We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables Restaurant

The Stables Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great Restaurant. the food came quick and it was a Good and tasty meal. Will recommend to. fair price for the food given.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    127
    29
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was quiet when we arrived but the food was fantastic and all home made, the menu was impressive as there was a lot to choose from. The service was good and all of the staff were very friendly and happy to help with any questions or requests.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ToughToPleaseReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and brilliant service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came here after a recommendation by the owner of the B&B we stayed at. Sunnyside B&B gives you 5% off your bill at The Stables.

We were greeted by our server who took our booking over the phone and had a choice of seats anywhere in the restaurant. The starters were to die for, garlic mushrooms for me and the wife had the Culen Skink (easily the best soup I have ever tried) High praise!

The mains were home made steak and ale pie with mash and the steak sizzler. If you do decide to go for the steak sizzler I suggest getting it blue as it will cook through on the hot plate anyway. I asked for a medium steak but by the time I was able to eat it, it was really well done. My only gripe really is that we should have been told this.

The mains were delicious as was the sticky toffee pudding, but the snowball cheesecake was pretty tasteless so we didn't manage to finish it.

Over all it was a great three course meal at a reasonable price, (£54 for two three course meals is pretty okay in my books). I thoroughly recommend a visit if you're in Balloch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Have returned several times and always enjoy the food. Service is good. Reasonably priced. Family friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank mamma-lisa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Return Visit to The Stables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

As we enjoyed our first visit to The Stables, we returned with all the family, of 7adults and 4 children, (all children aged under 5).
Staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, to adults and children alike, food and service was as previously experienced excellent, and extremely good value for money. We will definitely return to The stables and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Restaurant also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing