We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just A Joke” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomond Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lomond Park Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just A Joke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were really looking forward to a gorgeous dinner and lovely stay in Balloch but the hotel was a joke!

There are NO SIGNS to reception and then you are asked to leave your room key within public reach when you are out of the hotel!

We were not told about breakfast times or check out times and we were sent up to find our room ourselves.

Once in our room - it was very tidy but extremely dated and tired looking.

We went down for dinner to find the starters were lovely and the service was good but I then received the Chicken Enchiladas for my main and found that every piece of chicken in it had viens and black bits! They were very apologetic and compensated accordingly.

We then went back up to our room for a few hours and then went down to the night club/pub for a drink only to find them both full of scantily clad, drunken teenagers that we're in an awful mess!

Also, our room was DIRECTLY above all of the club and our bed was pulsing all night until 3 and we couldn't sleep at all!!

A full Scottish breakfast was advertised and we receieved a pittyful attempt. One other thing that concerns me is that I did not feel safe at all parking my car in the car park and I know for a fact it had been scratched!

Never come here agin - shouldn't be a hotel!!! Awful!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NSMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Being one of the busiest restaurants in Balloch we have worked very hard on our reputation to deliver quality and service. With regards to your comment about our breakfast, all our ingredients are bought locally and cooked to order and is indeed a Scottish breakfast. The deal that you purchased to stay with us clearly advertises that we have a night venue and is noisy. The car parks are all covered by CCTV and if we had known that you had a concern about your car we would have investigated this. The room keys are looked in reception when there isn't a member of staff there. Once again we can only apologize that you had a disappointing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    30
    11
    36
See reviews for
7
73
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in april as part of voucher! Had a great time staff where very welcoming when we arrived, room was spotless. Food was really nice only thing was having to wait 15 mins for a table when it was empty, being 21 the pub and night club were really good and the noise never bothered me! Breakfast was really good and again staff were friendly, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the kind comments that you have left. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

So...the hotel isn't very nice...at all...rooms are very basic and in desperate need of redecorating and updating...

BUT...

We went to this hotel for a party night...AND WE HAD A FAB TIME!!

The food is alright, just basic pub grub so you know what your getting.

The hotel had a bar at the front which had a great live band on the night we were here. The restaurant turns into a disco at night and there is a separate nightclub...a whole pub crawl under one roof!


Don't go here for a lovely relaxing stay...that's what it's all about...go to party and have fun!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane46a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Glad to hear that use had a great party and hope to see use all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Visited the area with a dog to find that the only place welcoming of dogs was this dire establishment. The welcome from the bar person was, to say the least, unwelcoming. After looking at the crappy menu, we ordered what we thought was the safest option at the bar and took our seats away from the drunken rabble at the bar. When the bar person brought us our cutlery a local shouted out 'why are they getting table service?'. The food we ordered took ages to arrive and when it did it looked as though it had been microwaved. Whilst eating our food Jeremy Kyle was put on the plethora of T.Vs, at a volume that could deafen you. Our glasses for our canned drinks were mingin, so we drunk out of the can. We ate our food quickly to get out of this place and the bar person, watching us leave, didn't utter a word. Overall, the place was dirty with unfriendly staff and rude and drunken locals. What a shame for Balloch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaimie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balloch hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were a party of 4 in two twin rooms... we were using a voucher so paid half price with dinner and breakfast included. I cant say it's the best place i've ever stayed in, but it is decent enough. If you have a look around the website, you see exactly what you are getting. It was pretty much what we expected: walk into a bar, friendly locals pointed the way to the reception, not the friendliest of welcomes, but fine, room was clean and a good size, we shared a bathroom with others on the floor (which I didn't bother using - better to shower at home), had dinner which was okay, but veeery slow service and weak cocktails. Note: I think I saw a cook using the bathrooms on our floor which I didn't like very much! Location wise, it's pretty good - just a minutes walk from Balloch train station. We attended a wedding close by and finished around midnight. You'll hear music blaring til 3am which you can hear from any of the rooms... but in fairness, they clearly state that in the website. If you can't beat them, join them, so we did, and we had a fun night. Breakfast was dire, the waitress was pretty rude, and the food itself was even worse. But it was as cheap as a bag of chips, so no real complaints about that! All in all, if you get a good deal, go for it, but don't expect too much. With £25pp for dinner, bed and breakfast, i'd say it was good value for money. Anymore than that... probably not. If you're a tourist, i'd recommend staying somewhere else. This is better for locals who just need a place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: No rooms are quiet at the weekend... so join the party, or expect to be kept up by blaring music til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your comments we are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the chef note, we have a staff room upstairs so that is why you have probably seen the chef there. We are sorry that you received slow service but during that time of year we are very busy. Again thank you for your comments they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

1st impression thank god this was a voucher. On entry smelly damp odour, no one @ reception had 2 go looking 4 someone, eventually someone came to reception never welcomed me or looked in my direction throughout check in. We went to room to arrive on 1st floor where there was the most disgusting smell, that bad it made me boke every time I had to pass through. Rooms were dirty I had to wipe bed table, tea/coffee facilities dirty, bed table chipped all around, carpet had cigarette burns over it & didnt look as if edges had been hoovered all round room for weeks. sticky floor in bathroom. Bed clothes clean but beds were old & springs felt all over it. No bulbs in bedside lights. 1 ironing board & 1 iron for whole hotel & iron didnt heat up properly...have been in cleaner homeless units as part of my career...disgusting!!!

Got 1 positive from it always check trip advisor before you purchase a hotel voucher...lesson learned.

Sharron Bain

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazzybeebain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Please do not stay in the hotel even if you get a voucher deal like we did.

On arrival was given keys had to go up a staircase which was filthy, smell of the stale grease was horrible. When we go into the room the only good thing I can say is the bed was clean, tiny watered down handwash in the bathroom ,mirror dirty and toilet lid broken. bedside cabinet had 3 drawers with only one handle the rest were missing but you can use the large sharp screw to open it up. We knew from reviews that their were a nightclub and was noisy, are there were right no only noisy but vibrated all the room althought this is part of the hotel, you still had to pay to get in.
When going down for breakfast at 10.05 we were greeted by unhelpful waitress to be told that we are too late for breakfast as this stops at 10.00 ( i find this strange because you can buy a large breakfast for over £5.00 up to 11.00) so why could they not accomondate clients that stay in their hotel just 5 mins late.
Will also be writing to the hotel as well regarding this but would never stay in this hotel and have informed all my friends of this .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleenstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomond P, Manager at Lomond Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We are sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay, with regards to the smell on the stairs this is not the norm and can't understand why that was. With regards to your comment about paying into the nightclub, guests that are paying full price for their rooms do get free entry, for customers that are on a deal they are given two for one passes. With regards to breakfast we feel that there may have been a mix up as breakfast is served until 10.30am.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#14 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#16 of 26 in Balloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#6 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Park Hotel

Property: Lomond Park Hotel
Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lomond Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Lomond Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing