We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting waste of money”
Review of Lomond Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lomond Park Hotel
Ranked #20 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Please do not stay in the hotel even if you get a voucher deal like we did.

On arrival was given keys had to go up a staircase which was filthy, smell of the stale grease was horrible. When we go into the room the only good thing I can say is the bed was clean, tiny watered down handwash in the bathroom ,mirror dirty and toilet lid broken. bedside cabinet had 3 drawers with only one handle the rest were missing but you can use the large sharp screw to open it up. We knew from reviews that their were a nightclub and was noisy, are there were right no only noisy but vibrated all the room althought this is part of the hotel, you still had to pay to get in.
When going down for breakfast at 10.05 we were greeted by unhelpful waitress to be told that we are too late for breakfast as this stops at 10.00 ( i find this strange because you can buy a large breakfast for over £5.00 up to 11.00) so why could they not accomondate clients that stay in their hotel just 5 mins late.
Will also be writing to the hotel as well regarding this but would never stay in this hotel and have informed all my friends of this .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathleenstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay, with regards to the smell on the stairs this is not the norm and can't understand why that was. With regards to your comment about paying into the nightclub, guests that are paying full price for their rooms do get free entry, for customers that are on a deal they are given two for one passes. With regards to breakfast we feel that there may have been a mix up as breakfast is served until 10.30am.

Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Booked this hotel through a voucher deal and paid £59. Thank god i never paid full price of £120 or I would have insisted on my money back.
On arrival there was a hip hop rap festival going on right above the room we where booked into.
Nobody mentioned this when we booked? Receptionist kindly moved us to another room, but the noise was horrendous from when we booked in at 3pm till well after 12.
Room was very basic and shabby. No remote for television. No hairdryer. Had to ask twice before we got a hairdryer. No shower gel, shampoo or soap. No sugar for tea and we asked repeatedly for this and never got it!
Went for dinner and had to wait for a table. I did ask if we had to book a table for dinner and I was told no? Waited 10 mins for table.
The service was terrible at dinner. We waited 25 mins for a starter. And then we waited another 40 mins for the main course! Which was chicken in a peppercorn sauce. The chicken was overcooked and unedible. My partner ordered potatoes and got chips. Food and service was terrible.
Breakfast wasn't much better. Scrambled eggs were overcooked and again unedible. Staff pretty much ignored us at breakfast and never asked if we needed anything or ask if everything was ok.
Would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Dont stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzisiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had fab time room clean and spacious, was a little concerned after reading other reviews. Food was great and staff very attentive. Was quite noisy when disco was on but if you go along you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebradysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments we hope that you will visit Lomond Park again in the future.

Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

After getting a Groupon deal we stayed there for two nights in November. Yes the rooms were a bit tired but it was clean enough and the staff were lovely. The food was fine. The only thing we would say would be it advertised a full breakfast. It wasn't a full breakfast wasn't much at all but the quality was good!
They advised us when we phoned to book that there was a night club that would be on Friday and Sat night till quite late and can be noisy therefore we decided to go a Sunday Monday night instead.
I think what people have to remember is how much they paid for the rooms. Very little I suspect. In paying so little ( £89 for two nights) we didn't expect luxury.
This hotel is basic but clean and friendly exactly what we expected. We will use this hotel when we are on a budget. If people are wanting a little bargain in a good location to Loch Lomond and some great walks we would recommend this place any day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank You for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the future. With regards to your comments about the breakfast, here at Lomond Park we serve local produce cooked to order which consists of bacon, sausage fried egg, beans and tomato or scrambled eggs, haggis, potato scone, beans and tomato. Also with a choice of tea, coffee, fruit juices and cereals. Once again thank you.

Sincerely
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Give this place a miss. The hotel in general is very grubby. The room we had was clean enough but there was no hot water at all. The car park is not secure enough considering there is a rowdy night club attached which goes on until 4 am in the morning. Cars are not secure despite the hotel saying they have security. The menu in the restaurant is very basic and what we had was mostly frozen food which was pretty tasteless. Staff friendly but service very slow. I would never go back or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank evalyn186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Felt completely robbed! We knew it was a low star rating and that there was a night club but there is no excuse for the terrible experience we had. Arrived at 8pm on Friday 28th December 2012 to check-in, and 2 members of staff walked past us without acknowledgement - we had a large suitcase and hand luggage so it was pretty obvious we were looking for a receptionist or manager.

The "manager" eventually appeared; he did not say hello or anything in fact to welcome us to the "hotel". We were handed our key and TV remote (yes, it's that kind of establishment) and told the time for breakfast. Nobody offered to help us with our luggage or to show us to our room...although I suppose they wouldn't for 2*. Our room was small, dark and dirty. The bins had not been changed, everything was dusty, there were old dried contact lenses on the window sill, the window did not close properly (I'm assuming due to people hanging out to have a smoke as the outside sill was covered in cigarette burns), the bed sheets were stained, the bathroom was grubby with black grime in the shower, the bed was pushed against the open wardrobe so we had to move it to to able to hang our clothes, under the bed had obviously not been hoovered in a long time, and in fact, the carpet in general was filthy...and to top it off, the shower was a pathetic trickle of water. Just awful. The only positive I will give them, is that they state the night club is loud, and it is. Our floor literally vibrated.

Spend an extra £20 and go to the Duck Bay, it's dated but clean with friendly staff!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel, go to the Duck Bay 5 minutes up the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The staff are so welcoming and helpful from the waitresses to bar staff to security and owners. There is a great sense of team work between them all and they all create a family feel which is marvellous to feel part of – we felt very welcomed, food was great and they all do anything and everything to ensure you stay is delightful as can be – I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family – all the locals are very friendly and we cant wait to get another stay soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SACURRIE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balloch hotels
0.2 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#15 of 24 in Balloch
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterhouse Inn
The Waterhouse Inn
#13 of 24 in Balloch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#11 of 24 in Balloch
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#14 of 24 in Balloch
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#23 of 24 in Balloch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Park Hotel

Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lomond Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lomond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing