We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great location”
Review of Balloch Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balloch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile


The location at the edge of Loch Lomond is definitely a plus. The food at the restaurant was fantastic. Don't miss their savoury pies. We were awestruck by their multitasking staff.... Serving at the restaurant, minding the bar, checking in guests and offering to lend a hand with our bags and extra beds. However, this did result in a delay at check in. The room and bathroom were fair for the tariff. One grudge though. We were there on an unusually hot summer day... The windows didn't open beyond a few inches, no fans and no aircon. We had a very uncomfortable night. I think with changing global temperatures, ventilation and fans (maybe portable) in Europe now a must.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MamsyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    54
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is in a great position, although our room over looked a main road and with no double glazing well you can imagine. The hotel advertises a continental breakfast. Toast, jam, fruit and cold coffee is not really a continental breakfast. Oh yes you can pay an extra £8.95 each for a full breakfast. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for May Bank holiday with my wife for a friends wedding on Loch Lomond. Have no complaints about this hotel. Location is excellent. Next to the Loch and nice woodland area. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Stay in room 10 which was clean and a good size but overlooked bins which was a shame as would have lover a loch view. Had dinner on the first night, it was a sunday so was looking forward to a roast but they had run out at 7:30 when we went. Lamb and steak was nice anyway. Had the continental breakfast which was a great start to the day. Would stay again if I was in the area and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Steed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ate lunch here with half a dozen friends, nice clean pub with friendly staff.

Waited a while for the drinks & food order to be taken. Everyone was happy with the food when it arrived.... We tried the soup (served with very cold chunks of bread), scampi, steak pie, fish pie, chicken burger etc - all good.

Good clean toilets.

Would recommend - as long as you aren't in a hurry !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegeordies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed the night here and were very happy with the room and the service we received.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

We didn't dine here in the evening as we booked elsewhere so can't comment on the restaurant but the cooked breakfast we had was very good.

This hotel has a bit of character about it and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greezmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel has so much potential due to having a fantastic location at the bottom of Loch Lomond. We stayed here last year and although the hotel has had a makeover since then it still needs some TLC! The continental breakfast was poor and not worth the money. The room was basic and the bed was far too soft, needless to say we didn't sleep well. The bathroom was a decent size but the toilet roll holder was loose. The tap in the sink was exactly the same. On Saturday night the bar area was reasonably busy. We stood for a good 10 minutes waiting to be served a drink along with another couple. They eventually walked out to find somewhere else and so did we. All the bar staff seemed to be running drinks to the tables and not bothering with the people standing at the bar.
Considering what we paid we didn't think it was value for money. There were other hotels and b & b's in the same area that were cheaper and offering cooked breakfasts!
We will be trying these first the next time we visit Balloch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Ballock Hotel is an Inkeepers Lodge within the Mitchell and Butlers Group and my previous reviews of this chain ( so I must think their hotels ok having stayed more than once) bemoans the lack of two comfortable chairs in the bedroom. One dining chair is not adequate. Accepting that the management would like you to sit in the pub downstairs I would have thought the company might have provided more than one settee. But the pub is geared up for dining.

Havering sold most of the modern hotel blocks to Travel Lodge means that most Inkeepers Lodges are old and awkward to operate. Ballock Hotel was no exception. The room was clean but furniture of mixed vintage and serviceability. The shower room was not luxurious but adequate for a budget stay.

Meals are served in the pub downstairs under the M&B "Vintage Inns" brand. The company "sweats the assests" and serving meals 12+ hours a day must mean that a chef shift pattern must work - so our experience of this and other Vintage Inns that the quality of the meals can vary widely - sometimes very good - sometimes poor.

The menu pricing structure seems bizarre to me! The current Lunchtime menu is somewhat misleading with one course advertised (admittedly) FROM £5.50 - there is only one item on the menu at this price. Certainly prices are at the high end of current Pub grub.

Whilst our bedroom was clean we did not find the dining area particularly clean and the outside area, car park, access road, landscaping in need of some TLC.

But all in all very acceptable budget accommodation at a BUDGET price.

Room Tip: Only saw one so cannot comment- sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
182 reviews
15.2 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balloch Hotel

Property: Balloch Hotel
Address: Balloch Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balloch
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing