We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumbarton(Dumbarton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront(Helensburgh)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balloch Hotel(Balloch)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
159
60
16
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
60
16
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomtoilet blocklovely sitetouring caravanglamping podsair hockeyhot tubfully serviced pitchroad noisefamily bathroomfirs lodgedeluxe lodgesky tvtouring sitechinese restaurantlady at receptionshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked and paid for this campsite well in advance over the phone. I asked for a pitch for my converted Transit van. I was told that this was not a problem on the phone. After traveling 44 miles we arrived safe and sound looking forward to a romantic birthday weekend. Our illusions were shattered as we were denied access to the campsite due to the lack of side windows on my Transit Van conversion! I was not informed of this criteria over the phone. Remember I had informed them that my form of transportation / accommodation was a converted Transit Van full of swish homely furnishings. Yet on arrival the receptionist whilst looking me up and down in a unwelcoming manner asked, ' Do you have windows'? To which I replied, ' Yes of course, how do you think I was able to see how to get hear!' No I mean side windows',was her reply' with a screwed up distorted face.The long and short of the matter was that we were denied entry by this extremely rude receptionist on the grounds that we had 'no windows'! I also had to argue at great length to get a refund! I am afraid to say that I cannot and will not recommend this business to anyone. My only recommendation is to the owners, hire competent staff that are fit to do the job required and if the receptionist was the owner, choose another career!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Food critics g G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Iceman37_12

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback following your recent visit to our park and we welcome the opportunity to explain the rationale behind the decision to not permit you and your vehicle on to our site.

We accommodate most forms of motorhome and campervan on this 5* park but these must adhere to our stipulations and comply with the terms of our park’s license. To do this a motorhome or campervan must meet a certain standard both in appearance and functionality and the vehicle must be fully converted and include an electric hook-up facility if it is not a recognised manufactured motorhome or campervan.

The presence of side windows is a discretionary stipulation and in fact did not matter in your case as upon our inspection of the vehicle you told us that you hadn’t actually finished converting it and that it only had a mattress in the back.

Your vehicle did not meet our basic industry based standards and therefore we reiterate that you were not refused entry to the park due to not having windows, it was the fact that your vehicle was not converted in a manner or to the extent that you had previously claimed.

As a senior authoritative figure, I can assure you that the member of staff you dealt with provided an acceptable response that was in compliance with company policy and was therefore justified in her refusal of entry. All our staff are professionals and treat all guests in a courteous and respectful manner, in spite of the nature of the communication, so it would be highly unusual for you to have been shown such disdain as you insinuate with the remark “Yet on arrival the receptionist whilst looking me up and down in a unwelcoming manner asked, ' Do you have windows'?” but we apologise if the question was interpreted in such a way.

The conclusion of this matter is that you were refunded at the time of the incident for the booking you made a week earlier for one person only for one night only on a touring pitch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful toilets. Super playpark. Well laid out open site. Shop wasn't particularly well stocked but then there were other shops close by. Well situated site for Glasgow and Loch Lomond. We were impressed with the site in general. Will be back.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Leesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Leesa G

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us we are glad that you liked the site and we look forward to welcoming you to any of our parks again soon. The little on-site shop is really for necessities only as we are located near to larger shops, we thank you for your feedback though, we always welcome guests' feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here recently as we were attending the Commenwealth Games.Booked for 2nights but ended up staying for 5 nights!!! We were in our own Campervan, the sites facilities were excellent.The showers and toilets were immaculate.The train station is a 5 minute walk away which was brilliant as we were going to Glasgow for the Games.The staff are very friendly.Would recommend this beautiful site which is near to Loch Lomond.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jane J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us, we are happy to learn that you had a good time and were able to easily get into Glasgow to enjoy the games. The park is in a lovely setting and there is so much to do round about, we hope you will come back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night only as we didn't book far enough ahead and it was full.
Very pretty site with spacious level pitches for motorhomes and caravans. Ours was next to a little babbling brook.
Very clean toilets and showers and family bathrooms with lots of space and even a bath,
I have stayed in dozens of campsites and never seen this before, so very impressed.
The site is handy for the loch side facilities.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear chrisdsouth

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and nice review. Lomond Woods is one of three of our parks that has a family bathroom which have certainly been popular following their recent installation, we are glad you had the chance to use them.
We would be delighted to welcome you to any of our parks again soon and suggest you call our reservations team to book who will do all they can to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Me and my family stayed in a 2bed Caravan for a week within Lomond Woods holiday park and it was a delight.
The caravan was in excellent condition and the surroundings were well maintained. Everyone in the park was very friendly and made you feel at home.
The park itself is a 5/10 minute walk from Loch Lomond and the shopping centre and not far from Dumbarton town centre where all the supermarkets are.
The holiday park was very peaceful and you have facilities near the entrance which has a games room,there is also a small play park for young ones to enjoy.

Thanks for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucyMH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlairgowireHP, Manager at Lomond Woods Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Lucy MH24

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review following your recent holiday with us, thank you very much for your kind feedback. Lomond Woods is in a lovely location and the park provides a great base to explore it from, we are glad you got to enjoy the surroundings. All the staff at the park work very hard to make it a pleasant place to stay so will be delighted to receive your kind feedback.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews