We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Shopping”
Review of Loch Lomond Shores

Loch Lomond Shores
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Loch Lomond Shores is a stunning visitor destination set on the southern tip of Loch Lomond. With views up the Loch to Ben Lomond, the scenery is amazing. Come for the day and visit our lovely shops, our great Aquarium, Bird of Prey Centre, Aerial Adventure Course, Adventure Golf and have lunch or refreshments in one of our eateries, or simply let the kids enjoy our playpark whilst you sit back and relax. If you want to get even more active then you can hire bikes, boats, canoes, Segways, quadricycles or just sit back on a loch cruise or waterbus and let someone else do the hard work.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Shopping”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have visited Loch Lomond Shores on a few ocassions. I have taken visitors from overseas twice because of the shopping and other attractions here, ie the Maid of the Loch and the sails on Loch Lomond.
Good place to shop. Jenners can be pricey but has but stocks some unusual and interesting goods. I enjoy looking at the paintings in the gallary area. There is a shoe section and also outdoor activity clothing. The shops just go on and on finishing with an outlet store.
This is a pleasant place to shop at leisure and plenty of parking. There are places to eat, childrens play area, walks and picnic area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fairliegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    264
    117
    39
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Variety of attractions for everyone, but disappointing cafe!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a really great little place, lots of shops to have a wander, great childrens play area and views of the Loch. Boat rides and small beach, but didn't try these out.

Went during summer holidays and there were interesting things on for the children to be entertained.

Went for drink and icecream in Cafe on the Loch - extremely expensive and staff who really didn't seem to want to be there! There were 2 other cafes in the shopping area so next time we will try one of those.

Really good toilets and family facilities in main entrance.

A good few hours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank happyfamilytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Cafe on the loch, an excuse to take your money!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Bought 2 lattes at the cafe on the loch, they could only at best be described as tasting like dishwater! We also ordered a couple of milkshakes for the children, 2 scoops of ice cream which were then so overfilled with milk that the girl have enough left to make half another one. Her manner was unfortunate also, only managing to utter the charge. Very disappointed, considering a seemingly prestigious venue.

Helpful?
Thank Annio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tourist trap but wrong music”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I live near here and go down quite often. Shops can be a bit pricey and others reasonable ( just like anywhere)
Farmers market every 2nd Sunday is worth a visit.
Only thing recently that I was not entirely enjoying while visiting was 2 european buskers playing an accordion and guitar which sounded a bit like romanian/eastern european music. If any buskers should lay there it should be of traditional scottish folk music.
the sealife aquarium place in my opinion is a rip off, but then they do have staff to pay and animals to feed. You can be in and out within the hour

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank folkie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Maritime history at Loch Lomond Shores”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

If you are visiting Loch Lomond Shores at Balloch please take time to visit the "Maid of the Loch" paddle steamer. For many years this steam paddle boat sailed the waters of beautiful Loch Lomond and now lies at the pier at Loch Lomond Shores. A valiant effort by volunteers is being made to restore her to her former glory and the hope that one day she may steam again. So while the girls shop till they drop, the boys can spend some time on the boat or at the nearby steam powered winching engine which is used for bring the Maid out of the water for maintenance. Entrance to both is free and of course donations would be welcomed. An excellent day out for all the family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NCraig186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Lomond Shores also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Loch Lomond Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing