We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options in Balloch”
Review of Tullie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tullie Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better options in Balloch”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

As a local in Balloch I eat frequently in the Tullie Inn and the Balloch Hotel 100m away on the other side of the river. Despite the "Red Lobster" -clone redecoration the Tullie's ambience, food and service remain inferior to the Balloch Hotel with small portions, indifferent service and overpriced food (especially at the weekends) now the order of the day.

£50 for a couple of glasses of wine, some bread for starters, and a couple of tiny mains doesn't cut it for me any longer. The other restaurants in Balloch aren't first rate either (the Balloch Hotel has a lot to learn about customer service too) but I'm afraid the Tullie is the bottom of the heap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am very sorry that you feel this way. We do our best to cater for every budget and look at what our competitors offer. Again I am very sorry that you did not feel your visit was value for money.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    114
    60
    46
    46
See reviews for
75
168
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here whilst on holiday, very disappointed, initially looked a very nice restaurant however staff were less than welcoming, and whilst not rude, they were not very friendly either- food was average, vanilla cheesecake for dessert was tasteless. Floor in eating area was very dirty and needed a good clean. Unfortunately would neither recommend or be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsforsytj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I am really sorry to read you review. I will be investigating this further as this is not acceptable. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Booked the Tullie for a couple of nights. Had previously been in for a few drinks so based on the downstairs vibe we thought it would be a good place to stay.
If I were reviewing the staff it would be a straight 5/5 no probs....cheery friendly welcome fantastic service. Dinner distinctly average. Bar was understaffed, piles of empty glasses service slow (but exceptionally friendly).
Room was big and bright, bed and pillows ok (just) shower a trickle and if you are tall forget it.
Breakfast finishes at 10, personally for a weekend I think its a little early...but worth getting up for!
Would I stay again? Yes, but not at 85 quid a night...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We will take on board your comments and I hope you will return in the future. We offer great last minute accommodation offers on Facebook and online.

Kind Regards
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Ate here today with a voucher was absolutely pleased in what was on offer I recommend the pulled pork I see people have put bad reviews about the service I cannot complain at all the service was good and I did enjoy the food I must mention we did go in the afternoon which is quieter would go back again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_jean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review. We are all delighted with your positive feedback and look forward to you returning very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Literally the worst service i have ever received at any restaurant, was physically tempted to tell people not to bother on their way in.
We waited over an hour for the main course, which was terrible, we ordered baguettes, and there was pretty much no filling in them at all, also all cold, i have no idea how it can take an hour to produce this ???!!!
We waited 30 min for the starter, dirty plate sat with us until main course, sat with empty drinks glasses the entire time, no offer of more drinks.
Was very tempted to get up and leave after starter as the wait was beyond a joke.
It seems from these reviews that the manager is not addressing any of the problems they have.
I can not stress enough "Don't waste your time or money".
Even the menu itself is uninspiring as pub restaurant type menu's go.
Gorgeous interior but falls down everywhere else, it was not that busy in that there were empty tables, but clearly there is a lack of leadership, service, training and productive service process.

Honest review , in this case believe the bad reviews!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am very sorry for the wait you had for your food this is not acceptable and this should of been communicated to you at the time. We were very busy over the Easter weekend as expected but were caught out. I do hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balloch hotels

1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If I had looked at this web site before going up to Loch Lomond, I would not go near this place with a barge pole. If you have the time you will see all the reviews are the same. Bad service, well actually they do not care and there is nobody in charge to make sure that the customer comes first. On the day we went, if it had not been for the waitress called Sarah Jane I would have walked out. The person who I presume is restaurant manager would be first person I would sack, followed closely by the rest of them. I have worked the hotel trade for many years and the bottom line comes down to bad management. I could even have walked out with out paying, I wish I had, because if the company wanted the money, which is Maclays Inns, they would have had to sing for it. Mrs J Stewart 4/3 15 Castlebank place, Glasgow G11 6BJ. phone number 01413577347. I will be very surprised if anyone has the back-bone from the company to contact me. I cannot even phone or write to them as there web-site has no details to be able to contact them.

Room Tip: book another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience. I will be in touch with you to discuss this further.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We popped into this hotel for lunch on good Friday. There was only a few tables taken so we got seated straight away, gave our order and received our drinks. All was going well. The decor is beautiful also. Now, we have booked to stay at this hotel after a wedding in May so really we were just trying out the food before we stay. So, still sitting at the table. sitting. sitting. sitting. More people come in and are sitting. Im noticing lots of angry faces. Our food finally arrived over an hour after we gave our order!!! How is that possible???? It wasnt even that busy. The staff actually got to the point that they were turning people away and yet there were plenty of tables available. I dont know what was going on in the kitchen but they really need to sort it out! I also had to ask 3 times for our second round of drinks while the staff stood about chatting. Really terrible service. Hope they get better before we are back in May. Didnt even get a discount on the bill!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOWF1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the wait on Friday, there is no excuse for this and I will be investigating this with the kitchen as there seems to of been a lack of communication. We are looking forward to you returning in May.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#17 of 24 in Balloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#14 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullie Inn

Property: Tullie Inn
Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tullie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the most welcoming accommodation Loch Lomond has to offer on the banks of one of Scotland's most famous lochs – the Tullie Inn, Balloch is the ideal choice.We have 5 superior and 8 standard style bedrooms. One of which is a large family suite with double bedroom, en-suite bathroom and adjoining room with 2 single beds. All our bedrooms are located on the upper floor, above our popular lounge bar and restaurant.All our bedrooms are bright and fresh and tastefully decorated. They are fully fitted with all the modern conveniences (including TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tullie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing