We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Balloch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a find! This B&B is run by a lovely friendly couple - warm, friendly and accommodating in every sense. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom were spotlessly clean and tidy, the beds comfy and warm, dark and quiet. Breakfast was delicious, and they accommodated my vegginess too. Bonus points for choc chip shortbread and nice tea in the room, and a good hairdryer! And they can suggest short local walks and places you can reach by car or local transport. They have time for everyone.

This place is just up the side street by the station, so I think some people trawling the main road for a place to stay might miss it (we almost did!). Don't be put off by closeness the station - it's the end of the line so there's nothing clattering past. The rooms are so quiet - I imagine more so than other places because it's just off on the main road and not too close to any of the local pubs and bars. And if you're arriving by train from Glasgow it's no distance at all with your bags. Book here, it's the best!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our room was very clean and well decorated. Tea and coffee tray with some cookies were waiting for us on arrival. The bed was very comfy and the room was plenty dark. Despite being across the street from the train station (which was great), it was very quiet! It was also a quick and easy walk in to town and get buses/ferry tours.

Breakfast in the morning was great, plenty of food and very welcoming of alternative diets (plenty of juice and cereal along with traditional Scottish breakfasts). Would definitely recommend to others.

They were also willing to let us leave our bags on the day of check-out while we went on a hike and waited for our train at 14:40.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have been touring Scotland for the last five years on a motor bike and our first stop is always at Valhalla we would highly recommend it. Excellent rooms and breakfast. very friendly .safe off road parking for the bike.10 out of 10 every time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We managed to get a room at the Valhalla as part of my LEJOG Ride and can highly recommend it, Nice pleasant greeting when I arrived after a long hot day in the saddle. Really can't say a bad word about this B&B 10 out of 10 on every front and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was delighted. I only stayed for 1 night, they were so lovely and kind and friendly. I would not hesitate to come back. Excellent breakfast, great location opposite the railway station, and they even did my laundry for me, I don't know what to say, other than the place is faultless and you should definitely stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast for one night.rooms are well decorated good size and emaculately clean.breakfast was very tasty and just the right amount plenty cereal fresh fruit juice and of course any persons staple when they are staying away a lovely cooked breakfast.as for the hosts they were both so pleasant and couldn't be more helpfull when I asked about the local places to eat and drink.when I go away anywhere I like to find somewhere that if I ever went back to stay in the area I could just pick up the phone and book knowing that my stay is going to be a good one.with Valhalla bed and breakfast I have.thankyou for a lovely relaxing stay.

Mark

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank pics301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've just come back from a really pleasant stay at the Valhalla B&B. The place is extremely clean. Becky and Graeme are very welcoming and happy to help with whatever they can. We rented two rooms as we were travelling with our two daughters and even though one of them is under six she was made to feel so comfortable, that she immediately felt at home.

They have paid attention to so much detail, which always makes a difference. There were a box of DVDs, which we relished going through for a late evening at home. The clean tea sets with the lovely Scottish biscuits were also a good treat. There was a bottle of squash for my little girl in the room. The breakfast is something to look forward to. We had porridge, hot breakfast and my little one was very pleased with the good range of cereals.

It is so convenient if you are traveling by train. We got out of the train station and the B&B was right in front of us. It did make us laugh, as we didn't expect it to be soooo convenient. Having said that, it is also amazingly quiet.

Balloch itself is a lovely place but having such good hosts makes all the difference in the overall experience. I'm really grateful to both Becky and Graeme for making it such a pleasant and memorable experience for all the family. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamedtheWorldMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#4 of 24 in Balloch
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#22 of 24 in Balloch
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#13 of 24 in Balloch
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#9 of 24 in Balloch
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Tullichewan Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: £61 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Valhalla Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing