do understand that it can be difficult to get through to us by phone, for which we do apoloogise. If you can't contact us by phone and are in a position to do so we can also be contacted via email for questions regarding times, prices and payment methods at info@sweeneyscruises.com.

As stated in our brochure unfortunately all cruises are subject to weather conditions and demand, therefore they can be prone to cancellation at last minute. This is particularly relevant to note this early in the season as before the summer has hit its height demand for the later cruises is often insuffiecient to merit sailing.

We are very sorry this was not made clear and you were unable to sail with us, and we will take your feedback on board so that hopefully this confusoin can be avoided in the future. We sincerely hope that you wil be able to sail with us at some other time and again apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We asked at kiosk for best rate for family of 2 adults + 2 children and 2 grandparents
Were charged full 4 adults + 2 kids rate when we ought to have paid for family + 2 adults.

So beware this sharp practice and read price schedule before approaching kiosk!

Not particularly good value for money either - we spent over £50 for no more than 45 mins on the loch itself.

Thank hmiwmp1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweeneys7, Manager at Sweeney's Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi there,

I'm very sorry to hear of the mix- up with your tickets. We have recently taken on a lot of new staff memebers and this would perhaps explain why they didn't realise to charge you the discounted family rate when you bought your ticket. I can assure you that this is in no way "sharp practice" on our behalf.

I really wish you would have made your grievances knowm on the day and I could have resolved the matter there and then. If you would like to get in touch with me directly my email is john@sweneyscruises.com I would be happy to arrange for a refund.

As for the 45 minutes on Loch Lomond- as we are based in Balloch there is a short cruise up the river Leven before entering Loch Lomond- this is all part of the cruise experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A one hour cruise on a 160 people capacity boat on Loch Lomond. A commentary making reference to the buildings and islands on the Loch, from Balloch you go as far as the first island which is inhabited.

2  Thank Matt_ElitePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweeneys7, Manager at Sweeney's Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went on the 1 hour cruise and it was informative and great fun . The price was reasonable as was the onboard prices for drinks and food . The staff were really helpfull and friendly . There was a place to sit inside if the weather did it's usual thing .

2  Thank maxgusScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweeneys7, Manager at Sweeney's Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Hi there

Thankyou for your review.

We are pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed the whole experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweeney's Cruises also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Sweeney's Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing