We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed in the valhalla B&B last weekend. Fantastic service, clean rooms, lovely breakfast. Would recommend the Balloch House Hotel for food and drinks and the cuccina restaurant (must book in advance), both less than a 2 minute walk from the B&B. Great location.

Graeme and Becky couldn't have been more helpful and even left us a card and a bottle of wine when they found it was my husband's birthday. Will definitely be back here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB261104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at Valhalla for one night with my wife and three year old son to visit Loch Lomond, and I can't recommend the place highly enough. Besides the fact that the rooms are beautiful (which they are), the standard of service is what really sets it apart from the pack.

We found Becky and Graeme very accommodating and friendly, allowing us not only to pay for our stay on checkout due to the bank holiday messing our money about, but also allowing us to leave our (considerable) luggage there after checkout while we went on a boat trip round the loch. Things like that make all the difference to me personally.

The room was spacious, modern, well stocked with supplies and immaculately clean, as other reviewers have said previously. The en-suite bathroom was also equally as clean and well stocked. We were in room 5 and the door leading out to the courtyard was good, as it allowed us to air the room a bit in the morning. Breakfast was excellent and the selection of DVDs in the breakfast room for use in the rooms was another nice little touch, which clearly shows the hosts' consideration for their guests.

We found the price very fair, especially considering the wonderful location, literally right next to the train station and a very short walk from the town, although it wasn't noisy in the slightest.

We found Balloch a lovely little town, with some excellent restaurants, etc. We've only been back not even a day and can't wait to go back. When we do, we'll definitely be seeking out Valhalla and would recommend it to anyone. If only Visit Scotland / Tourist Information would do the same, instead of sending everyone who enquires to their own family's bed and breakfast across the bridge. Such is life, unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meppel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here with 4 people while we were biking in scotland. The owners Greame and Becky were very nice and helpfull when we needed a repair for the bike and needed some clothes washing. Great service. The rooms are very clean and nice. Very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Very good place to stay when you're in balloch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaas on a bike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just home after spending 2 nights at this lovely B&B. The owners Becky & Graeme are really friendly, the place is immaculate, the breakfast was fab, nothing was a bother to the Hosts. The B&B is within walking distance to all Pubs and Restaurants, Train St is just across the road. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at Valhalla B&B in Balloch in September. The location was perfect, right next to the train station and near every amenity. The moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome indeed. Graeme and Becky are remarkably friendly and open hosts. We enjoyed every moment of our trip, from the delicious breakfasts every morning, the clean and beautifully appointed rooms to the friendly and very helpful hosts. Add that to the beauty of Loch Lomond itself, we were very reluctant indeed to leave. And to top it all, Graeme&Becky took the trouble to drop us off in his car at our bus stop and even packed us a huge and tasty lunch! Thank you both for being such great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We went to Balloch to visit our friends and as it was my birthday we decided to stay somewhere other than their couch for once!
Valhalla was an excellent choice and we are so grateful to all the previous reviewers for recommending it. Graeme and Becky were charming and made us feel extremely welcome. The room was gorgeous and impeccably clean and the ensuite shower room was fab too.
Breakfast was lovely - we were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast, but being quite easy going, we just went for the full Scottish and/or cereal.
The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be coming back when we next visit Balloch.
One little tip, would be that they should get a wifi router with a stronger range, as it didn't quite stretch to our room (room 5), but this did not in any way take away from our lovely stay.
Thanks so much x

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnickal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in the valhalla bnb early this month for a quiet break away with my wife. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Graeme and becky were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome, Graeme cooked an outstanding full scotish breakfast and then we set off for a romantic walk along the loch witch is right on the door step. Also close by are a range of restaurants and local pubs and lomond shores for things to do If I were to be staying in balloch again I would definately look up Graeme and becky

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#6 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#2 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Property: Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14 Tullichewan Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valhalla Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing