We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of Lomond Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lomond Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Visited the area with a dog to find that the only place welcoming of dogs was this dire establishment. The welcome from the bar person was, to say the least, unwelcoming. After looking at the crappy menu, we ordered what we thought was the safest option at the bar and took our seats away from the drunken rabble at the bar. When the bar person brought us our cutlery a local shouted out 'why are they getting table service?'. The food we ordered took ages to arrive and when it did it looked as though it had been microwaved. Whilst eating our food Jeremy Kyle was put on the plethora of T.Vs, at a volume that could deafen you. Our glasses for our canned drinks were mingin, so we drunk out of the can. We ate our food quickly to get out of this place and the bar person, watching us leave, didn't utter a word. Overall, the place was dirty with unfriendly staff and rude and drunken locals. What a shame for Balloch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    46
    32
    11
    36
See reviews for
7
79
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were a party of 4 in two twin rooms... we were using a voucher so paid half price with dinner and breakfast included. I cant say it's the best place i've ever stayed in, but it is decent enough. If you have a look around the website, you see exactly what you are getting. It was pretty much what we expected: walk into a bar, friendly locals pointed the way to the reception, not the friendliest of welcomes, but fine, room was clean and a good size, we shared a bathroom with others on the floor (which I didn't bother using - better to shower at home), had dinner which was okay, but veeery slow service and weak cocktails. Note: I think I saw a cook using the bathrooms on our floor which I didn't like very much! Location wise, it's pretty good - just a minutes walk from Balloch train station. We attended a wedding close by and finished around midnight. You'll hear music blaring til 3am which you can hear from any of the rooms... but in fairness, they clearly state that in the website. If you can't beat them, join them, so we did, and we had a fun night. Breakfast was dire, the waitress was pretty rude, and the food itself was even worse. But it was as cheap as a bag of chips, so no real complaints about that! All in all, if you get a good deal, go for it, but don't expect too much. With £25pp for dinner, bed and breakfast, i'd say it was good value for money. Anymore than that... probably not. If you're a tourist, i'd recommend staying somewhere else. This is better for locals who just need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: No rooms are quiet at the weekend... so join the party, or expect to be kept up by blaring music til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your comments we are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the chef note, we have a staff room upstairs so that is why you have probably seen the chef there. We are sorry that you received slow service but during that time of year we are very busy. Again thank you for your comments they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

1st impression thank god this was a voucher. On entry smelly damp odour, no one @ reception had 2 go looking 4 someone, eventually someone came to reception never welcomed me or looked in my direction throughout check in. We went to room to arrive on 1st floor where there was the most disgusting smell, that bad it made me boke every time I had to pass through. Rooms were dirty I had to wipe bed table, tea/coffee facilities dirty, bed table chipped all around, carpet had cigarette burns over it & didnt look as if edges had been hoovered all round room for weeks. sticky floor in bathroom. Bed clothes clean but beds were old & springs felt all over it. No bulbs in bedside lights. 1 ironing board & 1 iron for whole hotel & iron didnt heat up properly...have been in cleaner homeless units as part of my career...disgusting!!!

Got 1 positive from it always check trip advisor before you purchase a hotel voucher...lesson learned.

Sharron Bain

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazzybeebain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balloch hotels

glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Please do not stay in the hotel even if you get a voucher deal like we did.

On arrival was given keys had to go up a staircase which was filthy, smell of the stale grease was horrible. When we go into the room the only good thing I can say is the bed was clean, tiny watered down handwash in the bathroom ,mirror dirty and toilet lid broken. bedside cabinet had 3 drawers with only one handle the rest were missing but you can use the large sharp screw to open it up. We knew from reviews that their were a nightclub and was noisy, are there were right no only noisy but vibrated all the room althought this is part of the hotel, you still had to pay to get in.
When going down for breakfast at 10.05 we were greeted by unhelpful waitress to be told that we are too late for breakfast as this stops at 10.00 ( i find this strange because you can buy a large breakfast for over £5.00 up to 11.00) so why could they not accomondate clients that stay in their hotel just 5 mins late.
Will also be writing to the hotel as well regarding this but would never stay in this hotel and have informed all my friends of this .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleenstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay, with regards to the smell on the stairs this is not the norm and can't understand why that was. With regards to your comment about paying into the nightclub, guests that are paying full price for their rooms do get free entry, for customers that are on a deal they are given two for one passes. With regards to breakfast we feel that there may have been a mix up as breakfast is served until 10.30am.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Booked this hotel through a voucher deal and paid £59. Thank god i never paid full price of £120 or I would have insisted on my money back.
On arrival there was a hip hop rap festival going on right above the room we where booked into.
Nobody mentioned this when we booked? Receptionist kindly moved us to another room, but the noise was horrendous from when we booked in at 3pm till well after 12.
Room was very basic and shabby. No remote for television. No hairdryer. Had to ask twice before we got a hairdryer. No shower gel, shampoo or soap. No sugar for tea and we asked repeatedly for this and never got it!
Went for dinner and had to wait for a table. I did ask if we had to book a table for dinner and I was told no? Waited 10 mins for table.
The service was terrible at dinner. We waited 25 mins for a starter. And then we waited another 40 mins for the main course! Which was chicken in a peppercorn sauce. The chicken was overcooked and unedible. My partner ordered potatoes and got chips. Food and service was terrible.
Breakfast wasn't much better. Scrambled eggs were overcooked and again unedible. Staff pretty much ignored us at breakfast and never asked if we needed anything or ask if everything was ok.
Would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Dont stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzisiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had fab time room clean and spacious, was a little concerned after reading other reviews. Food was great and staff very attentive. Was quite noisy when disco was on but if you go along you will enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebradysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments we hope that you will visit Lomond Park again in the future.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

After getting a Groupon deal we stayed there for two nights in November. Yes the rooms were a bit tired but it was clean enough and the staff were lovely. The food was fine. The only thing we would say would be it advertised a full breakfast. It wasn't a full breakfast wasn't much at all but the quality was good!
They advised us when we phoned to book that there was a night club that would be on Friday and Sat night till quite late and can be noisy therefore we decided to go a Sunday Monday night instead.
I think what people have to remember is how much they paid for the rooms. Very little I suspect. In paying so little ( £89 for two nights) we didn't expect luxury.
This hotel is basic but clean and friendly exactly what we expected. We will use this hotel when we are on a budget. If people are wanting a little bargain in a good location to Loch Lomond and some great walks we would recommend this place any day!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank You for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the future. With regards to your comments about the breakfast, here at Lomond Park we serve local produce cooked to order which consists of bacon, sausage fried egg, beans and tomato or scrambled eggs, haggis, potato scone, beans and tomato. Also with a choice of tea, coffee, fruit juices and cereals. Once again thank you.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balloch hotels
0.2 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#15 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#16 of 24 in Balloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#7 of 24 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Park Hotel

Property: Lomond Park Hotel
Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lomond Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lomond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing