We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, satisfying food”

The Stables Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Homely, satisfying food”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a long day spent exploring the surrounding area my boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. We both had a pie for our main, which were steaming hot and full of filling - very satisfying. Not much atmosphere as there were only two other groups of people in the restaurant, but staff were friendly and attentive. Good, hearty food at an excellent price in casual, relaxed surroundings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    137
    31
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenhsire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Home-Made Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Went here for an evening meal. Seated quickly, not long to wait before our meal came, best homemade veggie burger ever excellent, lovely and hot just the right amount of side salad no waste. Really good value for money. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pingpong05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent venue with great food.”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We visited the Stables on two seperate occasions. The food was superb and had very friendly staff. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area. Go early though as they do seem to start closing down around 10.00

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - good price”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

On a wet evening we were recommended this restaurant by the Sunnyside B&B - got a discount and were served promptly.

Very good food and value for money.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For older generation”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Suits older people better than young crowd.
My daughter's school leavers do was held here - tradition for local school - but just average. Live locally, been there, done that, would not rush back.

Helpful?
Thank TheladyinredScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Restaurant also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing